We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great atmostpher” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parillo's Armory Grill

Parillo's Armory Grill
67 Bridge St, Amsterdam, NY 12010-5527
518-842-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Granville Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmostpher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited with friends from Amsterdam. Would highly recommend. The food was excellent and atmosphere was entertaining. Owners were onsite and greeted us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were driving Upstate NY and decided to make a pit stop along the NYS Thruway and via Car - Navigation GPS search found what we thought was going to be Armory Grill, sandwich food, hamburgers etc for lunch not Parillo's Armory Grill.

The waitperson was great, she offered to only serve us one entrée to share as we weren't that hungry instead spouse had a Chicken special think Françoise (sp)- Two large pieces of chicken with salad for like $10.95 give or take and I had another chicken dish - Raffael $16.00+.

The food was great and we wound up having left overs for another great meal. Well worth their prices. Nice Local establishment with home style cooking and good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fair food good service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had dinner with a group of friends. Apps were good and recommend fried artichoke and their chicken wings! Had to send entrees back for more heat even though plates were hot food was warm. Once returned they were good! Server seemed overwhelmed as restaurant looked understaffed. Food quantity was abundant and very tasty! Restaurant celebrating 40 years and owners work very hard.Will try again another time. Ambiance is nice with many antiques.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambiance and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Parillo's is a long-lived institution in Amsterdam, NY. Located in an out-of-the-way industrial area, it takes some doing to find it. But be persistent, because your search will be worth it.

The decor will convince you that you are sitting in your Italian Nona's dining room, with china closets and old china on display. And the food will replicate what Nona might have made or a special occasion, if she had an unlimited supply of first-rate ingredients, fresh seafood, and the talent of a master chef.

If seafood is your thing, you have many choices. The frutta de mer (sp?) dish is a melange of various seafood types, along with fresh veggies and a pasta side. I've never seen anyone finish it in one sitting, it there's always a first time.

Be sure to leave room for dessert (shared, probably) and coffee or tea. It's fun to linger, watch the other diners enjoying their evening, and admire the wait staff's competence. Just make sure to bring your wallet as the prices can be pretty high. But for a special occasion, it's a great choice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My Daughters Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A large group of us had a reservation last March (2012) and it was perfect. I have know Jackie & Ralph for many years and always know I will be fed well. Ralph is usually so busy in the kitchen we never get to say hello. But to my surprise Jackie his wife came out to greet the guests that evening and when she saw me with a large group of family she rushed over and hugged me and we greeted each other in bad Italian. I can say a few sentences but Jackie blew me away. Was so nice to be treated like family and when you are there...you are "familia"!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parillo's Armory Grill also viewed

 

Been to Parillo's Armory Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parillo's Armory Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.