We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk,look, taste and photograph.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanmachi Suji

Sanmachi Suji
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Takayama
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three quaint streets comprise this popular neighborhood, tastefully dotted with alluring sake breweries, museums and miso shops.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Walk,look, taste and photograph.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent a lovely afternoon doing all of the above in the Sanmachi Suji. Lovely traditional buildings to admire and take that just-so photo, even more stunning with a fresh fall of snow. Locate the 3 story garages which house the floats that are not currently on display in the Float Museum. Read their story on the accompanying plaque. Pop into a cafe for a warm up coffee...any type, our preference cappuccino which is a little different in Japan with powdered cinnamon on top. Try sake in one of the many little breweries...some people have said on this site that there is a charge but we were never asked for one, perhaps because we bought some. Wandered into another warehouse type store and was offered miso soup to try. All the shops selling a fabulous variety of sweets and rice crackers offer generous samples to taste. Buy a ticket in a vending machine and present it at the stall selling hot croquettes.Wherever we went w encountered that unfailing Japanese politeness and helpfulness. One young woman, on seeing us looking at a map, stopped and asked where we'd like to go then took a walking tour map out of her bag and gave it to us. She waved us a cheery goodbye with a wish that we enjoy her town. The streets are easy to walk on which was great as I was a little wary having had a broken ankle some months earlier. This lovely town also has an abundant supply of clean, heated toilets with heated toilet seats which is such a welcome change compared to other countries. There so so much to see in this collection of heritage streets that we walked down one of them each day on our way back to our ryokan and saw something new. Don't be tempted to rush through and say I've done that. Stop and have another coffee and another people watch, ask to pat the cute dog waiting outside, have lunch in one of the many restaurants, relax and enjoy this lovely town and its friendly people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    131
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Aust
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely to wander the old streets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Like wandering the back streets of Kyoto, it's lovely to wander around here. We visited in winter, so it wasn't very crowded. Lovely to just look at the outside of houses and some of the more touristy shops. Very pleasant morning or afternoon walk.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A highlight of my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great streets, all old style with a high attention to detail.

best part is the food. It is easily the best you can get anywhere in Japan. There are plenty of beef restaurants. They were a major highlight of my holiday. Hida spicy beef soup was one of the best dishes I have had anywhere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“An absolute highlight in Takayama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wander the streets, enjoy the many souveneir shops, sake breweries, food stalls and quaint cafes, traditional restaurants, and people-watching. Enjoy Takayama delicacies such as Hida beef skewers and hida beef nigiri sushi, soy-sauce rice crackers and soy rice ball skewers). Admire the amazing preserved areas and the buildings, houses and shop fronts, the bridges and canals and walk-ways. It is truly breath taking and just something so special.
There is so much to see, smell, taste, enjoy, admire and buy! It's enjoyable throughout the day and regardless of the weather, and when the sun goes down and the merchant stores close, the streets are empty and perfect for photographers wanting to capture empty old streets.
You could probably rush it if you are limited for time and spend an hour and a half or so here, but if you've got some time, try a half day just wandering and exploring.
A must when in Takayama.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Even better than Kyoto's Higashiyama area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Old merchant houses, canals with running water alongside and vendors selling traditional Takayama delicacies (e.g. nigiri sushi with A5 grade Hida wagyu beef, Mitarashi-dango).

We spent almost every day of our stay in Takayama exploring these streets which were littered with old merchant houses with deep canals with running water lining both sides of the cobble-stoned streets. I loved this bit of Takayama. Compared to Kyoto's Higashiyama district it was so much more refined, less crowded, quaint and original.

It can be visited in an hour or so, but to truly enjoy it, set aside at least a morning to be able to leisurely stroll through these streets.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanmachi Suji also viewed

 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Sanmachi Suji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanmachi Suji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.