We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not catered to American traveler” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Buena Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-1 Honjo, Matsumoto 390-0814, Nagano Prefecture (Matsumoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 183 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 stars 144 Reviews
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not catered to American traveler”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for about 10 years as I have regular business meetings in a nearby town. Being the only "full service" hotel in this small city, this is the default lodging option for our company. However, this hotel is overall inadequate for an American traveler. Some examples: The hotel staff generally does not speak enough English to handle basic requests like asking for more towels or hangers. The bedrooms are so small (about 10'x12') that there is no place for any furniture other than a desk. This is also the only full service hotel I have ever stayed in where there are no drawers for clothes, and the closet measures only 1 foot wide! I ended up having to keep most of my clothes in the suitcase, which is a real inconvenience for a long stay. And this is a room on the Executive Floor! To top it off, there is only one English language channel (CNN). There is also no gym. The best feature of this hotel is the buffet breakfast, which is offered by the restaurant located on the top floor with a panoramic view of the city, and a great variety of high quality Japanese and western breakfast items. Another nice hidden feature is the in-room massage, which is provided by a staff of blind masseuses. Unfortunately, these good points do not make up for the overall inadequate offerings for the foreign traveler.

Room Tip: Stay on the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    71
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
26
23
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cruden Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely room on the 7th floor with views to the surrounding hills. Well appointed bedroom and spotlessly clean. The buffet dinner was excellent value as was breakfast, served on the top floor with even more spectacular views. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a tenth floor room which meant after the torrential rain of the night before we had a rainbow over the mountains for our view.
As for the hotel, it was what you'd hope for from a high spec hotel. The staff were lovely, we didn't use any facilities.
We paid peanuts though so it would be churlish to say anything negative.
Great location for station and sights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is just to the south of the centre but within easy walking distance, also to the station (although as others have noted there is a shuttle bus). Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. High percentage spoke English. Room was clean and well fitted out. We chose an Executive room based on previous reviews. We booked an Executive Semi double without realising the difference in floor space between that and the Executive Twin/Double (the info available seemed to indicate the main difference was the size of the bed - not so!). Semi doubles are on one side of the floor with the Twin/Doubles on the other (south) side. The latter is half as large again and that makes quite a difference.
Breakfast was excellent and the views from the 14th floor were fabulous as the hotel is the tallest building in the city.

Room Tip: If you want more space, go for Executive Twin/Double. The Executive Semi Double is no larger than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although only a few minutes walk to the station, there is a shuttle bus (nice touch, especially as we had quite a lot of luggage). Very friendly staff, we paid an extra ¥1,000 per night for an upgrade to the Executive floor, although not Executive as we know, the room was good, renovated but paintwork and furniture quite chipped. No block out curtains just timber venetians which didn't close properly. Bathroom small but spotlessly clean. Foyer has an amazing fire (we sat there and had coffee and cakes - cakes to die for! We also had drinks one evening in the bar on the top floor, great view, loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed 2 days here and had an updated room quiet room with all we could ask for. Helpful reception staff with a good grasp of English. Restaurant meals very expensive but the buffet was excellent with lost of choice. A superb breakfast choice with both western and Japanese and all of good quality. Well located for visiting the matsumoto old town and the castle..

Room Tip: Ask for updated room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Buena Vista is a nice hotel with a VERY polite staff. It is close to the train station and they now have a free shuttle bus service, which is VERY convenient.

Room are karge by Japanese standards. Unless you stay on the Executive Floor, the room are old and dated. They recently upgraded to flat screen TV's, but viewing options in English are limited and all info about extra pay options, the remote control functions, etc, are all in Japanese only.

This is where I have an issue - the hotel tries to act like an international hotel, but 95%+ of the signs, information, etc, are in Japanese. There are flyers on the check in counter about a nearby Onsen spa that the hotel can take you to each evening for FREE....but the info sheet is only in Japanese. In other words, there are additional nice perks, but unless you can read Japanese, you have no idea.

The breakfast buffet is not bad, but the scrambled eggs and bacon need to be fully cooked to meet the tastes of Western people.

I stayed at both the Buena Vista and the Richmond hotel this visit to Matsumoto and I have to go back in one month. I'm hoping I can get a room at the Richmond. See my review there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Hotel

Address: 1-2-1 Honjo, Matsumoto 390-0814, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto > Matsumoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buena Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Buena Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Matsumoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.