We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and modern, but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel Takayama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Hotel Takayama to your Saves list
Best Western Hotel Takayama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Comfortable and modern, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during a trip round Japan. We paid $154/night (including tax) for an en suite double room with breakfast.

The Best Western Takayama is a pretty standard Western-style chain hotel. Apparently it recently underwent a renovation of all rooms (completed in October 2010), so some of the more negative comments from other reviewers about the decor and cleanliness of the rooms may not be 100% accurate anymore. Having said that though, I think it was a fairly superficial refurbishment in that the furniture etc did look a little dated and the bathroom had definitely not been replaced (it didn't look very modern).

However, the room was comfortable and clean. It included a desk work area, wi-fi internet access, fridge and an armchair. We were a little disappointed that the desk area was more like a dressing table with a stool than a proper business desk and chair.

The inclusive breakfast featured both Western and Japanese options. It included cereal, yoghurt, tinned fruit, pastries and juices/tea/coffee, plus Japanese items such as rice, miso soup, fish etc. We also ate in the hotel restaurant one evening, with no complaints (a lot of the restaurants in the town seemed to close in the evenings for some reason, although this was mid-week in November so possibly you wouldn't have the same problem at other times of year).

Best Western Takayama is located close to the station (about five minutes’ walk). A nice touch was the free laptop in reception for guest use (although you had to use it there ie you couldn't take it back to your room).

We actually also stayed in a ryokan for our first two nights in Takayama, and then moved here as my husband had some work to do and needed a Western-style desk etc for this. As such, the Best Western was perfectly adequate, although we preferred the ryokan. In summary, it was comfortable and modern, although a little overpriced I think. We stayed in another Best Western in Tokyo, and that was better value and more modern I think.

One tip is to go to the main Best Western website, and then 'Special offers' and 'International offers' as we found a cheaper rate here than on the hotel's own site.

Takayama itself is a great place to visit -- the traditional centres with its shops and sake breweries is lovely to stroll around, plus there are some interesting museums and peaceful walks round the outskirts of the town taking in a number of temples/shrines. We also took a day trip to Shirakawa-go, which was very picturesque and interesting.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    155
    53
    23
    3
See reviews for
79
153
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Convenient location a block from the railroad station (very easy walking distance). Very clean. Staff very helpful and spoke adequate English. Free secure WiFi (ask front desk for security code). Excellent American and Japaense breakfast buffet (bed and breakfast rate is a good deal). Evening meals in the hotel's "Kitchen" restaurant were, however, overpriced and unimaginative.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Small stuffy dirty room. mold in bathroom on floor and tub. breakfast poor quality food. Staff indifferent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msp
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

A clear cut above Japanese business hotels (but clearly not a luxury business hotel), I got a great rate direct on the bestwestern website which inclueded breakfast. Room was large, bath included a tub, free wireless interent, cnn in english on TV. Location is close to JR station, 10 minutes walk to the heart of the city.
Breakfast was OK -- offering a buffet mix of western and japanese items.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Nice rooms and convenient location. The price was reasonable compared to standard.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We booked the Best Western through their website with a pay one night, get one night free offer. This made it by far the cheapest accomodation choice for us in Takayama.

The Best Western is very close to the station and due to the fact that Takayama is quite small you can still easilly walk to the sights. Check in was smooth even though we were quite early and the room was quite large, with a huge bed. Even though the room was clean it was very... dated. The furniture shows a lot of wear and tear marks etc.

The batroom was a standard Toto pre-fab unit, however this was the only hotel in our trip to japan where it was not perfectly clean. The shower curtain was mouldy and fixtures like the phone were plain dirty.

There is a PC with free internet in the Lobby, there is no laundry service.

Given the rate we paid we were very satisfied with our stay as simplest B&B would have cost us more, however it is not a great hotel. So just watch what you pay for it but it can be a credible option in Takayama

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We loved this hotel. it is a great location - close to everything - especially the bus and train station. When we were there, there was a staff member with excellent English. He dealt with all the western customers and was unbelievably helpful. We asked for a few things and they were delivered to our room within about two minutes. The breakfast is excellent . We got better service here than the Hilton in Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Hotel Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Takayama

Address: 6-6 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#16 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Takayama 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Best Western Hotel Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Takayama
Takayama Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hotel Takayama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.