We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, antiques and warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sumiyoshi Ryokan to your Saves list
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
3.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   4 Hon-machi, Takayama 506-0011, Gifu Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
4.5 of 5 stars 163 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spacious room, antiques and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This ryokan is very near the start of the morning market. It has a very cute Japanese garden that overlook the river.


The room that we stayed in was very spacious, very big for Japanese standard. Even as compared to a standard hotel room, it could still be considered big! It's on the ground floor, it has three separate sections: the bedroom, living room and a tiny patio overlooking the garden. It was a lovely change from your run of the mill tiny rooms that you usually get in Japan!

Bathrooms are shared. It is traditional hot bath sort and we could have the whole bathroom for ourselves!

We ordered dinner in and were served plenty of food. The food was alright, we had better.

The highlight of the stay, other than the huge room, was the friendly warm hosts who entertained our 2.5 years old toddler and made us feel so welcomed in their antique ryokan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    38
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
101
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The property is beautifully decorated with antique items. Guest rooms are clean and comfortable. There were six of us and we got the whole floor with 3 rooms to ourselves. I got the room with the river view and en-suite bathroom and toilet. However, the shared bathrooms and toilets are very clean with easy access from the guest rooms. Hot tub are small but clean with all necessary amenities.

The food was delicious and with nice presentation, we were surprised it's home-cooked. The lady (there seemed to be only one person serving) who waited on us was very friendly and efficient. She also speaks English and tried to explain to us the way to eat Japanese food. She also helped us with the laundry and luggage.

The Inn is centrally located. The Morning Market is across the river from the hotel. The Home Preservation Area, the Floats Museum and historic streets are within a walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sumiyoshi Ryokan as two couples in two separate rooms, as soon as we arrived I knew this was going to be an experience I will not forget. The obasan welcomed us warmly, she was so lovely and friendly, her service singularly surpassed the service I've received anywhere else on my travels! The inn itself was really cute and interesting with heaps of knick knacks everywhere you looked, the building was over 100 years old, it was amazing to stay here. We only stayed one night but felt like we were being treated as if we were family, it was the highlight accommodation of our time in japan. Dinner and breakfast were served in a private intimate dining room, both were delicious. The obasan helped us with what was what and how to eat japanese breakfast properly. Although english was limited I feel this added to the charm and the owner was very lovely as well. I presented them with a gift for their amazing hospitality and received one in return which was so nice. When I return to takayama I will not look anywhere else for accomodation as sumiyoshi ryokan was perfect. The futons were warm and quite firm but comfy, no need to book room with the private ensuite as the ofuru/japanese bath was great and you can use it as a private couple bath. Just the right temperature and not scalding hot. I can't wait to go back one day, thankyou so much for your great service and hospitality, this inn is definitely worth the price you pay, don't miss out on dinner and breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This review is long overdue and I owe our wonderful hosts at Antique Inn Sumiyoshi an apology for not posting sooner. Antique Inn Sumiyoshi is a cheerful, centrally-located ryokan with all the comfort and hospitality that we’ve come to expect from ryokans in Japan. You are warmly greeted every time you enter and leave. The entire ryokan itself is charming, filled with numerous antiques (hence the name) in every nook and cranny. Our room with en-suite bath was spotless, with a marvelous view of the river running outside, and the mountains in the distance. Food in Takayama is no joke, and we had some of our best meals in Japan in this mountain town. We asked our hosts for a ramen recommendation and our adorable 80-year old caretaker was gracious enough to walk us across the street to a local noodle joint. I love ramen and eat it all the time, but this place had the best barbecue pork ramen I think I’ve ever eaten. My mouth still waters whenever I think about it. We wanted Hida beef one night and the ryokan’s dinner recommendation was absolutely spot on. Finally, the ryokan’s home-cooked dinners are also very special, as you get served a multi-course meal in the comfort of your own room. Other special memories of Takayama include:

-exploring the San-machi Suji historic district just a 5 minute walk away
-sake-tasting at the 6 intimate sake breweries located in the historic district
-walking the Higashiyama Hiking Course that leads through fields and the connects a series of beautifully preserved temples
-walking the Miyagawa Morning Market, just over the bridge from our ryokan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose this ryokan based on TripAdvisor recommendations and were not disappointed. This traditional merchant house was full of charm and character and was a great representative of the location. Close to the old city Area and local sights including morning markets. The hot bath was an awesome way to relax after a day of walking! This was a great couples retreat and the Japanese style meals were an excellent way to experience rural Japan. Try this place, you'll like it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engadin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time in the Sumiyoshi Ryokan. The owners a very friendly and helpful with a perfect service. We had two big rooms which beautiful sliding doors and a lot of space. It was very clean and couples could use the bath together.

The food is absolute fantastic. Make sure that you book your room with dinner and breakfast. They serve you a lot of local dishes.

We will definitely stay there again on our next trip in the japanese alps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Tucked away in a little alley right by the water, across from the morning markets, Sumishi is, in our humble opinion, a little gem. We haven't stayed in many proper or 'fancy' ryokans, so don't have a benchmark in that sense. However, we thought the place was very charming. It was quite cold, so the warm reception was very inviting indeed.
nicely laid out rooms (very big, we had separate spaces for sitting/eating and for sleeping!). The corridors and common areas were moodily lit and full of tasteful pictures and wall hangings and antiques. Our room (the cheapest, but with meals) looked out onto a tiny pretty garden, beyond which was the river.

We had access to shared toilets, which were spick and span any time of the day. The hot bath (which is shared but you can lock for privacy) was, to not put too fine a point on it, outstanding.The temperature of the water, the wood panelling, the pails and the showers made it wonderful. They provide shampoo, shower gel and a hair dryer. Of course, with the room you get towels, slippers, yakuta (robe) and two heaters to keep you snug.

We were looked after very well by the cheery old lady. Dinner, served in our sitting areas, was very well presented and quite a spread. It was a very tasty four course meal (though all courses are served at once). One of us is vegetarian, so we had made the request earlier, and there was a keen attempt to make vegetarian equivalents of the many courses, some of which were very tasty!

Our beds were made and unmade magically with us hardly noticing. It was raining when we left and they kindly gave us two umbrellas for our walk to the station.

This was the one night on our trip we splurged and we were quite happy with the place. Overall while we may not be able to compare it to other ryokans in the class, we thought it was warm, charming, comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sumiyoshi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumiyoshi Ryokan

Address: 4 Hon-machi, Takayama 506-0011, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#12 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumiyoshi Ryokan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional merchant house style Ryokan built in Taisho era. (1912)SUMIYOSHI RYOKAN located MIYAGAWA riverside and central TAKAYAMA city.Ideally located for sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Sumiyoshi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumiyoshi Ryokan Hotel Takayama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumiyoshi Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.