We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, nice room, no wifi?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Otani Makuhari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Otani Makuhari Hotel to your Saves list
New Otani Makuhari Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-120-3 Hibino Mihama-ku, Chiba 261-0021, Chiba Prefecture (Kaihin Makuhari Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient location, nice room, no wifi?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for a convention at Makuhari Messe, and it was extremely convenient, just a short walk across a bridge which is connected directly to the hotel. Hotel and rooms are a bit dated, but well kept. Our room was quite clean and well arranged, with a nice view of the convention center and ocean. Rooms do not have wifi, which is pretty unbelievable considering a large number of guests are staying for conventions at Makuhari Messe. My only complaint is that there was only one option for breakfast and it was outrageously priced. For the food being served, it was not worth the price at all. Fortunately, there is a nearby convenience store and plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms have a nice view and don't smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    128
    52
    12
    4
See reviews for
59
28
25
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We met friends at the New Otani and spent 2 hours in the top floor bar (one cocktail $17) and another 2 hours in the Italian themed restaurant. I can't remember when I've encountered less attentive service. Dessert took an hour to be served - and it had been ordered at the outset as part of a fixed price menu. Unreedemingly bad experience.

Big rip in the fabric of the bench seat...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here two nights for a convention.

Verdict: This is a large hotel that was obviously once excellent but is now in need of a revamp.

Service from check-in till check-out was excellent and the hotel has been maintained fairly well considering its age.

Its reputation as a business hotel has, however, suffered due to several factors. Point to note: switches on the walls state 'National' and this brand has ceased to exist since 2003.

1) Although rooms are large, the desk is fairly small, almost child-sized, and not quite conducive for work.

2) The entire room seriously needs more wall power sockets. After plugging your laptop into the one spare they have near the desk, there's none left for a phone charger or to plug a portable router into. Which brings me to the next point.

3) NO WiFi. This is seriously unacceptable for a business hotel these days. To use WiFi in the lobby, you'll have to purchase a WiFi card. Considering how WiFi is readily available for free in so many cheaper hotels in Tokyo, this really is a letdown.

4) Wired LAN in-room is chargeable.

5) Mattresses need to be replaced. They are quite honestly at least 10 years old, probably older. Everyone in our party said the mattresses weren't in the best shape and I could feel the bed springs beneath me.

Some pros:

1) Breakfast was good. Sufficient variety with attention paid to detail - the chef wrote 'Morning' on my omelette in tomato ketchup. Nice touch!

2) Restaurants in the hotel are probably the best in the area. I had excellent Teppanyaki and dessert.

3) This hotel's proximity to the Makuhari Messe cannot be ignored. If you're all about location, you can't go wrong with this place.

Unless the management is willing to invest in modernizing this hotel, I really can't recommend it despite its location. Certainly not good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I’ve stayed for 1 week in March and 2 weeks in April 2013 at the New Otani Makuhari. I was there on business close by, which I combined with DH and baby visiting me for the 2nd week only.

The accessibility from the airport is superb. About 35 minutes by taxi (yen13500-14000) or 40 minutes by bus that leaves you right outside the hotel door-recommended! (yen1100). You can very easily get a bus ticket when you exit from the arrivals at the airport and say that you are going to the New Otani Makuhari. They give you the ticket, you pay, and they show you the platform –easy!

The superior rooms have amazing views of Tokyo bay and if you are lucky and you get a clear day you can see Mt Fuji too. They are quite spacious with comfortable beds. The bathrooms have a shower room with nice bathtubs that fill in about 2 minutes. The rooms are clean; however do ask for a non-smoking room as they are always cleaner. The layout, furnishing etc. is equivalent to number of 5 star hotels I’ve stayed in other cities in the world.
The hotel is about 1 hour far from Tokyo centre (by metro) so it was hard to go after work. To be more specific the distance is: about 5 minutes’ walk to the station, buy a ticket and wait for the train (10minutes), travel (about 35 minutes) and come out of the Tokyo station (10 minutes). By taxi it takes about 35 minutes to reach Tokyo (and approximately 15000 yen).
It is a Disney friendly hotel and that means that there are 3 shuttle buses in the morning (for free) to Disneyland and Disney Sea and 3 shuttle buses to go back in the evening (takes about 20 minutes). You have to pre-book your seats. Don’t worry if you miss them you can always take the metro.

You can get good meals in many restaurants in the area, our favourite international was Outback about 10 minute walk from the hotel and our favourite Japanese was on the 3rd floor at the building next to the “British pub” – directions to this restaurant: pass the train station, after the “7eleven” shop turn left, you will see the “British pub” on your left. Two doors left from outside the pub go inside, there is an elevator, take it and go to the third floor and the restaurant is the first on your right hand side. This Japanese is really excellent and it is worth to follow the instructions to get there –unfortunately I don’t know the name (maybe funagata?). There is the option to take your shoes off too.

Back to the hotel review, the first time in March it was ok; I had no major complaint apart from the fact that for a hotel attracting mainly exhibitors and business people, I don’t understand how they can get away without wi-fi in the rooms. It was really annoying having to plug the laptop in order to have internet. Be prepared that if you need to contact them for room service or any other reason, you need to repeat it several times until -the otherwise very polite- personnel understand. Laundry service is terrible, they had no dry cleaning and at the normal laundry service they burned and damaged 3 of my clothing items.

The second time I arrived for business again, but this time I had my baby with me. Tired after the long flight we went to eat at the Italian restaurant downstairs (that happens to be the breakfast area also). They made sure that we are as uncomfortable as possible with the fact that we had a child with us and they said to us :”Baby here… shhhh!” that is before we even sat down- luckily my baby is quiet so it was not that bad. I also have to admit that the food is quite good, but bottom line it is not a child friendly restaurant. Apart from this event, the same restaurant (Mare di Otani) was much friendlier at breakfast.

The quality of the superior rooms, the view, transport accessibility and the politeness of the staff bring my overall rating to a comfortable 4.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very good, especially on high floors (above 19th ) Room sequence 13-14-15 on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a nite in May 2013. A big hotel but unfortunately a bit out dated and gloomy.
The rooms are clean and tidy. In addition the rates are reasonable. The hotel is one of the stops for the airport bus so it is convenient access to the airport. Many shops nearby plus the Mitsui Factory Outlet is just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One night stay and choose this hotel based on great experience at other new.otani hotels. (Needed.to.be at QVC early am so it made sense)

Room was clean but dated.
No.Wi-Fi

Ordered room service at 9.45pm (menu.options.admittedly limited)

Food.never showed up. Called back at 11pm and was told they had forgotten.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my 5th stay for a trade show each year. Nothing has really changed over that period and it was pretty tired the first time I stayed.
Beds need replacing - mattresses are finished. State of decor in rooms is very poor - they need a refit.the Hotel is used for coach trip tourists, people doing a weekend in Disney and those of us attending a trade show.
Service is so so, prices very high - especially the food in the hotel - you are better to go over to the nearby shopping centre where there is a better selection at half the price.
It is summed up by the way you are charged not just for internet connectivity - but for each device as well - despite the high room prices.
But it's close - so they know you have little choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Otani Makuhari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Otani Makuhari Hotel

Address: 2-120-3 Hibino Mihama-ku, Chiba 261-0021, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Chiba > Kaihin Makuhari Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiba
#5 Business Hotel in Chiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Otani Makuhari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Despegar.com so you can book your New Otani Makuhari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Makuhari Chiba
Hotel New Otani Makuhari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Otani Makuhari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.