We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Market Street, Amsterdam, NY 12010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amsterdam
Las Cruces, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Checked in without checking ratings. Won't make that mistake twice. Hotel desperately needs to be completely renovated. No redeeming feature. Stayed here when it was a Best Western 10 years ago. That might have been the last time it was okay.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieN123, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are aware that our property needs some renovating. A new company has come in and taken over as of 7/31/2012 and renovations will be starting in the near future. We apologize for your experience.

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    8
    7
    21
See reviews for
16
8
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is an old hotel, one of 3 poor choices off Rt. 90 in Amsterdam NY. However, if you find yourself forced to stay here . . .
The lobby is mildly promising. However the halls, floors, walls, and surfaces are all very dirty, and the elevator smelled strongly of urine.
The room was just a little bit better. It did look like someone had vacuumed it. And, thank goodness, the sheets seemed to be clean. I did a close inspection before I got into the bed.
The bathroom was spartan, but acceptably clean.
The mattress had springs which poked into my back. The pillows were just lumpy balls. Fortunately I was very tired.
Overall, the only reason to stay at this motel is if the weather is so bad that continued driving would be dangerous.
And with a coupon, it is cheap: $55.00 for two.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
I was informed on this situation that you had with Gayle the next morning. I personally checked that room with another housekeeper and found no evidence of blood stains or dirt on the bed. I also checked the hot water and it was very hot.

I want to apologize for the rudeness of Gayle, I had a talk with here. She usually gets high compliments on her friendliness and helpfulness.

Just letting you know there is hotels and motels in the schenctady and Albany areas. Perhaps they will be accomadate you.


Debra M. Newkirk
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

When you walked in the lobby, you will see that the ceiling are collapsing and full of water stains, and it had a very distinct odor when you come in. We walked in the room and the bed had dirt and blood stains on it and the bath towels had skid marks. We booked two rooms for the weekend and right through the following morning there were "no hot water!!!"
We spoke with "GAYLE" the front desk (she said to spell her name correctly) was so rude and had every excuse in the book. We called the front desk four times and she gave us different reasons every time. First, Gayle said that everything was working and didn't know why the two rooms don't have hot water. Second, she said that everyone in the hotel took a shower at the same time (We saw that there were only 5 cars parked in the lot including ours). Third, she said that some rooms had hot water and some rooms don't, and again they don't know why.
They said that there is a room at the 5th floor that we can take a shower in (we came from the 2nd floor and the hallway was so cold in both floors). The housekeeper was with us when we came to the room and she tested the hot water in the shower and said it was hot and left. I immediately jumped in the shower and it was ice cold and she was no where to be found. I quickly got dressed and went to the front desk and talked to GAYLE and told her that she is more that welcome to check our rooms for hot water and she said No! She said she don't know why our rooms don't have hot water and she was able to take a shower that morning too!
She didn't even apologize for what had happened and gave us a very rude attitude and stare at us as if we were lying and did something wrong. Clearly very unprofessional, unfriendly and very disrespectful person! She even said that we are more that welcome to stay in another hotel and don't come back! I really won't come back to the hotel cause of this awful experience.
I hope you guys wouldn't do the same mistake we did, I suggest you find a different hotel. There is a Super 8 Motel around the corner. It's not the best either but their staff are very friendly and accommodating and ofcourse, they have hot water!

Room Tip: I suggest you call another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This property advertises hi-speed internet but I get no internet in my room (despite 2 bars on my wifi connection). Down the entire hallway I get 5 bars but the speed averages about 0.2 Mbps which borders with dialup! In the reception area which is obviously an inconvenience I can use the restaurant's connection which is more decent at 3.6 Mbps, while the hotel's own connection in that area reaches less than half that speed.
Smell of smoke fills the hallways but my non-smoking room smells reasonably. The room is otherwise average for motels, overpriced at full price...

Room Tip: check wifi speed before you settle in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your concern. If your room is having difficulty with the internet, we needed to know this. If you are staying here please let us know so we can move you to a better area. I contacted our internet source and they are checking the situation out, so it should be taking care of and next time you stay here it should work proberly in your room.


Sincerely,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

first, it was hard to get over the smell... moldy,mildewy

second ....omg....does the train ever end.....a freight train goes by all night long it has to be 30 cars long every half hour = no sleep

third- looks like someone had their period on the towels....i just puked in my mouth....i will never stay there again

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I went to Amsterdam NY due to the death of his Father. We stayed at the America's Best Value Inn. We have stayed there previously but this trip was even better than before. First of all, the lobby is warm and inviting. The staff is great and will do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one. The hotel hallways are spotless. Cleaner than some of the higher priced hotels where we've stayed. Rooms are comfortable and quite large. There is a restaurant at the hotel that almost makes you feel like you are in a 1940's nightclub. Just loved it. Food is delicious and if you prefer drinks only, the bar is next to the restaurant. The only negative about this hotel is the location. Railroad is close by and trains run day and night. The hotel is located near the NY Thruway so it's easy to get to without having to drive a long distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments. We appreciate people that write positive things about our hotel
hotel. We strive in cleanliness of our rooms. We are glad that you had a nice stay. Hope to see you soon. Next time your in town, give me a call personally and we will treat you to a breakfast for two.


Sincerely,
Debbie Jezowski
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Without doubt the dirtiest hotel I have ever had the misfortune to visit. Do not even consider staying here. No positives except it is just off the interstate so very easy to escape fast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Terryulsterman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. The Amsterdam area has been ravaged due to a hurricane, earthquake, and tornado which struck. Our property was the only hotel to remain open which could accommodate guests. The area is in the process of rebuilding and as a result we have been housing alot of construction and cleanup crews. We do try to provide the best possible service. We pride ourselves on maintaining a clean facility. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Debbie-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Amsterdam, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 10 Market Street, Amsterdam, NY 12010
Location: United States > New York > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Americas Best Value Inn of Amsterdam and enjoy the affordable, newly redecorated, full service 125 room hotel nestled in the foothills of the scenic Adirondack Mountains, along the banks of the historic Mohawk River. All rooms feature free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, cable TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and alarm clock. Most rooms have a microwave and a mini-fridge, available for a small charge. For the business traveler, we have over 2500 square feet of meeting space that can be broken down into 3 separate meeting rooms that seat up to 175 people. Additionally, there is a banquet facility which can seat up to 400 people. We also offer fax and copy service. We have a game room for our guests' leisure. While at our hotel, dine at our very own City Lights Restaurant. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours. We are confident our friendly staff will make your stay with us a memorable and enjoyable experience. We invite you to "Experience the Colors of Montgomery County." Nowhere else in the area will you find such a rich collage of ethnic groups and cultures, including the Native American Mohawk Indians and the Amish. The area offers the Erie Canal for your boating pleasure, plenty of heritage and historic sites including the austerely beautiful Stone Arabia churches and Historic Fort Klock, the legendary Fonda Speedway for dirt-track racing enthusiasts, the Kanatsiohareke Mohawk Indian Community, and the revered National Martyrs' Shrine at Auriesville. We are only 30 minutes from Albany, NY. Must-see area attractions include Noteworthy Indian Museum, Fulton Montgomery Community College, Glenville Mini Sportsplex, Michael's Amusements Proctor's Theatre, Bally Gaming and Systems, Saratoga Race Track, Lapland Lake Nordic Ski Vctn, Oklahoma Race Track, and Saratoga Performing Arts Center. At Americas Best Value Inn Amsterdam, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Amsterdam
Americas Best Value Inn Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.