We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Kitchen Hida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitchen Hida

Kitchen Hida
1-66 Honmachi,, Takayama 506-0011 , Gifu Prefecture
+81 577-36-2911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 619 Restaurants in Takayama
Price range: $42 - $83
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Loved Kitchen Hida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is the best place to eat Hida beef. We ate A5 quality. It was more than delicious, it was excellent. And the pricing was reasonable, Our set menu was around 7000 yen (150gr. beef).
I recommend to make reservations. They have limited seating available.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great Service, Great Hida Beef, Great Sake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We went to Kitchen Hida last night and I have to agree with the other reviewers, it was the best beef steak I've ever had. It was so tender and juicy. We paid around 14000 yen for chef recommended menu for two (soup, rice/bread, salad, 400g grade A4 hida beef sirloin steak, coffee/tea) plus beer and cold sake.
The sake is called onikoroshi (means demon killer) and it tasted soooo good.
They were fully booked last night and we didn't have a booking, we were seated at the counter. From there, we had a clear view of the chef preparing our steak.
The waiter was very friendly and spoke english :)
All in all, it was a really good experience. Given the opportunity, I will go back there. So if you're in town, this place is a must try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best beef for our recent hoilday in Japan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our family of five spent 11 days in Japan end of December 2011, we were in Takayama for two nights , at Shirakawago and Tokyo. We tried many eating places and Kitchen Hida was by far the very best for Hida beef. We tried the grade A4 beef and it was the best piece of steak I had in my entire life.
When we arrived at Takayama we received a list of restaurants at the visitor center, there were three listed specialising in Hida beef, plus many other restaurants offering Hida beef as well, we tried all three, and Hida Kitchen was the best, nice restaurant, great service, the captain Mr Ohda spoke excellant English, near fine dining experience(without white table cloth), we were there for lunch.
For family of five it was about USD 100 per person, including a bottle of red wine. This is expensive but we would go again if we have the opportunity in the next few years.
For more information do visit the website.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Most magnificent steaks ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Great restaurant, but quite expensive. US$200 for two with wine.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen Hida also viewed

Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Kitchen Hida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitchen Hida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.