We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa to your Saves list
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16-3 Showamachi, Kanazawa 920-8518, Ishikawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GOOD choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nigths and found the Crown plaza a good choice. Breakfast is very good, rooms are quite big (for Japan!) and clean, Service is as expected great and location wise its just a couple of steps next to the JR stain. In 2015 even a Shinkansen stop. Opposite of the Hotel is a mall with good restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAクラウンプラザホテル金沢, Front at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear P S,


Thank you very much for choosing our ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa and review on TripAdvisor. It was pleasure to read you enjoyed the food we served at our restaurant.
We use plenty of locally grown vegetable,” Kaga Vegetable” , and offer a variety of cuisine for our customer satisfaction.
As you know, our hotel is very convenient to access sightseeing area such as city of Kanazawa and Kenrokuen Garden. In the future event of opening “Hokuriku Shinkansen”, there will be further improvement in access to our city. We are doing our best to make our customer staying in an unfamiliar foreign country happy as much as possible. We hope that your pleasure or business will bring you back to Kanazawa and it is a great honor for all our staff to welcome you again at ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa in the near future.


Best regards,


ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    224
    53
    6
    5
See reviews for
84
140
54
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel was fine and typically Western style but the gardens in Kanazawa are the real stars. Make sure to visit the Nomura Samurai Residence for a real treat. Also wonderful on a sunny day is the Kenrokuen garden with its massive pine trees so expertly supported with tons of bamboo scaffolding. The hotel is adjacent to the train station which has restaurants but go just a little past that that to the seven story shopping mall and to one of the top floors for a huge selection of restaurants. We went kind of late so many were winding down and we use the good old "go where the most customers are" tip to choose a good one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAクラウンプラザホテル金沢, Front at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Garry-Appleseed,


Thank you for staying at ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa for your recent trip to Japan and posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Kanazawa City is the one of the most beautiful city which has remains of historic building. The sightseeing spot you mentioned is one of the most popular spot in the city. The loop of Pine trees, we call them “Yuki Tsuri”, is designed to prevent pine branch from being broken by heavy weight of snow. In fact, “Yuki Tsuri” is limited in winter season, but in Kanazawa we are able to enjoy different sense of the season, for example, the cherry blossoms in spring, greenery in summer, and autumn color of leaves in fall. We really hope that you will be able to enjoy different type of Kanazawa when you come back to Kanazawa. Thank you again for your stay, and we look forward to having you as our guests again.


Sincerely,


ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a really good businessman hotel which is equally suitable for smaller holiday groups. The rooms are well laid out and has all the usual amenities expected for a 5-star hotel. Parking at the hotel is easily accessible. For most travellers, the location close to a bus/train station is an important consideration. There are a few large shopping centers within walking distance from the hotel. There are quite decent restaurants in the neighbourhood if you want to try out dining away from the hotel. The layout of the buffet breakfast was quite congested especially in the morning period when there are lots of patrons. We spend only one night but wish we had 2 nights to get around the city and explore more. Maybe next time...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Kanazawa Crowne Plaza. It is situated right by the railway station & easy to find. The entrance hall also serves as a wedding hall, so it's a bit of a design splurge, but the staff were very helpful and most spoke some English.

The room was a little small, but bigger than most Japanese hotel rooms. The bed was not as hard as many in Japanese hotels, so the sleep quality was good. Oddly, there was just one reading lamp even though everything else one might need (trouser press, hair dryer, mini bar,etc) is present.

Sadly, we didn't get a loo seat that lifts automatically on entering the bathroom as one other reviewer did, but the bathroom was a decent size.

We ate at the hotel on one night and strolled across the road to the basement of the shopping arcade on the other. The hotel food was good and not too expensive, but there are plenty of restaurants within five minutes walk (literally).

For the Brits: the hotel provides English tea! What more could we ask for?

All in all a very good hotel, ideal for tourists and business visitors alike.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
419 helpful votes 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here partly because we had been staying in mainly Japanese style hotels for several days and it was good to get back to something more 'western'.

They gave us a large modern room on the 17th floor. The most amazing feature of which was that the toilet seat cover lifted as you walked into the toilet. In fact it was the most high tech toilet i had ever seen with lots of auto flushing and deodorising going on.

The hotel is just a few metres from the train station. It is large and modern and the staff were really helpful with advice. It is close to the Loop Bus which will take you to all Kanazawa's main sites including the fantastic gardens.

There aren't many restaurants in the area so ate both nights in the hotel - once in the Chinese and the second night in the Tappanyaki restaurant on the top floor - both were good as was the buffet breakfast.

If you are looking for a comfortable 'Western' hotel near the station the ANA Crowne Plaza is highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAクラウンプラザホテル金沢, Front Desk at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your stay at ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa this time,
We also appreciate you for your warm feedbacks about your stay.

We could assume that you would stay at one of our "Deluxe Double Room" located on the plemium floor, 17th. The room is featured with the seperated bathroom and toilet and the toilet cover which automatically lifted as you walk in, as you have mentioned.
Compared to the prefabricated bath, it gives you a luxuary impression.

Also, the hotel itself is located in front of Kanazawa station where all bus routes start from including the Loop Bus stop. The loop bus takes you to the most of sightseeing places in Kanazawa including "Kenrokuen garden" and "Bukeyashiki (Samurai houses)".

We are glad to know that you would choose our restaurants in the hotel. We have 4 restaurants -Japanese, Chinese, Western, and Teppanyaki (Steak and Grill)- and they prepared seasonal dishes with local ingredients.

We thank you again for sharing your experience in our hotel Kanazawa.
It is always our pleasure to listen to guests' voices.

We all look forward to serving you again in your future trip too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This Crowne Plaza had a friendly staff and quite recently remodeled guest rooms. The lobby was of a different era, but that did not diminish the quality of stay. It seems the hotel is quite popular for weddings, as we experienced several queues for the limited bank of elevators of people going up two or three floors. The breakfast buffet was reasonably priced and overall satisfactory. I would consider staying in this hotel again if circumstances bring me back to Kanazawa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAクラウンプラザホテル金沢, Front at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for staying at ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa this time.
We also appreciate on your kind feedback toward your previous stay.

As you have mentioned, the lobby and guests rooms are partially renovated few years ago and it impresses guests the modern atmosphere.
There is a special stage called "the stage AQUA" in the lobby where we present wedding ceremonies on weedends.

Our breakfast is prepared with more than 100 different dishes everyday including in-season dishes, opening from 6:00am to 10:00am. We hope you would find your favourite ones in the restaurant, "Cascade Dining".

We thank you again for your warm feedback and all look forward to serving you again in the near future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early October 2013. The hotel is obviously very conveniently located right next to the station, but a bit removed from the main sights. I guess you can't have both here; Kanazawa is easy enough to get around on foot or by cab though, so no major problems here. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Our room was a standard chain hotel room, no big complaints but nothing very special either. The bathroom looked a bit cheapish (pretty small, with a plastic washbasin, plastic shower curtain, hand shower, ...). Overall I would say this is a decent option if you want to stay close to the station for a couple of nights, but nothing memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Kloddz,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa

Address: 16-3 Showamachi, Kanazawa 920-8518, Ishikawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kanazawa
#4 Family Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by majestic mountains and looking out to the Japan Sea, the city of Kanazawa is a growing metropolis with a rustic feel. ANA Crowne Plaza Kanazawa stands proudly in this city rising to prominence as an international convention site, proving to be an increasingly popular stop for travelers with her traditional hospitality and excellent facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kanazawa
Kanazawa Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kanazawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.