We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hakodate Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hakodate Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hakodate Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22-15 Horaicho, Hakodate 040-0043, Hokkaido (Formerly Chisun Grand Hakodate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 stars 46 Reviews
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I was in hakodate for one night.
The grand hotel provides a great night sleep near the tourist attractions.
With surprising extras, free ipod speakers, free coffee, free bicycle rental.

Near supermarket and near rstaurants.

I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
8
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This is a great no frills, clean hotel when visiting Hakodate. Rooms are clean and comfortable. It comes also with free wifi in the rooms, free coffee and shaved ice In the lobby. It's a short 10 min walk to Hakodate Bay for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Booked hotel based on TA recommendations and was not disappointed at all. We are 2 adults and 2 children and shared a room with 2 beds, 120cm beds to be precise. It was perfect for our needs. Bathroom and toilet in room with all products required. Coin operated laundry, free coffee, children's play area and free slushies for kids! Great location, easy walking everywhere and felt very safe walking from warehouse district at night. Enough space in room for all our paraphenalia. Car parking if required on site for Y1000/night. Shuttle right from door to airport @ Y420/adult or visa versa. Very family friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Good location, just one street up to Mount Hakodate ropeway with a 10 minutes walk.
Hotel is clean, with helpful service staff and dedicated staff to help with valet parking for those who drive. At the front desk there are additional female shampoo, bath soap, and a list of loan items available for hotel guests (curling iron, hair dryer, adapters and i recall seeing mobile phone on the list as well!). In-room amenities are provided too, with the usual toothbrush, shower cap, brush, etc and also DHC branded shower toiletries.
Room is functional and clean, with newly renovated bed header and bedside shelves. The free wifi is very very fast!
There's a Lawson convenience store (24 hours) just opposite the hotel so night time snacks / drinks are made possible.
Definitely good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is slightly further from the Hakodate JR station, but closer to attractions such as the ropeway, the churches and the red brick warehouse, all of which are within walkable distance from the hotel. In any case, the airport shuttle (420 yen per person) stops right at the hotel entrance so it's not a hassle to travel to this hotel from the airport.

For the price, I thought it was a good stay. Room was clean and not that tiny, had enough space to move around. All toiletries were provided, including combs, hairdryer, toothbrushes, face wash, shampoo, conditioner, soap and cotton pads. Yukatas were also provided.

The front desk is helpful, even if their command of English isn't the best. They don't have good English maps available though, so it's better to get one from the tourist information center at the JR station.

I liked that the hotel provided a lot of other free stuff, such as coffee or tea, and flavored shaved ice, and you could even get special shampoo for ladies or hair curlers from the front desk.

Would definitely stay here again if I visit Hakodate, I think it's a lot more value-for-money compared to Loisir Hotel at the JR station which I stayed at on my previous trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stay there end of July. I was landed at night, and the airport bus stop right in the front of hotel (took around 30 mins). From the hotel, u can walk to Mount Hakodate Ropeway station, around 10-15mins walk, also can walk to RED Brick Warehouse (all can be done in Summer), even to the fish market is around 20-30 mins. Nice walk during Summer coz nice weather and not hot. Hotel provide a hot coffee in the lobby, and for the children, they have provided the ice making machine for fun. I didn't try their breakfast, but opposit is the Lawson store. Everything is very convenience. Hotel staff very nice, and room is clean. No complain, highly recommend if you're landed at night, and want to go to Mount Hakodate at the same night.

Room Tip: face to seaview, and high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked two rooms. one is triple room and another is single room for myself. It was very easy to access from the airport. Just get on the bus at bus stop No.3 at the airport, this hotel is the last bus stop. You won't miss it. The room is small size like japanese standard but you can't fault them. I have booked through Rakuten website which is very cheap. However, price on Saturday is on the high side so I & my friends had to move to Toyoko instead. The location is ok but quite a bit of walk to access tram. Overall, it's cheap & clean. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hakodate Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakodate Grand Hotel

Address: 22-15 Horaicho, Hakodate 040-0043, Hokkaido (Formerly Chisun Grand Hakodate)
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakodate Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hakodate Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Hotel Hakodate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakodate Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.