We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of Americana in Takayama” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Center4 Hamburgers

Center4 Hamburgers
94 Kami-ichinomachi, Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
+81 577-36-4527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 173 Restaurants in Takayama
4.5 of 5 stars 141 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Little slice of Americana in Takayama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fabulously done up with lots of American trinkets. Quite small with not many tables but space at the bar.

Service is amiable and attentive with the waitress speaking some English. (Clearly some communication issues with the previous reviewer as definitely not dishonest.) The staff were concerned about my pregnant partner being too close to a table of smokers and kindly offered to move us to a table away from them even though smoking is permitted inside in Japan. Much appreciated!

Cheese burger was tasty with fresh lettuce and tomato and the vegetarian burger isn't a burger but more of a salad sandwich. But thumbs up from my partner. Plenty of good fries and a fried chicken leg had well seasoned breadcrumbs and a hint of chilli.

Good selection of beer and Velvet Underground on the soundtrack. Ignore detractors - a pleasant distraction from Japanese fare in a traditional town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    27
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We craved a burger.. and it was the best burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Tasty burgers and wedges (not rubbish fries!) for a reasonable price. Friendly English speaking staff. Cosy atmosphere with great music. Overall fab!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Centre 4 poor service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We attempted to eat at centre 4 burger. However, due to the rudeness of the waitress we didn't even get a chance.

We went in, reserved a table as it was full and told to return in 10 minutes. Went for a walk, came back in 10, and the table had been given to another couple who came in immediately after us.

The waitress then gave us a convoluted story as to why the table was now occupied by another two people amd she gave away our reservation. The story involved a cash machine, credit cards and some previous customers and made no sense. Rather it was a transparent bulldust story for a fake excuse.

So I learnt one thing. The wait staff are dishonest and would rather lie and give an empty apology. Did not bother waiting another ten minutes, did not appreciate the dishonesty and left.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food in a quirky little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Really delicious burgers (cheeseburger and fish burger highly recommended!) the fries were potato wedges but tasted great and the beer wasn't too bad either. The restaurant itself has cool bits and pieces to look at, mostly associated with the states. To top it all off, johnny cash and June carter were playing! Definitely recommend this place if you are in. Takayama!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great choice - even for vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I went there a couple of times during our recent stay in Takayama. In a nutshell: The staff are very friendly, communication in English was a breeze and the food was delicious. Being a vegetarian myself, I was ever so happy to have discovered this little gem as their veggi burger - which basically consists of fresh vegetables and different salads in a bun -was such a treat. I honestly loved it! Clean, fresh, simple food without any messing about. My husband loved their cheese burger. Also, we were quite taken by the way this restaurant is run. Even tho the place was packed when we first visited, staff did not give the impression to be stressed or rushed but rather aired a real sense of calm. As the food and overall experience is great value for money, we can highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center4 Hamburgers also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Center4 Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center4 Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.