We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raindancer is excellent time and time again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raindancer Restaurant

Raindancer Restaurant
4582 State Hwy 30, Amsterdam, NY 12010-8342
(518) 842-2606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Amsterdam, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Raindancer is excellent time and time again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Being an Amsterdam native, I can confidently say that Raindancer is one of the best restaurants in the area. They have a large and varied menu, and I've had most items on it. The salad bar is a favorite. Also, they have excellent early bird specials that make the trip well worth your while. A great meal for everyone!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I find Raindancer expensive, but visit often for banquets and early bird dinner specials. I enjoy the salad bar with a wide variety of selection including salads such as pasta, macaroni, potatoe, bean etc and always a nice selectoin of breads. I recommend the shrimp scampi as an entre with just right rice pilaf.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I love being an Early Bird”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Since it was my birthday, I wanted to eat out at someplace a little special. We enjoy the Sacandaga area and decided to attend a free concert at the bible camp. After reading the reviews we decided to try the Raindancer. The menu offers a wide variety of choices. Since we arrived at 4:30, we were in time for the early bird specials. Usually we share a meal to keep the price down when we eat out. No need. The prices were more than reasonable, and I had brought a cooler, so we kept the leftovers. Lots of families with children enjoying themselves. We were tucked away in the back and worried wait staff would ignore us, but service was prompt and attentive. A wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“raindancer restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Four of us had a mid-day meal Sunday. Three of us had the prime rib dinner which comes with the salad bar or ceasar salad. Both were delicious, salad bar had many items to choose from and great bread. The Prime ribs were cooked to perfection and very little fat. The ice tea is served in a huge glass which requires no refills because you are lucky if you finish it. Our waitress was very good even though she was very busy. We couldn't find a fault. The prices for early bird specials can't be beat and they had a good selection.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you want some awesome comfort food, look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place ROCKS. We came here for an early lunch on a Saturday while staying at a nearby bed & breakfast.

The place was relatively empty for lunch (it is HUGE inside), but there seemed to be a couple of baby or bridal showers going on for some locals. You can tell that the place probably gets PACKED at night.

The appetizer sampler was full of amazing mozzerella sticks (they tasted homemade as opposed to frozen), breadsticks stuffed with buttajuice cheese, delicious hand-battered chicken fingers and some SERIOUS stuffed mushrooms.

My bf got amazing ribs that fell off the bone with fresh cut fries and I got the roast beef wrap that came with au jus and more amazing fries.

And our drinks came in gigantic jars! Loved it all!

The service was great, the atmosphere awesome and the food perfect. HIGHLY recommend if you're looking for some country comfort-style yumminess!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raindancer Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Raindancer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raindancer Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.