We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kōraku-en 後楽園” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Korakuen Garden

Korakuen Garden
1-5 Korakuen, Okayama 703-8257, Okayama Prefecture
+81 86-272-1148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Attractions in Okayama
4.5 of 5 stars 345 Reviews
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kōraku-en 後楽園”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Koraku-en is one of the most beautiful gardens in Japan and anyone traveling to Okayama should stop and visit. There is a small entrance fee, I believe it was ¥400. It has wonderful landscape, a big pond and a smaller one, which was covered in lotus flowers the time that I visited. There are also various old buildings (tea-house, pavilions), but they were all closed. Most of them were enclosed with a fence and a locked gate, so you could only see the buildings from afar. I was very disappointed and I don't know why they keep them closed (there were even shutters on the windows or sliding doors, so you couldn't peek inside). I wish I could visit those buildings since I am in love with Japanese traditional architecture. Because of this I can't rate the garden as "excellent", although everything else was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    144
    48
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Garden That Symbolizes The Natural Beauty of Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's amazing how the old and new coexist peacefully in Japan. While there may be so much hustle and bustle outside the gate, inside the garden, it seems like a whole another world. So quiet and peaceful. Admission is very reasonable - I think it was something like 3.00 dollars for an adult and 1.50 for senior (unfortunately, I don't have my ticket and I don't remember off hand). Don't forget to pick up a pack of stale bread for 150 yen to feed the carp! Anyway, I did have a hard time finding this place as it was quite a ways from the Korakuen subway station on the Marunouchi Line. I recall having to walk around the Tokyo Dome to find the entrance. I believe if you get off Idabashi on the Chuo line, you will have a much easier time finding the garden.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Deserves to be considered one of the three best gardens in Japan. Absolutely beautiful, with its myriad of views, angles and vignettes. A lovely peaceful and deeply satisfying experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gardens are one of the highlights of visiting Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is in a nice setting after you cross the river. The garden itself
can be fully visited in a couple of hours. It is like living inside a picture. Lots of gorgeous different spots. We enjoyed particularly the lotus plants which still held the drops of rain fallen previously.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Nice walk and enjoy the peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We took the bus from the JR station and got off after passing the bridge where we saw the sign of the garden entrance. A well maintained huge park with lots of pine trees and nice walking paths. Not as large as the one in
Kanazawa, this garden has a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Very typical Japanese garden design with thoughtful layouts. The castle was just next to the garden.
I was there in December and missed the color of flowers,
yet sitting on the little hill and watching the rice field was fun. Loved the Chinese poem in the garden... Better visit this place in warmer season.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korakuen Garden also viewed

Okayama, Okayama Prefecture
Okayama, Okayama Prefecture
 
Okayama, Okayama Prefecture
 

Been to Korakuen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korakuen Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.