We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at train station, wonderful area, big comfortable bed, great shower, big HDTV, free Internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narita U-city Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Narita U-city Hotel to your Saves list
Narita U-city Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-2 Igodai, Narita 286-0035, Chiba Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Right at train station, wonderful area, big comfortable bed, great shower, big HDTV, free Internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Although there was one less expensive hotel in Narita which I found, the free Internet makes this the cheapest if you use the Internet. Less frequent bus from the airport than other hotels and a long ride but comfortable bus and I could enjoy the sights along the way. At rush hour it took an hour. Might be more convenient to take the train to the hotel depending upon the timing. Everything about the room was perfect except small as expected and the carpet was stained but seemed clean. Love the charming area on the other side of the station and many restaurants and convenience stores. May be the dirtiest & smallest elevator I've ever seen but who cares with all the pluses. I WILL be back!. Cons - Desk didn't have a 3 prong adapter for my laptop & neither did any of the many stores around, carpet stained.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    103
    54
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
39
63
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Only two minutes' walk from Narita JR station this hotel is very convenient. It is a fairly typical business hotel, friendly and clean and is on the quiet side of the railway. The other side of the station is also quiet but is more busy as it is the town side.
Narita is a lovely, traditional town with lots to see and plenty of restaurants and is a nice place to stay for 2 or 3 days. Great temple with stunning gardens only 10 mins walk from the station. Highly recommended. From London, I have been to Narita over 350 times and never get bored with it.

Room Tip: Several mini supermarkets, food shops, cake-shops, barber and chemist shop all right across the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

good for a short layover in narita or if you have an early flight and need a place to stay close to the airport...it's less than 5 min walk from narita station (not narita airport station)...hotel offers free shuttle bus to the airport 5 times a day...but trains depart twice an hour for only about 200 yen...the building is a bit old and room wasn't that clean...carpet needed to be changed...other than that it's an adequate place to stay a night...it's pretty far from tokyo proper, so for extended stay in tokyo, look for a place closer to the city...it's pretty close to disneyland though, so a good base for disney trip...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were disappointed by the stains on the carpets, the noisy hallways, and the bad tasting water. The price was excellent, but we could have hoped for better sound- proofing. Although we were on a smoking floor not by our choosing, the room smelled ok and only the hallway was smoky. The shuttlebus to the airport was complimentary and very effiicient but only goes about 6 times in a day, so you can't miss the one for your flight. The hotel is very close to the JR station but quite a long hike from the Keisei line station--with luggage this was what we didn't need. There are some decent and inexpensive restaurants within a short walk but no real shopping without a 20 min or train ride.

Room Tip: ask for nonsmoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Good quality hotel, fair price. Free shuttle to the airport, although not at all times, so check the schedule. We had a good rest before heading back to Europe, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at the U-City Narita hotel overnight during a transit at Narita airport. The hotel is a 30-45 minute bus from Narita Airport (bus stop 16, Terminal 1). The shuttle is just for the Narita U-City hotel. The Hotel is located very close to Narita station, so you could get there faster by taking the local train from Narita airport. Rooms are small and spartan but clean, and with free Internet, and coffee/tea facility. Bathroom had small shower. We got a room for three, with three twin beds. Took the bus back to the airport the next morning (bus left at 7am promptly, there are several other times during the AM). We did not eat in the hotel restaurant. The 3 bed room was great for an adult and two children. One more adult and we would have needed another room. All in all, it was fine for what we paid. Downside was distance to the airport -- most of the other hotels are closer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Cheap rooms coupled with a complimentary shuttle bus to the airport made this the ideal hotel to stay in before our early flight. Clean rooms, bathrooms and sheets, some stains on the carpets but you get what you pay for and complimentary slippers (which you're encouraged to take away with you!) were provided. A very nice touch was the yukata provided instead of a bathrobe, lots of fun.

Good sized rooms for the price, helpful staff and comfortable beds with two pillows provided - one normal, one memory foam! I've never used a memory foam pillow before, so that was an experience! Free TV (additional pay TV optional), free internet - unfortunately, this wasn't wireless and only one cable was provided for our twin room so only one of us could use the internet at once, but not a big issue.

Location - you can see it from the station, simple to get to, easy access to shops and restaurants around the station. A choice of stairs or a lift to reception and internal lifts as well, which was great. On-site restaurant, buffet breakfast available but expensive at over 1,000yen - but tasty, hot and clean with a great variety of food and we felt it was worth it.

Overall, a thoroughly decent hotel in a prime location near the airport, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narita U-city Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narita U-city Hotel

Address: 1-1-2 Igodai, Narita 286-0035, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Narita U-city Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Narita U-city Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narita u City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narita U-city Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.