We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel which serve very good food!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanabishi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanabishi Hotel to your Saves list
Hanabishi Hotel
1-16-18 Yunokawacho, Hakodate 042-0932, Hokkaido (Yunokawa Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
4.0 of 5 stars 80 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A hotel which serve very good food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed two night in a tatami room over there. The room was quite small and with no good ventilation. The windows in the room were also locked so we found very hard to fall in sleep. The hot springs over there are quite small if compare with other hotel. But this hotel serve very good Japanese food. Both breakfast and dinner are very taste.

As we were arranged by the travel agency to stay there, so we can't choose the room. Suggested to book a better room, so together with the good food provided, than should be able to enjoy more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, 広報担当マネージャー at Hanabishi Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Sir.
Thank you for staying with us.We are very sorry that you felt the room very small and the ventilation of the room was not good, so that you didn't sleep well.Nevertheless, we are grateful to hear that you were satisfied with our food.As you say, we have several types of room.Please choose the room referring to our website next time.
We are looking forward to your coming back.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
19
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

As part of our seven-day trip in Hokkaido, we had an overnight stay at Hakodate. Check-in was smooth and we went up to our hotel quickly. The entire complex is divided into several sections though, so be wary of high lift you're taking we they may not go up to your desired floor.

We had two rooms - one for my mother and sisters and one for my father and I. They were supposed to set up the mattresses in our rooms before we entered it, but this was not apparent in mine. The pillows and bed sheets were also not in the cupboards. We had to call the front desk to help with this. Service was very good in the sense that the suited man, although tired, tried is best to set up the room for us.

There are two onsens - one on the first floor and the other on the seventh. We were told we could only use the first floor onsen. The interior was somewhat run-down, but it was a public bathroom so there's not much to expect. There's an indoor bath and an outdoor bath, the latter containing a large cold pool for contrast. It was relaxing but somewhat stuffy, so we only took a few minutes in the baths before we headed for the night. This in turn improved sleep quality drastically.

Breakfast was delicious, although I only have a vague memory of how it tasted as almost all the hotels we stayed at had identical menus. Wi-Fi was available in the lobby for free and the staff spoke, albeit limited, English to get us along.

It does seem to have some flaws, and may not be the best hotel out there on terms of quality, but all in all, it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanako0131, 広報担当マネージャー at Hanabishi Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Mr.Alexsandaer G
Thank you for staying with us.We are very happy to hear you had a sound sleep.On the other hand, we are very sorry to hear that your rooms are not prepared enough, you had the trouble to reach your room and you couldn't use the public bath on the seventh floor.As you say, our hotel has many flaws now.We hope to improve them one by one by referring to the important opinions like yours. Next time you come, our hotel will improve to be the hotel you are satisfied with.So please come back by all means.We are looking forward to welcoming you again.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanabishi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanabishi Hotel

Address: 1-16-18 Yunokawacho, Hakodate 042-0932, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate > Yunokawa Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Hakodate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in a good location which is within ten minutes' drive from Hakodate Airport.You can enjoy seeing the waterfall and seasonal trees and flowers in the courtyard.There are some rooms with private open-air hot spring.We serve the dishes composed by fresh seafood and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your Hanabishi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanabishi Hotel Hakodate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanabishi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.