We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful scenery from room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nishi-itoya Sanso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matsumoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nishi-itoya Sanso
Save
You added Nishi-itoya Sanso to your Saves list
Ryokan
  |   Kamikochi 4469-1, Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture 390-1516, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 183 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very beautiful scenery from room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in their traditional japanese style room. The most expensive place we stayed in on this trip but then again, this was the cheapest place around the area. That was also the answer to the question posed by a colleague why we were staying there and not at some other ryokan across the bridge - it was the cheapest place around. Our rooms were on the second floor and facing the river. The rooms came with their own toilet but showers were shared at the onsen. Their staff will prepare your bed when you go for dinner. Dinner was a spread but nothing to shout about. The grilled fish was very salty and you have to peel off the skin before you eat it. The grilled steak was quite disappointing, too overcooked. Breakfast was average. Dinner on the second night had grilled fish again, but a different type of fish. This one was terrible, the fish was grilled whole, with its guts still in, result was a very bitter fish that we just couldn't eat. There was free coffee and tea at the lounge which we helped ourselves to after dinner. The walk at Kamikochi was about 22km and after the whole day of walking, the onsen was very welcoming. I would have given a higher overall rating if the meals were better, for a person who watches Japan Hour quite often, I would find that the food is very much below average for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing stay at this hotel. Our room was traditional ryokan-style, and was lovely and spacious. The toilets were shared, which was not an issue at all - heated toilet seats really came into their own in the cold mountains! Washing was done using the facilities of the onsen. The onsen here was great, really relaxing either first thing in the morning or after a day's trekking. The food here was really interesting - evening meal consisted of the full multi-course experience, with all dishes beautifully presented in a quiet dining room to your own private table. Breakfast was again a very elaborate affair, with traditional Japanese food (fish, Miso etc). My wife was pregnant and so struggled a bit with this for breakfast, so on the second day they cooked us a more western breakfast (sausages and eggs!). The hotel seemed expensive when we booked it, but the quality of the meals actually made it pretty good value for money.

I would definitely recommend staying a night in Kamikochi if you can fit it into the itinerary - it is quite busy with day-trippers during the main part of the day, but first thing in the morning and later in the evening it is very quiet and beautifully peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Considering Kamikochi is an expensive place, the shared dorms at Nishi-iyota are great value (I paid 8000 yen including breakfast and dinner). The rooms were basic but reasonably comfortable and from my bunk bed I had a view of the mountains. Similarly from the onsen you could see the mountains. There's free wi-fi provided. The location is great, just 10 mins from the bus stop and right in the middle of many of the trails. The food was also very good. I would happily stay here again if visiting Kamikochi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in a western style room with bathroom. Rooms were ok, dinner was really good and the Onsen had a lovely view of the Kamikochi mountains. The accommodation is less than 10 minutes walk from the bus station which is really convenient and provided a good base for exploring the valley. We stayed one night and did a 6 hour walk during the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here only one night on October 23, 2012. When we arrived at Kamikochi Station, it was raining. So, we had to carried our lugguage through the rain to the ryokan. But it's not far.. just 10 minutes.
Our room was on the second floor near the stair named "Mine-Sakura" with the view of the river in front of Ryokan.
We were 3 ladies staying together and room was big enough to relax! The facilities are heater, tv, table at the center of the room, table at the balcony door, toilet, washing basin and closet.
First thing to do, we went to the public onsen (seperate men and woman), great experiences!
Room was included Dinner and Breakfast, we loved the Miso soup, Salad and Grilled local fish.
Next day, when the rain is gone.. the best view appeared through our balcony!!
Hotel is located near Kappa Bridge, one of the best place for taking a photo.

staffs were awesome! they took care of our wet shoes and prepare the room for bedtime when we had dinner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good location near the bus terminal (10 minute walk across the river, so not too near). The lodge rooms are reasonably sized. It's tatami sleeping with bean pillows etc, but there are space heaters for cool weather. The meals are good-- individual set meals, not cafeteria style. There's free tea, coffee, and internet in the lobby. Large baths upstairs still feel good after hiking or walking around. The main down-side is the noise from the halls-- easy to hear everyone else moving around in the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location was awesome.

It was a good way of trying traditional Japanese food.

The room was much nicer than it looked on the website. We stayed in the basic room without a bathroom but the facilities were good. We could hear the river from our room which was relaxing and there were mosquito guards on the balcony doors.

The prospect of the baths were a bit scary for westerners but proved nothing to be worried about and very relaxing after the hardcore walk.

Tip, We went for a 4 hour walk up an old riverbed, don't do this unless you have walking boots as it felt like my feet had been wacked with a cricket bat and I could hardly walk for a day afterwards.

We travelled from Tokyo on the train which was fairly easy since Matsumoto has good transport links.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nishi-itoya Sanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishi-itoya Sanso

Address: Kamikochi 4469-1, Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture 390-1516, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 183 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nishi-itoya Sanso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.