We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel Takayama

Save Saved
You added Best Western Hotel Takayama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Takayama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6 Hanasatomachi, Takayama, Gifu Prefecture 506-0026, Japan (Hidatakayama Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 hotels in Takayama
Canberra
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is located quite close to the train station and bus station as well as being an easy walk to the major attractions. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Some were a reasonable size and some a little on the small size. I was travelling with my husband and 2 adult daughters and we had one double non-smoking room and one twin non-smoking room. The twin room was quite a good size but the double room was a little on the small size.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They suggested a great Japanese barbeque place, Ajikura (see separate review). It was my husband's birthday whilst we were in Takyama and the hotel sent a cake up to our room which was a very nice touch. He was really pleased and we certainly all enjoyed the cake.

The hotel also had free wifi.

We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it as a great base for visiting Takayama.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    107
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
57
104
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the railway station. As in all other hotels during this trip to Japan, all staff were extremely courteous, helpful and polite. Although the room was a modest size, there was space for our belongings. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom clean and more than satisfactory. Free wifi. One visit to the complimentary spa was a relaxing way to soak in hot water and relax after the cool April day outside. The hotel is very close to many popular tourist sights and restaurants. A lot of restaurants are nearby but perhaps arrange this earlier than later in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked a double room about 8 months ahead because it was the time of the big spring festival. However upon check-in we were told that the hotel had overbooked and we were asked if we would change to a different hotel, located out of town for our second night. They attempted to persuade us with the promise of an onsen (but we had already stayed at one 2 nights before) & also told us they would provide free taxis to get to and from town. However, as I had specifically booked this hotel for its proximity to the station and the town centre for the festival, I was not prepared to move. We ended up staying the 2 nights.
The room was a food size but smelt smokey. We had requested non-smoking but this could not be guaranteed. Other than this the location was great, breakfast was good and the spa baths were wonderful for easing sore muscleds at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were upgraded to a superior twin room when we arrived at this hotel which was a short walk from the railway station in Takayama. Breakfast was included in our room price and provided a variety of Japanese and western style breakfast. Staff were helpful and local sights were all within walking distance. Good value all round.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms for a good night's sleep. The hotel lacked any charm or individuality, but it was perfectly reasonable and I had no complaints. Spent two nights here and everything was fine; breakfast was included in the price and was sufficient. There was a mist room and jacuzzi which were nice after a cold day out sightseeing. The location is good - just a minute's walk from the train station, and then a further ten minute's walk into the old town. The hotel was quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel was a very short walk fro the station and quietly located off the main streets. Room was a large twin, overlooking the rear of the hotel, and was therefore peaceful. Took breakfast at the hotel -- modest selection of buffet items but entirely adequate. Staff were all very helpful and efficient. Recommend this hotel highly.

At the station, there is a good little coffee shop ("Scenery") which is run by the Takayama Assoc Resort hotel (part of the JR group). Good coffee, open from 8am to 6pm with a small selection of cakes, toast, small meals. Excellent and friendly service. Had excellent steak meal at Mieux restaurant in city centre.

Enjoyed a couple of relaxing days in this small city. The procession floats were spectacular.

Room Tip: We chose a twin room at the back -- good size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station. It is well managed. The room are spacious for japaneese standard. It has one restaurant where one can eat the famous Hida Beef. The breakfast buffet is rather simple both for werstern and japaneese selection. In the second floor there is a jacusi and a good foot massage place. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Hotel Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Takayama

Address: 6-6 Hanasatomachi, Takayama, Gifu Prefecture 506-0026, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Takayama
#6 Romantic Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Takayama 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Venere and Otel so you can book your Best Western Hotel Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Takayama
Takayama Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hotel Takayama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.