We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel Matsumoto

Save Saved
You added Richmond Hotel Matsumoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
1-10-7 Chuo, Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture 390-0811, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 51 hotels in Matsumoto
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good choice for staying in Matsumoto. Not very cheap though, 10000 yen for two persons with breakfast.
It's well located not far from the station with many restaurants nearby. The rooms are spacious for Japanese standards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    139
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
66
51
75
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Richmond hotel is very conveniently located about 5 minutes walking from Matsumoto train station, and no more than 10 to 15 from any of the city's points of interest. There is an abundance of shops, bars and restaurants for any pocket in the surrounding streets, including the famous Kura literally around the corner.

Even though certain facilities are automated the hotel offers an unparalleled level service for its class. The rooms are spacious, clean and those located on the west face of the building have a scenic view of the surrounding mountains.

The standard, double room is equipped with 40" TV and impressive selection of free channels. Air-conditioning is modern, quiet and its controls very precise. Beds more than sufficiently sized. All the facilities in the hotel look new and cared after.

The staff proved very helpful and polite to the fault.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was my third time staying at the Richmond Hotel Matsumoto. It is an extremely good value for Japan and they have the best deal on breakfast around! Approx. $8USD for a choice of 5 full breakfast meals PLUS all you can eat soup, salad and coffee /beverage bar! Can't beat it! The rooms are clean and quiet but if you don't smoke, be sure you do not settle for a smoking room (if they are full) as you get smoke smell via the venting system. Other than that, it is a great place to stay and very convienent to everything Matsumoto has to offer! I love this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Service is nice, Room is clean and not very small, very quiet at night, breakfast was acceptable, very close to station about 5 min/s less, bathroom are clean amd water is hot Recommended . ............................

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room is not very big but already good enough, compare with the average room size in Japan. It's very clean and comfortable. I always stay in this hotel when visiting Matsumoto no matter for business or personal trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile


Our 2 nights stay from 9-11 Apr was to see the cherry blossoms and we saw the blossoms at its full glory at Matsumoto Castle Park, about 20 mins walk from the hotel.

We chose to stay at Hotel Richmond on account of previous reviews of its spacious guestrooms and its proximity to the JR Matsumoto Station and bus station. We paid JPY12700 per night excluding breakfast for a twin room.

We took a Keio Highway Bus from Shinjuku and journey took 3 hrs  @ JPY 2975 pp. It is a 10 mins walk from the Matsumoto bus station to the hotel. Check in on the 2/F was speedy and guestroom charges were settled at an automated credit card machine near the Front Desk. I was surprised and pleased to be offered a lady's welcome gift from a selection of bath salt & face masks. Nice thoughtful gesture!

The Ohashi 24 hr cafe just below the hotel serves a good selection of western and Japanese meals. Dinner for 2 costs JPY2468 and for breakfast JPY1380. There are many restaurants within a 5 mins walk from the hotel. Drinks vending machines can be found on almost every floor and a washer and dryer is on the 3/F.

We also made a 1/2 day trip to Narai, a postal town in the Kiso Valley. Many of the houses have been preserved like they were in the Edo period. It was very quiet & charming but not very interesting, and we did have difficulty finding places to eat there. Journey by train is about 40 mins (some trains took much longer) from Matsumoto to Narai.

Matsumoto is a very charming castle town and if we have another opportunity, we will also visit Kamikochi (90 mins by train and bus) and the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route from Matsumoto. We enjoyed our stay!


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked a twin room which was very comfortable, clean and quite spacious. The location was good being very close to the station and an easy walk to the castle. This hotel was good value with breakfast included. There are plenty of restaurants close by. The only reason for giving 4 stars instead of 5 is that you can hear people moving around from the floor above which is a bit disturbing if you are a light sleeper. We were lucky to time out visit for the week during the peak of the cherry blossoms when the castle is lit up at night and musicians playing. We also enjoyed an excursion by train to see the wasabi farm. From the station it was easy to hire bikes and ride 15 minutes or so to the farm. The farm is free to enter and we enjoyed walking through the well laid out paths and tasting a variety of products which were for sale. The wasabi ice cream was surprisingly delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Richmond Hotel Matsumoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Matsumoto

Address: 1-10-7 Chuo, Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture 390-0811, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 hotels in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Richmond Hotel Matsumoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel Matsumoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.