We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did not meet our expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dormy Inn Kanazawa to your Saves list
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-25 Horikawa Shinmachi, Kanazawa 920-0849, Ishikawa Prefecture (Kanazawa Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“It did not meet our expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I give this hotel 3 stars: one for the staff who were friendly although English was limited, one for the Spa and one for the free Wi-Fi. But the rooms are very small ( even the one that they upgraded me to). The hotel is not well run and the carpets and furnisher were stained and as a vacation traveller the location was not favourable. If you arrive late by train and had to leave the next morning early, then this location is fine. But for the same money we later found out that we could have stayed in a better area close to interesting little restaurants and tourists area like the Samurai neighbourhood.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    248
    66
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
131
104
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hotel is located just next to JR station and a mall so that's great. In order to get to the town's atractions you need to take a bus or walk a bit, but the bus is cheep so it's not a problem.

Hotel itself is an average japanese business hotel so keep in mind that the checkin gets crowded in the evening. Rooms are normal, small as usual, but perfecly accomodate for one or two nights. There are washing mashines and dryewrs at guests disposal so we were able to wash our clothes. Very convenient during a long trip.

On the last flore, there is an onsen. It's not the best spa in the world, but I personally really appreciate a hot bath after a tiring day so I enjoyed it a lot.

To sum up. That's a solid hotel with small roms, but an onsen and convenient location make it an ideal choice for a short stay in Kanazawa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

(a) location - just next to the JR station and to the department store... we stayed there on Dec 31... so we didn't have to get up so early the other morning to get the "lucky bag"...
(b) room - standard japanese businese hotel size...
(c) breakfast - with a great choice... and they also provide free night snack... what can you ask for...
(d) onsen - small but nice...
(e) front desk - helpful and can speak fluent Englsh...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 4, they accommodated us in 1 room, with a futon for the kids. Yes there was no room, the shower was tiny but it was cute, clean, friendly and extremely well located. There's a washing machine / dryer room upstairs for low cost and breakfast is very tasty and plentiful.
Within 5 min walk of the station, the loop bus for tourist attractions, dozens of food shops and a shopping centre across the road .

Yes they don't speak English very well but it's Japan they speak Japanese!, learn a few words and use a dictionary / app . Incredible value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Difficult to communicate with the staff in English. It would be alright that if they could just tell they didn't understand. Terrible was that one of the staff nodded his head and smile while I was asking him about the breakfast, seemed that he understood all. In fact, he just stood there and smile but did nothing. And minutes later after I had repeated the question thousand times, he was still standing there and smiling like a robot. This really drove me crazy.

Besides that terrible experience, everything is alright with such budget price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Located right next to the train and bus station, though quiet. Good start point to reach the main sight seeing points in Kanazawa, though the town itself seems small enough. You can get the tourist shuttle bus from the bus station which does a loop around town, and it is hop on/off for fixed fee. There is a very useful tourist information point inside the station who will help you with maps, directions and tips.

The hotel itself is pretty standard, but clean, and does not seems overly dated. No luxuries here, but above average overall. The front desk was helpful.

Only regret is that we did not try their free ramen!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel room is clean and twin room is big for a Japanese business hotel. It's just opposite the station so very convenient to take the bus to Shirakawa-go and Takanawa. The onsen on the 14th floor is really relaxing after a long day of touring. There are also free laundry machines to use.
The free ramen was the best. We queue up every night from 9 pm for this treat. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Get the twin room for a little more but is 1.5 times bigger. For families there are also connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dormy Inn Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Address: 2-25 Horikawa Shinmachi, Kanazawa 920-0849, Ishikawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanazawa
#4 Business Hotel in Kanazawa
#5 Family Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Kanazawa 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Agoda, Hotels.com and Rakuten so you can book your Dormy Inn Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Kanazawa Hotel Kanazawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Kanazawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.