We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triple rooms do not exist!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel Takayama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Hotel Takayama to your Saves list
Best Western Hotel Takayama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Triple rooms do not exist!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are a family of 4 with a 1 yr old and 4yr old boy. This is the most expensive accommodation on our trip. I am disappointed. We booked this hotel because my husband wanted to sleep in a comfortable bed. The 'triple' room actually doesn't exist and so we are in a cramped room with 2 beds side by side, a camp bed and a cot. Minimal room to move. Very unimpressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    155
    53
    23
    3
See reviews for
79
153
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Despite this being the most expensive hotel of our entire trip, I cannot stop thinking of and raving about this hotel! I regret only that we only spent one night there!

- Location was great. It was literally 2 minutes straight out from JR Takayama station, a couple of steps away from the Sanmachi district and where the bus picks you up to visit the village. If you're there during the sake tour season, it is also only a few steps away!

- Right from the time we tried to make a booking, and enquiring about the hotel itself, the staffs were extremely polite, respectful, helpful and enthusiastic to do anything for us! They have a dedicated staff there who speaks English to help with foreign tourists.

She helped us with everything, from making sure we are comfortable, to coming up personally to help us utilise the TV (we were klutz) and gathering her colleague to stand at the front door because we were coming back from the snow and she was scared we would slip and fall!

- They have beautiful, albeit pricey, little fine dining restaurant downstairs. Be forewarned - there's no pictures in their menus. The staffs in the restaurant have limited English capacity. Even so, they tried to tell us what we were eating which was awesome of them.

If you want something cheaper, there are plenty of restaurants around there, including a really nice pub called Bepub just 2 shops or so away!

- Our rooms were huge, warm and very nice and comfortable. We went during winter and we had a blizzard that morning so all these were important. The rooms were clean and we had free internet.

The bathrooms were gorgeous and the tap water, as indicated by a small card there, indicates that it's fresh spring water from the mountains - so we could drink from it too :D

Both my partner and I loved this place, we had nothing but good memories of this hotel. I really hope to go back there one day :)

Room Tip: Call and talk to them - they are always willing to help! all the rooms are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Best Western Takayama, Japan is great! Perfect location, Service was sensational.

Included breakfast was great.

Beds were good.

Rooms clean and big enough.

Located about 300 metres from the station and the same from the old part of town.

Room Tip: Any Queen size room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel close to station eatery shops the best location
Hotel very clean rooms quite large
The Spa is open open after 1700 hours and only have 3 spas for ladies
The breakfast was a little sparse the run out of pasties at 7.30 and the do not have toast that I would have preferred

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in this modern hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious and clean. Of course it's a western style hotel with a lot of western tourists. We didn't mind after several stays in a ryokan! The beds were lovely.
The breakfast buffet has a lot of choice: western style and Japanese.
The hotel is two blocks away from the railway station, so easy accessible.
The staff is friendly and correct: as you should expect in this kind of hotel.
Recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were traveling on a JR Pass and appreciated the hotel's location close to the station. Takayama is small so it's within easy walking distance of all the attractions.

Clean and comfortable with helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

To start, the location is great when you arrive by train and have a lot of luggage with you.

The room cleanliness, the staff and the amenities were all up to standard during my latest stay here. The front desk staff was especially helpful in sorting out details related to my booking.

The breakfast has a wide selection of Japanese and western dishes.

The room was large, clean and comfortable with everything you need. Internet was free and worked flawlessly. The only remark (which I wrote down for them) was the awful plastic shower hose which would bend and stop the flow of water each time you moved the shower head.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to business travelers and people who want a comfortable, western-style accommodation in the beautiful little city of Takayama.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Hotel Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Takayama

Address: 6-6 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#16 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Takayama 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Best Western Hotel Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Takayama
Takayama Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hotel Takayama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.