We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga to your Saves list
Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga
3.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   4-6-10 Akancho, Akanko Onsen, Kushiro 085-0467 , Hokkaido (Akanko Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Kushiro
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I wanted to treat my parents to something special and the hotel certainly lived up to that. From the moment you arrive the service you receive is amazing; attentive and friendly. There are two main areas of onsen baths; one on the lower ground floor which overlook the lake directly and one on the top floor. I prefered the lower floor one. These change daily so that men and women can experience both by visiting in the evening and then again in the morning. My visit was June 21st and although there were a lot of people in the hotel, it never felt over crowded. A tip is to eat later and visit the onsens when the Japanese guests (who tend to eat early) are getting ready for dinner. By the time we got out of the baths, we were pretty well the only ones in there!

We had an Ainu style room which was well equipped including a coffee maker. In the corridor nearby, there was also a footspa.

The dinner was very nice; kaiseki ryori in the restaurant with course after course of beautiful food including crab, fish, sushi, sashimi and choice of meat.

I was expecting the breakfast buffet to be very busy, but was pleasantly surprised. There were Japanese and Western breakfast sections with plenty of choice.
All in all a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    116
    36
    9
    7
See reviews for
168
66
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The stay in Akan Yukunosato Tsuruga is a relaxing one and it is the most wonderful part of my Hokkaido trip in June 2012.

Location: The hotel is located near Lake Akan and it seems far away from everything else. We reach there by car and free parking was available (valet parking - the staff will drive your car to elsewhere to park). On the day of check-out, there was a mini-van to pick us up and dropped us off where our car was parked. Outside of the hotel, there is the onsen street which has many shops and restaurants. There is a Lawson convenience store directly opposite the hotel, making it convenient to stock up on snacks (if needed). The hotel is also besides the place where you can take a cruise ship round Lake Akan.

Service: Wonderful. The staff at the check-in counter can speak good English. There was a lady who helped us to bring our luggage up to our room. She could speak a little bit of English. With our limited Japanese and hand gestures, we managed to understand each other well. The rest of the staff was very polite and would greet us when we walked past them.

Room: We booked a room at the East wing which just opened not long ago. It has a very grand and impressive lobby! Our room was a Japanese style room which had a good lake view. The spacious tatami area was transformed into a sleeping area with futon at night. There was also a little corner with sofa for you to admire the lake view. Snacks (buns and some nuts) were provided together with a coffee machine!

Meals: Our package came with buffet dinner and breakfast at Tenga restaurant at the West wing. There is a good variety of food (Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Italian). Though there was a lot of people staying at the hotel, the restaurant did not feel overcrowded. I guess it is probably because they have allocated different meal times to different guests (we can choose our meal times at check-in). There were sashimi, tempura, ice cream etc available at dinner. Breakfast was good as well, with the marimo tofu and marimo jelly. There is also another buffet restaurant available at the East wing, but we didn't have the chance to try it. The restaurant looks very impressive though.

Others: The public onsen at the West wing was impressive. I particularly like the open air stone bath at the ground floor which overlooks the lake. However, I did not like the open air bath on the 8th floor as there wasn't a good view and I found many dead insects floating around in the bath. The changing room was big and provided Akan water for drinking purposes. There was also onsen at the new East wing, but I didn't have the time to visit it. Free potatoes were available in the lobby but you need to go for it before evening as they tend to run out early. There were shops available in the lobby as well if you wish to purchase any souvenirs.

This is one of the best accomodations that I have stayed in in Japan thus far, and I would certainly make a trip back to this hotel in December later this year for a two night stay (perhaps trying out the Rera rooms).

Room Tip: You may wish to try the rooms at the East wing as they are newer. There are more value-for-money pac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

we booked the room with the private onsen in the room. It faced the beautiful lake and shore. The room came with a sitting area which was converted into sleeping area at night, dining area, a bathroom, a toilet ,a study area and a balcony with onsen. While you enjoy the onsen, it is difficult to have more than a 1.2 inch view of the lake through the plastic board of the balcony. A pity. The hostess who showed us our room gave us a tea ceremony which we appreciated, showed us how to lock the big door at night but we couldnt understand a word of her Japanese when she wanted us to choose the dinner menu ( we had an upgraded dinner in the room, of course) but this was immediately rectified when we insisted going to the front desk to clarify with some English help and the head hostess switched us to an English-speaking hostess. Dinner was good in taste, and presentation. The water at the onsen was warm and can be adjusted with the tap. But I wasn't impressed with the room's decor. it was not luxurious. The colours, the fittings are ordinary. In fact the plastic rug at the onsen was flaky. The hotel is very busy, filled with people and the breakfast area like a fish market. it just doesnt have the aura of exclusivity, so an upgraded room with the private onsen (for the mere reason of having your own onsen at the room) at that high price , I personally feel is unnecessary. Just stick with the standard room. I heard there is a better tsuruga near this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms facing Lake Akan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is my second stay at this property but I have still enjoyed it as much as I did for the first time. Genuinely caring staff, great service. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with good sized TV (as per photo). Snacks are provided on arrival, and after dinner. Dinner and breakfast included are of great quality and value.

The onsen (hot spring bath) are special and nothing beats sitting in the hot spring bath when it is snowing, you just can't beat that feeling!

Be prepared that the beds in Japanese rooms come with futons where you will be sleeping on the floor. If you are not into this kind of bedding arrangements then you may need to get a western room.

Overall while it is a bit more remote (but next to the perfect lake) you won't regret coming to this place if you are looking to relax and enjoy life!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had the private room overlooking lake with private bath tub in the balcony. A bit pricey about USD350/pax/night. Minimum 2 pax to the private room. Inclusive of set dinner or buffet dinner and buffet breakfast. You sleep on the floor tatami style. If you don't mind going to the public bath and on a budget, go ahead with the normal room. Still very nice room with mattress beds. Price is half of the private tub room.
Buffet range is awesome. International & Japanese wide selection. They even have morimo jelly!!! So cute!! The morimo can be found at Lake Akan. You can walk to the pier about 200m from the resort and buy a ferry ticket to view the live morimo in the sea (underground aquarium). The manager at front desk speaks perfect English and very helpful in guiding you around with a map on what you can do there.
Upon check in, they will guide you to your room, tell you where all the things are placed in the room (very very huge room). Then they make you green tea and bring you welcome snacks (mochi, nuts, biscuits). At the lobby at certain hours, there are performances and free snacks like steamed potatoes. Also free hot spring natural water dispenser available at lobby. There is a big screen with sofas at waiting area showing morimo and intro of Lake Akan.
The resort is huge! They have 2 public (you have to pay to access) hot springs, one at the roof and one at the basement. They are swapped every 12 hours for female and male access swap. I went to the roof top on the day I checked in and to the basement on the next morning. Then enjoy my private bath tub in the room. You have to be totally naked in the public hot springs. There are more than 10 types of pools altogether. Some indoor, some outdoor. Some with water falling on your back. Some with jacuzzi feel on your back. The outdoor natural pool at basement is not to be missed. They are of different temperatures. The washing area are equipped with shower gel, shampoo etc.
There is a tribal village (a small one) right opposite of the road of the resort. Good for photo taking and a bit of last minute souvenir shopping. try getting some morimos and breed them at home. My friend's morimo had grown. Mine was eaten by fish - stupid of me to put into the aquarium, thinking can save time in changing water. You only need to change water weekly to breed it. Try it, Not expensive only about USD7-20 depending how big you want to start it off with.
Overall, enjoyed my stay too much there. Love the onsen....

Room Tip: If you can splurge, go for the lake view room with private tub. If don't mind being in the publi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed at Tsuruga hotel a total of 3 times, 1 in summer and 2 in winter. Either time I found tsuruga a fantastic hotel to stay. A typical self-sufficient onsen hotel.

They different styles of room to choose from, I stayed in a relatively big room, with a sitting area near the entrance, and a semi-open air onsen in the room. However, the onsen in the basement is a must try. I would say it is one of the most beautiful onsens I have visited. It is an onsen with many different kind of pools. the outdoor pool overlooking lake akan is gorgous either in summer or winter. There are a few souvenir shops on the ground floor. A complimentary drinks bar and a free taste of local steamed potatos are available in the lobby in the afternoon.

There are whole lots of shops just across the street, I would say it is one of the biggest onsen street in Japan. An Ainu tribe cultural centre just located 3 minutes away. A special kind of small fish that the fishermen nearby provided is absolutely fantastic. It is a must to try the fish.

To tell the truth the food quality of the hotel will not impress you too much, so it is better to try the restaurants on the onsen street, one will always find surprises, the good one. I can suggest restaurant "Mocka", a small restaurant 8-10 minutes away from the hotel on the onsen street, which provide different kinds of dishes. Try the curry rice and toast.

In the summer time one can stroll around lake Akan, or take the cruise on the lake. If time permitted it si also suggested to visit the other lakes nearby which provided very scenic views.

In the winter one can enjoy the ice festival held on the frozen lake, snow mobile, ice fishing, Aino show, fireworks, if one can resist the cold wind, it is quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed here in Oct with my mum - the weather was pretty wet & cold on the day we arrived in Akan Osen so we sat in the lobby for a couple of hours until check-in time. Nice to have tea and some sweets available and there are a few shops in the hotel to browse. The main shopping area is just across the road as well. There is also free internet access in the bar/coffee shop at the rear of the hotel.

We had spluged out on the room for two with private onsen overlooking the lake. We had requested a high floor above the tree line in advance and this was provided. We also had an room attendant who spoke English so we were happy that the hotel had made the effort to note our requirements. The room was lovely - long and narrow but enough space for two of us. We loved sitting facing the window looking at the lake. There was coffee machine, fridge and CD player with CDs as well of course as our private outdoor tub. In the room we were served frothy green tea (we love normal green tea but this type is an acquired taste - we had to add extra hot water when the attendant left to dilute the grassy taste), mochi and hot bun with crab filing.

We went straight to the 'public' onsen. Females were alloted the 1st floor onsen PM and the rooftop onsen during the evening. We were the first in the onsen and although the indoor ones are great the outdoor onsen overlooking the lake was fantastic. We have visited a number of onsens and we agreed that this was the best onsen we have been to hands down. It was just wonderful relaxing in the onsen with the direct view of the lake and raindrops patting down on our heads and we had the whole onsen to ourselves for a while. The rooftop onsen is fine but you don't really have a good view of the lake sitting in the onsen as the barrier is high & they are separate tubs / baths rather than the more natural baths on 1st floor.

The hotel was buzzing with guests later on and we sampled the hot potatoes in the lobby - nice touch but don't eat too many to save your appetite for dinner in your room.

The attendant had ask us to choose earlier on whether we wanted beef or seafood or crab for the hotpot. As we were 'crabbed out' on this trip we chose beef and seafood. As usual for a Kaseiki dinner, the food kept on coming and coming. The dinner is worth at least 60% or more of the room cost so whilst the room may seem a lot you are paying for high quality dinner and decent breakfast.

After dinner we went to take a walk and so our beds could be made. Our evening snacks of ice cream and rice balls were laid out.

The only small downside of the room was there were a lot of flying insects coming into the room beacuse we had a door leading out to the outdoor tub and due to the hotel's proximity to the lake. We didn't end up using the tub much due to the insects & it couldn't compare to the 1st floor onsen.

Breakfast was the only real let-down. They have 2 restaurants - a smaller one where I understand the quality is better and a larger one. We were given tickets to the larger one and it was very crowded and a bit chaotic. The food was ok and decent but nothing special to write home about. We were happy that we had dinner in our room.

The weather was glorious that day and we took a trip around the lake which we enjoyed.

Check-out was also very busy. We had to wait a while for our car to be brought over from their car park to the entrance and there were many other cars in the small space outside the hotel. We went straight from the hotel to Kushino and later to the airport. The town is not very interesting - although the fish market it supposed to be famous it is ok but not worth a special trip. The airport is adequate but not much choice for last minute shopping.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the hotel. Akan town is small but ok so do have a walk around but spend as much time as you can in your room and the onsen to make the most of your stay. Oh and finally do pick up some bottles of horse oil shampoo (you can try it in the shower areas before you soak in the onsens first) it leaves hair silky soft & you don't need to use conditioner afterwards. It's a bit expensive but well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga

Address: 4-6-10 Akancho, Akanko Onsen, Kushiro 085-0467 , Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Kushiro > Akanko Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kushiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akan Yuku No Sato Tsuruga Kushiro, Japan - Hokkaido

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akan Yuku no Sato Tsuruga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.