We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanazawa Manten Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kanazawa Manten Hotel to your Saves list
Kanazawa Manten Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-6-1 Kitayasue, Kanazawa 920-0022, Ishikawa Prefecture (Kanazawa Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It's a short walk from the station, on the opposite side of the tracks to the main part of town. The room wasn't overly large but it was comfortable. Breakfast was interesting - a voucher system is used and you select 'western' or 'Japanese'. You are given a plate with eggs, ham and some vegetables, and you also have a buffet selection. There are many restaurants to choose from near the station and a few near the hotel as well

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    105
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
35
30
49
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Some key tourist sites are easily reached from the Manten. The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the train and bus station. It is modern and clean and we experienced friendly English speaking staff. A wifi router is available from the desk free of charge and works OK. In addition to the typical toilet and bath/shower room, the Manten also offers a nice Onsen if you enjoy a good soak. A breakfast package is available for 1000Yen and is recommended for its convenience. Western and Japanese options are available. The Western includes a choice of ham slice or beef patty, potato, broccoli and carrot (odd for breakfast) and scrambled egg. Toast and a choice of rolls, fruit salad and yoghurt and coffee/tea and fruit juice. We had no hassles getting refills. There are some nice garden views available from the breakfast room, but t was busy during our stay. There is a moderately priced restaurant for evening meals or you can try the convenience stores and restaurants in the train station shopping centre or walk 5-10 mins to nearby restaurants. Kanazawa is not on the main westerner tourist trail so you will not find as many English menus or window displays with marked prices as you have in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka. The hotel is a good option for tourists because of its quality, reasonable price and proximity to the station with its tourist information office and hop on, hop off tourist loop buses which are good value at 500 Yen for the day. Tip: Cheap drinks (beers, wine) and meals are always available from convenience stores and supermarkets; the hotel has a vending machine nook on each floor that also has a microwave oven for guest use so you can heat meals from the stores or supermarkets.

Room Tip: Make sure you order a non-smokers room when you book. We did and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Kanazawa Manten Hotel is an economical buy, but being a relatively large hotel, the Japanese propensity for bureaucracy to keep chaos at bay is at the forefront of their management philosophy. The rooms are clean, small (of course), but priced right. It's also close to the station. However, there doesn't appear to be much international awareness as simple things like using their laptop in the business center is impossible due to a lack of any English instructions. Also, avoid, at all costs, their western breakfast. It's as if the chefs, if you can use the term, had to replicate a simple scrambled egg, potato, and ham meal with only a picture and they were limited to using cardboard and artificial colors as ingredients. Since the staff appeared to have been trained by the soup Nazi, the place resembled a school cafeteria rather than a restaurant. It's not a bad place for a bed, but don't expect much beyond that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good : Walking distance with a little suitcase from the Kanazawa railway station.

Poor: The room where I was given first was not really cleaned, so I asked them to move me to other room. Both rooms were average size for business singles, but I could not leave my suitcase open in order to get to the bathroom, so it was painful.

They do not allow you to charge your room for your evening meal in their own hotel restaurant. I was asked to go back to the room, fetch my wallet and come back so it was very inconvenient. Their coin laundry was the most expensive of all hotels where I have ever stayed in Japan.

Their advert said that there is an open air Onsen. Well... It was a tiny pond for one person or two to squeeze in and it was felt quite dishonest of them making it sound as if they have a huge open air Onsen area. So I left for other hotel without extending my stay in Kanazawa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Relatively nice and clean hotel but some of my companions got rooms that smell of cigarette smoke. Air conditioner/heater control was not user friendly, thus most of us ended up having a quite uncomfortably warm room throughout our sleep (regretting later for even turning the "aircon" on). The buffet breakfast was great, though the main meal was not "buffet" but of fixed serving rather.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Found promotion rate on the internet for this facility so then we have one night accomodation in this hotel. Price is JPY 6,800 for twin, it's super cheap in Japan market. Unit bus (Shower and restroom) is attached with each room, and they have very big onsen bathroom (based hot spring ) for share use. Of course, men and women are separated for privacy reason.

But,,, I don't recommend this hotel for foreigner tourist, because you can't bring in your big luggage into this small accomodation. The hotel is closed to Kanazawa station, but the location is very quiet so you will be bored with surrounding .

Highly recommend for the budget traveller with your own vehicle , then you have a meaning .

Some of hotel staff speak English at the level of routine service if my memory is correct.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Small
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanazawa Manten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanazawa Manten Hotel

Address: 1-6-1 Kitayasue, Kanazawa 920-0022, Ishikawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanazawa Manten Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 509
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Kanazawa Manten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanazawa Manten Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.