We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant room design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Matsumoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dormy Inn Matsumoto to your Saves list
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Fukashi, Matsumoto 390-0815, Nagano Prefecture (Matsumoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“brilliant room design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very new hotel, brilliant room design. It's not big but very functional.
It's the only hotel that has no Yukata/ bathrobe provided but shirt and pants. For me, it's not a very good idea. I wouldn't wear pants that are not mine. Too bad we were too tired to try the onsen. The lady room even has security code to enter.
There is no wi-fi, only LAN line.
The breakfast was great, both taste and decoration. When you choose each item and place on the tray, it looks and feels like expensive japanese set. Be careful, breafast line closes at 9am!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    92
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
65
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very well placed for exploring Matsumoto. Excellent baths on the top floor, AND coin operated washer and dryer. Pleasant buffet breakfast with a choice of English/Japanese food.

A very good hotel in all respects.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good clean hotel with a reasonable size room.
Located at 5 minute walk from the JR station.
Nice breakfast with buns and coffee.
Washing machine and dryer available, which is nice during a 3 week journey.
Safe choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how close the hotel was to Matsumoto station - we could see it when we exited, across four streets. It was also very close to Ario departmental store with a well-stocked supermarket and the central bus station (located just outside Ario). If you are travelling by train or bus, this is definitely a well located hotel. We also picked up our Toyota rental car from their office round the corner. Matsumoto is a small town and it is an easy walk to all the sights.

The hotel room was on the small side, but clean & comfortable. We loved the rooftop spa (onsen) which had piped in music and felt safe as we were given a security door code each day (we were there 2 nights).

Breakfast was tasty and there were Japanese and Western selections.

There was no Wi-Fi but we could connect our computer through the network cable provided in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

About 10min walk from Matsumoto station, convenient location to walk or to take a bus to Matsumoto Castle or City Museum of Art. The size of the room is typical Japanese budget type hotel room. Window did not open and a bit dusty. No need to use the cramped shower booth, if you use Japanese bath. Hotel served Yonaki-soba, Ramen, as a night snack, from 9:30pm to11:30pm., lots of local travelers were enjoying the service with Samui-room at home clothes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder,Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a good choice for a night in Matsumoto. It seems there is not a lots of choice in this town for different class of Hotels. This is as about as good as it gets in Matsumoto. It has a very good location about equal distance from the train station and the castle, you can easily walk to each.
The room was clean... but stained carpet and bedspread. Need to either shampoo and wash or replace them. The bathroom was a new modular unit it worked well, not grungy at all. Breakfast was pretty bad. They do have a non smoking floor and the Free washing machine made it a real good place to stay. Which would be the case whether free or not. The hotel supplies the soap and the wash, you pay 2 bucks to dry. I did two loads of laundry in their two machines, and two dryers. This was a real bonus to be able to do our laundry, they are up on the top floor with the onsen. Which looked nice, but did not use this onsen.
The staff in nice and responsive to our requests and questions. Only thing I have to say is, wash or replace the carpet and bedspreads. Big stain spots on the floor are not very appealing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a nice business type hotel near the train station. It was also not too far from the castle. The room was a typical size for Japan. We REALLY loved the Japanese bath on the 9th floor and didn't even bother to use the shower in our room. They also had free washing machines for guest to use including the washing liquid. The driers cost 100 yen per 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormy Inn Matsumoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Matsumoto

Address: 2-2-1 Fukashi, Matsumoto 390-0815, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto > Matsumoto Station , Asama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Matsumoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Matsumoto
#4 Family Hotel in Matsumoto
#14 Best Value Hotel in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy Inn Matsumoto 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dormy Inn Matsumoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Matsumoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Matsumoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.