We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Amsterdam

Super 8 Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Amsterdam to your Saves list
Super 8 Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5502 Route 30 South, I-90 Exit 27, Amsterdam, NY 12010   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

If you must have a room right now then it's OK. The clerk refused to give me my Wyndam Rewards points and the Internet was very slow. They did have truck parking though. The pillows were comfortable and the room did not smell moldy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    59
    24
    19
See reviews for
60
39
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The whole building is permeated with cigarette smoke smell, even the NON-SMOKING room we had. Had to unplug a lamp to plug in CPAP machine - sparks flew!!! Left in the morning to go out for the day - returned to find housekeeping only chose to change towels. They DO NOT have a maintenance person; the manager/owner does it.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car in the parking lot - it would be much cleaner and safer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

this location is close to lots of things like sarstoga race track, the adirondac state park, and other important locations. aside from location the staff here is great,I have no complaints about this hotel.I'd also like to say that there rates are reasonable and fair. very clean, good place for family stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I guess horse racing is bigger than i thought because when attempting to book a hotel at the end of July, all hotel rooms were taken from Amsterdam to Albany. Since we could not book ahead we decided to just go and rely on a cancellation. The staff were really nice and were able to give us a room that was being cleaned. Prices were much higher because it was horse race season. For the price, our experience should have been a lot nicer though. Our room smelled, I think for 2 reasons: smoking rooms down the hall and it was old (musty). We had to shut our luggage immediately after taking out or clothes becuase they would smell like musty smoke. Rooms were clean and neat. NO BEDBUGS. (i only write that because the one reason that I was nervous about staying there was because of the bed bug incident of an earlier writer). Continental breakfast was a little to be desired: lights kept turning off because someone was using a toaster and microwave at the same time, poor selection and things kept breaking (juice machine, toaster).

Room Tip: You need to book way ahead of time if you are planning to come around the end of July or early Augus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Came with a group. One room was already used when we went to check into it. Woke up to find bed bugs!! Great value but not worth the nightmare of getting rid of bed bugs. Sleep in your car before sleeping here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Super 8 Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
We inspected whole room there was no bugs in bed or room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxley, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Called to see if they had a room available because of a bad experience at the holiday inn in johnstown, they told me that they had a room and would hold it for me until I could get there after
I explained what I was in town for and about what had happened to us at the other hotel. We arrived a little after 4 and was greeted as we were walking in she had us checked in within a few min and into our rooms. The rooms are spacious, needs updating and a deep clean on the carpets and behind the dresser (just fallen coffee packets). Overall no other complaints

Room Tip: bring house shoes to wear around the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed over Memorial Weekend, 3 nights, with a discount special. We were attending an event nearby, and have stayed here before, but not in the past few years.

Even though we arrived close to midnight, we were warmly greeted, and directed to our room.
Our room seemed to be recently renovated, and was clean and nicely appointed. (Much nicer than our last stay here)
Double beds, dresser, desk, office and comfy chairs. Small fridge/cooler, and a mini coffeemaker. There is a combination safe, but if you don't use it, you can get the fee back at checkout. Plenty of outlets, and lights, and internet connection available.

The breakfast buffet was average, could have used a bit more variety (and real cream), but we found it to be enough to hold us until lunch.

Easy to find, right off the NY Thruway, and the parking was convienient, right outside the window, with just a short walk.
The restaurant across the way is closed, and looks to be that way for a while, which does bring the overall appearance of the complex down a bit, but don't let that deceive you.
This is a good place to stay for a weekend trip, a stop during a long travel, or as a base for exploring the area.
At the right price, we'd gladly stay here anytime we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amsterdam

Address: 5502 Route 30 South, I-90 Exit 27, Amsterdam, NY 12010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Super Eight Amsterdam
Amsterdam Super 8
Amsterdam Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.