We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and location & onsen on 14th floor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dormy Inn Kanazawa to your Saves list
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-25 Horikawa Shinmachi, Kanazawa 920-0849, Ishikawa Prefecture (Kanazawa Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“great value and location & onsen on 14th floor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

the price is great consider they have an onsen on 14th floor, which also have coin laundry available..consider it's an onsen hotel, u can jus wear your slippers to the onsen floor as well as their clothes around hotel. The location is convenient, just beside Kanazawa station & Forus, nothing more comfortable than a walk around Kanazawa town then go back hotel for a nice soak in onsen

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    248
    66
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
131
104
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I could not find either a hostel with private rooms or any ryokan inn that were non-smoking and near the train station in Kanazawa; so after consulting Trip Advisor, I elected to stay at the Dormy Inn located just a block from the train/bus station in Kanazawa. While not perfect, the hotel worked very well for my needs on this three-night stay. Dormy Inns is a chain of business and spa hotels and so most of their clientele are Japanese. As a consequence the staff at this hotel spoke just a little English, but we managed to communicate the basics O.K. and they provided a printed sheet of hotel information in English that covered most of the necessary things.

I had specified that I had to have a smoke-free room due to allergies and I was placed on one of the non-smoking floors of the hotel. My room, #1215, however did have an old smoke smell. Fortunately I had a large window that opened and the wind was blowing quite well the first day. They also provided a bottle of green tea spray that I used on surfaces. Between the two actions I was able to get rid of almost all the lingering odor. The room was on the north side of the building overlooking the bus parking lot and a casino across the street. Being high up, though, it was quiet when the window was closed.

The room was well furnished with a double bed, armchair, bedside cabinet, desk and long counter, but not a lot of empty floor space. The television had only Japanese stations and there was an option to buy a 1000 yen card for in-room movies, but I do not know what selection was available. There was an in-room sink unit with refrigerator and kettle with coffee and tea provided. There was a second inner sliding door that separated the sleeping area from the bathroom and entry way. I imagine this would help with any noise from the hallways, but they were always so very quiet during my stay. The bathroom had a very nice shower and every imaginable toiletry you could want. They provided a basket with loose top and pants and slippers for wearing up to the onsen spa but I never made us of this.

In the lobby were three computers which were free for guests to use. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for 1000 yen, which seemed pricey to me. I just walked towards the station where there was a Starbucks and the German Bakery for breakfast—both open at 7 am. The German Bakery is a rather unusual place offering a very wide assortment of items from croissants to donuts to filled Japanese buns for either take-out or eat-in. They also have a small heated bar with pizza slices, chicken, and these wonderful beef and potato croquettes which I often had for dinner. The station also offers additional restaurants and a convenience store is located by the west exit.

The location of the Dormy Inn worked very well for me as I arrived by train and departed by bus, both just a short block away. All of the city buses including the tourist loop bus all began their runs right there. I did walk to the center of town my first morning—not a great distance.

My only two quibbles with the Dormy Inn were that you had to turn in your room key to the front desk whenever you went out and the remote for operating the heating/air conditioning was only in Japanese (and the English language information sheet they gave me did not have any explanation of what the buttons did).

I used the Yamato luggage delivery service both to and from the Dormy Inn Kanazawa and found that it worked very well. The cost was only 1370 yen each time (about 17 USD) for transport of one suitcase from K’s House Kyoto to Dormy Inn Kanazawa, and then from Kanazawa to the Nikko Hotel Kansai Airport. In between these locations, I had short stays and just took my carry-on on the train. It helps if you bring a printout from your hotels’ websites showing the hotel names and addresses in Japanese. This will help the desk staff fill out the delivery form for you. They will also add your arrival date and reservation number for the receiving hotel as well as telephone that hotel to let them know the suitcase is coming.

Room Tip: If smoke allergies are a problem, be sure to contact hotel in advance to let them know you need a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

we stayed two nights in a double and were surprised at how tatty the furniture looked as everything else is modern and relatively new - red/brown wood which has seen a few knocks. maybe recycled from another hotel in the chain?? didn't affect our stay though on smiley as any of the other hotels we have stayed at in japan. lan in room wasfirst impression the reception area is a little strange and the staff nowhere near as helpful and as good and bathroom standard for japan. it really is close to the station but far away from the town but buses serve it well during the day - seem to stop quite early which is not good considering the expense of taxi's. leaving the best to last - this is the second hotel we have stayed at with an onsen and we think they are fantastic. the website really does not promote it well enough...it was definitely thought about when we were planning our day. also used laundry facilities - free to wash and minimal charges for drying. so all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The location was fantastic. So close to the train station and public transport. Free internet in lobby as well as welcome coffee. Spa on top floor great with indoor and outdoor. Staff were polite and helpful, storing bags before and after check in and out. To be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

After a few nights in ryokans, it was nice to have a change of pace at Dormy Inn. Although the rooms are compact and fairly non-descript - they are well designed and it was all the extras that the hotel offered that we really enjoyed - we relaxed in the amazing bath; did laundry for free; had a great buffet breakfast (included) and appreciated the really pleasant, helpful service. Great value as we had a very reasonable rate.
Location is also excellent - 2 minutes walk from Kanazawa station (train and bus); some good shopping centres; nice restaurants and izakaya.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the Dormy for 4 nights recently and quite enjoyed it. Loved the easy access from the rail station (a short walk) and the equally easy access to all the sites (from the bus station just down the street).
We thought the breakfast was very good. Tons of choice and really clean and efficent. One morning the executive chef himself seemed to be out greeting people and generally helping out. It gave a good feel to the place.
REmember that when its raining (and it seems to rain a lot in Kanazawa) you can go out the front door, cross the street to the Forus department store, and follow it all the way downt to the rail station. You will only get a few drops on you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed two nights here 16 - 17 Nov after travelling from Hikone by train..
Dormy Inn is about a 5 minute walk from the main entrance of Kanezawa station. Our reservation was made through Rakuten. Cost was 10,000 Yen per night and Viking style breakfast was 1100 yen.
We had a large room 23 - 25 square metres. Room very good and beds (how I like them) were firm and comfortable.
Must mention the German Bakery at Kanezawa Station. Had lunch there after leaving our bags at the hotel. Great selection and too easy for the eyes to be bigger than one's stomach.
Cheers.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormy Inn Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Address: 2-25 Horikawa Shinmachi, Kanazawa 920-0849, Ishikawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanazawa
#4 Business Hotel in Kanazawa
#5 Family Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Kanazawa 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Agoda, Hotels.com and Rakuten so you can book your Dormy Inn Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Kanazawa Hotel Kanazawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy Inn Kanazawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.