We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay in Guesthouse Namaste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Namaste

Guesthouse Namaste
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Namaste to your Saves list
Guesthouse Namaste
6-14 Kasaichimachi, Kanazawa 920-0851 , Ishikawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay in Guesthouse Namaste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an actual house that has parking space outside. Parking charges ¥500 per day.
Our 4 pax private room has 2 western beds & 2 futons, on the 2nd floor. Typical of Japanese houses, the stairs are steep & narrow. The kitchen is on the ground floor next to the common sofa area. The common bathroom & shower area is also on the ground floor, clean & tidy. Shampoo & shower provided.
The owner is very helpful & researched on the weather & road conditions of our next destination as our rental car did not have snow tires. He also helped to make reservations for the ninja temple & gave driving directions.
The guesthouse is within walking distance to the JR station and many shops.
We've enjoyed our stay and would recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: If you're a party of 2 and share a room upstairs, do be mindful that it is actually a single roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i stayed here for a few nights in june - on our first night no other guests were staying so makoto, the owner, went home, giving us the luxury of a house to ourselves to enjoy! Makoto was lovely and helped us plan how we'd spend our time. The guesthouse is very clean and tiny with both traditional japanese interiors as well as modern simple rooms. It's not like a backpackers - very calm and quiet.
10 minutes walk from the train station but difficult to find, if you end up walking past an 'adult' cinema on a quiet street you're going in the right direction though!- get a good map and go to tourist info.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hostel is a bit hidden and not that easy to find but absolutely worth it. We went to Kanazawa as a group of three and booked the family mixed western-japanese style room. First off I have to say that we were extremely impressed how clean and neat this guesthouse was. Having experienced other hostels in Tokyo before, this felt like entering a high-class hotel.
Our room was very comfortable and clean, the futon in the Japanese part was very nice and not of the cheap type.
The bathroom and shower is also very clean and typical Japanese type, with shampoo and body soap provided.
The living room is combined with the kitchen and very cozy. There's microwave, rice cooker, fridge, cutlery etc. Also bookshelves with books to read, comfy chairs, table etc.
The owner Makoto is extremely friendly and we felt like living in a good friends house. Best thing was that during the day Makoto always played some music from his computer in the living room from all over the world. I noticed Beethoven and Ravi Shankar, to name a few.
Makoto takes great care that everything is always clean and tidy, so you maybe have to adapt if you are used to regular cheap hostels (always clean your place after a meal, wash food packaging etc.)
All in all, great service, extremely clean and cozy for the price of a cheap hostel in Tokyo. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I read all the reviews on Hostel World and TripAdvisor before choosing to stay for two nights at Guesthouse Namaste in October. I stayed in the twin room with my sister.

Room: is nice, clean and a good size for two people.

Location: It is near the station (a 5 to 10 min walk to get to Kanazawa Station), but a bit hard to find. Make sure you print out directions or plan on taking a cab (bring address print out). My sister and I arrived at the station to find we forgot the directions. We called the guesthouse to ask directions and the owner told us he would not give us directions nor could he leave to meet us. (just so you know)

The house is old, but clean. Some of the floor boards are old and feel like they might give way when you walk on them. The house has a lot of rules (more than the hostels we stayed at) but this is someone's house. There are two shower rooms and two toilets downstairs for use (when we were there we were told we could only use one of the toilets, not both).

The reason I gave a poor rating was because I did not feel welcomed. Our whole stay I felt I was a burden to the owner to be there. He barley spoke to us after he told us the house rules. We asked him if he would make a reservation for us at ninjadera, which did not happen (he said he would but he did not - you need a reservation to get in.) I expected he would ask us where we planned to visit or give us suggestions of places to see that we would normally not know about; he did not, but he did give us the Kanazawa guide (the same one you can pick up at the TIC). Overall it was not what we were expecting. Anytime spent in the house felt awkward. I would not go back, and I would go so far as to say look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The owner, Makoto, greeted us like friends and made our stay here just wonderful! Gorgeous place to stay with perfect mix of western and traditional Japanese furnishings and facilities. Makoto is a goldmine for travel tips, provides warm genuine hospitality, relaxed jazz and great conversation. All the facilities you'd expect from a hostel but with a clean safe homely environment. I just love this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a good 'backpackers' in fact is more like staying with a friend as Makoto makes you so welcome and the beds are extremely comfortable. Extremely clean and great to have such a hot shower with shampoo and conditioner provided. I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, there were 4 of us and we stayed in a clean comfortable room that was half western half japanese which we thought was great! Good facilities, powerful showers, hairdryer, shampoo &showergel. We cooked in the kitchen which was small but had everything you need. Free tea and coffee. The owner is great, really makes you feel at home and is very helpful and chatty. I really enjoyed my stay here

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Namaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Namaste

Address: 6-14 Kasaichimachi, Kanazawa 920-0851 , Ishikawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty lodging in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So crazy about traveling made me to set up a Guesthouse here in Kanazawa. It would be greatly appreciated if Guesthouse Namasute could be helped to people who like to spend their time in Kanazawa comfortably . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Guesthouse Namaste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Namaste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.