We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in a ryokan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Tanabe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ryokan Tanabe to your Saves list
Ryokan Tanabe
Ryokan
  |   58 Aioi-cho, Takayama 506-0014, Gifu Prefecture (Hidatakayama Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
4.5 of 5 stars 179 Reviews
Paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A nice stay in a ryokan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We had reserved in ryokan Asunaro, but we fled the place as it was not what we expected, and started to look for an other ryokan. Some one in the street advised us on ryokan Tanabe and we must thank him for that.
A pleasant welcome by two old ladies, a very tastefully decorated reception: we felt the place seemed good and asked to see a room.
They showed us a very nice room on the first floor, recently refurbished from floor to ceiling, including furniture, bathroom etc..nicely decorated with a small private garden (about 3 sq meter, but so nice), and we decided to stay for the night.
We did not regret it as everything was perfect including the dinner and the breakfast
(both Japaneses style and served in the room).
The hotel provide a nice public Onsen.
If you book, try to have a room on the first floor as the rooms on other floors do not
have a small garden (and I am not sure they have been renovated).
We paid about 36 000 yens for 2 including dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
31
105
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

So we had just experienced the amazing Gora Kadan and after a brief stop in Nagoya we headed to Takayama and the Tanabe Ryokan. As others have said it is an easy walk from the station and the owner is delightful. Good enough English and she is very friendly and willing to assist. The Ryokan itself is quite old and after after Gora Kadan seemed somewhat run down to me. The bathrooms were not great, the Futon's they used were thin and old and what I disliked immensley was that you would be woken at 7am so they could pack away the bedding. Breakfast was served between 7 and 7.30 so little chance to sleep a bit late and although they did prepare a western breakfast it was hardly edible. We had only booked dinner for one night at the Ryokan and I was very pleased about this as i did not find it great. All the food was served en-masse, carried in on a great big plastic tray that you may see in a high volume canteen. It was okay but it was certainly only 3 star in every way. There were public hot baths but the one was barely hot enough, the other was okay (rotated daily between men and woman).

If I was to return to Takayama I would not stay here but f it is your only opportunity to experience a Ryokan then I would say go for it. I think we were very spoiled with the previous experience.

In summary, a clean and welcoming Ryokan with a good host. Somewhat tired and in need of some modernising in terms of things like futons rather than the traditional style but for me, i would not return.

Takayama itself is a great, quaint little town and the Ryokan has a superb location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the early wake up
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I am a travel professional specializing in Japan and was on a hotel inspection trip the fall. Tanabe Ryokan is very well-located (an easy walk, even with luggage, from the train station) and the proprietress is lovely. She was so very helpful and her command of English was quite good by Japanese ryokan standards. I often stay at and recommend very high end hotels and ryokans, so in that sense this ryokan is more moderate than others where I have stayed. The rooms are clean and spacious, however, and the public rooms are quite nice. Note that it is located in the city, so there are no gardens or onsen baths as might be found in those ryokans located outside of town. In this case, you are paying for access. We found the food delightful and abundant, although there is no choice for a western breakfast, so if fish for dinner isn't your thing, pick up some yogurt or pastries the night before at the convenience store two doors down. Also, unlike some of the more deluxe ryokans, the kaiseki was delivered in one serving, rather than having all courses served and cleared separately. We were in an upstairs room that was about a 12-tatami room with two sections and a private toilet/shower. For a bath it was necessary to use the public (gender-separate) bath. There was also a veranda area with chairs, something that I think is important for western travelers who are not accustomed to sitting on the floor for hours on end. It's a great place for families but if I were on a romantic getaway or a honeymoon, I'd splurge for a higher end ryokan in another town as Takayama does not have one comparable to some other destinations in Japan. The only real caveat -- if bathrooms are very important to you, I'd suggest chosing a western style hotel. The shower here was a little funky for my tastes - but I am very picky.

Note: three star rating is based on standard 5 star in the travel industry - e.g. Four Seasons Marunouchi in Tokyo is a 5 star!!

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of management
  • Disliked — A little rough around the edges on the cleanliness scale and slightly overpriced
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed at Tanabe Ryokan after reading good reviews from Tripadvisor. We stayed only one night and it was a very nice experience. Ms Akiko Tanabe welcomed us to her ryokan and we had a room with plenty of space and own bathroom and toilet (as requested beforehand). The whole staff was very helpful and location of the ryokan is excellent, in the center of Takayama.

This was our only night in a ryokan (other nights in western hotels) and liked it. Dinner and japanese breakfast were served to our own rooma and were a nice experience.

Ms Tanabe was extremely helpful and friendly as was rest of the staff. Japanese bath was also very nice.

  • Liked — service, location
  • Disliked — no internet connection
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

What a great place to stay! We really enjoyed our time at this fabulous ryokan in Takayama, and would whole-heartedly recommend it. It's a family-run guest house and we were warmly greeted by the charming Ms Tanabe who made us feel immediately at home. She was just delightful, and what we thought was a lovely touch was when we arrived back home to London we had a postcard from her thanking us for staying there!

The room we had was spacious and clean and the food was very good. The one thing I would say about the whole ryokan experience is that it's not something you should do if you fancy sleeping in late, as here (and at most ryokans) they serve breakfast at around 8.00am at the latest, and dinner is served pretty early as well (6.30pm), so it was kind of strange for us, but again it's fine for a few nights.

I would say that 2 nights in this town is sufficient, there is quite a lot to see and it's a very good place to chill out especially after a few crazy days in Tokyo. Overally we were extremely satisfied and would return if we had the chance.

  • Liked — friendly owners, good service, the baths
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Tanabe Ryokan is perfect for those who want to connect with japanese culture. Friendly staffs, Good food, Good place, Great japanese cypres bath in the women bathroom !
I would like to come back again !

  • Liked — Japanese Cypres bath - Food - Fire place
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Liked the look of this place and walked in to book a room. Were full that night but we got a room the next night. Great location, walking distance from the train station. Very nice traditional rooms, dinner and breakfast included and served in your room. Lots of space and nice bathrooms and a Japanese bath on the ground floor. Lovely lady runs the place and likes to practice her English. Not cheap but well worth if for the experience and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan Tanabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Tanabe

Address: 58 Aioi-cho, Takayama 506-0014, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Ryokan Tanabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanabe Ryokan Hotel Takayama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan Tanabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.