We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hida Minzoka Mura Folk Village (Hida no Sato)

Hida Minzoka Mura Folk Village (Hida no Sato)
1-590 Kamiokamotomachi, Takayama 506-0055, Gifu Prefecture
+81 577-33-4714
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Authentic homes moved from a nearby valley and preserved intact make this attraction a very special "open air museum."
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Its a short 10 minute bus ride from Takayama station... there are a number of houses from different regions still maintained in their original condition and says a lot about the ingenuity and culture at that time.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    145
    37
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great way to see traditional houses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

It is very nice to see that much different architecture styles and kinds of housing in one place. At every corner there is well prepared and really interesting information explaining how people lived in old times. You can easily spend half day just strolling around or take a easy and relaxed walk for one hour.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Must Visit experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Don't miss this experience of visiting these old Japanese farm houses which were moved to Takayama as a safer location. We spent about 3 hours wandering around this site which has been painstakingly restored - with the added benefit of the English translation. The setting is delightful around a lake and there are many old houses to inspect with a huge variety of designs and structures.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Take your time and enjoy the history of Hida no Sato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We walked from our accomodation to the village in the middle of winter. The village was quite magical with all the snow that was around. We spent quite a few hours looking at each house and reading all information about the families who had these houses so long ago. All information was in English as well as Japanese, so we were able to appreciate the value of this historical site. My daughter visited with a school excursion from Australia the year before and so we really wanted to see for ourselves. We were not disappointed. Our youngest daughter who was then 11 at the time also enjoyed herself. There is a lot to see and do so take your time and enjoy!!!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great landscape to walk with a lot of historical houses and their information. It's fun to walk around even someone who doesnt know and care much about their historical value like I am.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hida Minzoka Mura Folk Village (Hida no Sato) also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Hida Minzoka Mura Folk Village (Hida no Sato)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hida Minzoka Mura Folk Village (Hida no Sato), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.