We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in a ryokan is not like a conventional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyado Koto no yume

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oyado Koto no yume to your Saves list
Oyado Koto no yume
4.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   6-11 Hanasato-machi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture (Hidatakayama Onsen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Staying in a ryokan is not like a conventional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This ryokan had all the conveniences and facilities that one has come to expect in hotels with the added feature of traditional Japanese hospitality. On arrival one dispense with one's outdoor footwear for slippers. One is kitted out with a kimono for personal use, with a request that it be worn for dinner. The kimono is relatively easy to put on for a man; much more complicated for a woman. In any case it is quite amusing to see how people have managed, the ryokan staff are available to assist to stop one being too outrageous.
Breakfast (Japanese or Western) and dinner are included in the cost, which I should add is certainly not at the low-end. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby, but it does extend to the rooms from time-to-time.
Location is brilliant because its a two minute walk to the station and only a few minutes walk to the Sanmachi area which is full of traditional buildings that have been preserved.

Room Tip: One word of caution. We requested an extra mattress just in case, and this turned out to be a very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    38
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Excellent ryokan experience, great accomodation, fantastic staff,amazing service and 100% clean!
It's worth the money if you want to see how japanese hospitality out of Tokyo is!I had a unforgettable stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over the spring festival in Takayama. Although we started looking 4-5 months ahead for a room, this was the only place I could find with an opening, so I was apprehensive about it being worth the cost. However, we ended up really enjoying our stay there. It is very close to the train station, which is great since we easily got there with our bags and the town is quite small so it's not a problem to walk from the station area anywhere else. We were on the 5th floor in a large room. When you get there, the hotel staff has you pick out a yukata (a light kimono) and encourages you to wear it around the hotel, such as to dinner. It was a little goofy to be dressed up like that but fun at the same time. Perhaps because of this sort of thing, there were a lot of foreigners there. I think it is fair to say they cater to the Gaijin clientele. That's not a bad thing though as a more traditional place would be more intimidating - my husband, who had never been to Japan before, especially liked it. The meals were very good and plentiful - the Japanese breakfast was very good. They serve a lot of the local beef and have local beer and sake (though alcohol is not included up front). They also have public and private baths - we tried the private (it is a small additional fee) and liked it. It is true that the cost was perhaps a bit high for the level of amenities - the decor, though traditional, was a bit lower in quality and the futons were not as nice or as comfortable as I have had at hotels in this price range in Japan in the past. Nonetheless we enjoyed the experience overall and would recommend it to those who are looking for a relaxed introduction to the ryokan experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Koto no yume, in 2 tatami rooms. The hotel is 2 streets away from the JR station, so very easy and convenient to get to, and a 10 minute stroll from the historic centre of town. It seemed to us to be a good choice for first-time ryokan guests or those not wanting the full-on ryokan experience; a combination of Japanese service and standards (shoe/slipper etiquette, excellent service, futon/tatami rooms) with Western hotel extras (private bathroom with tub, solid walls, dining room rather than individual room meal service and chairs rather than kneeling/sitting dining). The staff were lovely and the service friendly yet unobtrusive. The thoughtful extras, such as the loan of yukatas, padded jackets, scented oil burners and fluffy lap robes, and the excellent herb tea available free in the lobby in the evenings, were much appreciated. They are set up to cope with guests from abroad, and menus were presented to us in English, which was also a nice touch and helped us explore and enjoy the excellent cooking even more. We had breakfast in the ryokan and ate there both evenings and we very much enjoyed it, but there are plenty of restaurants close by in the surrounding streets if you want a cheaper or less elaborate option. The communal onsen was lovely, with an indoor and outdoor pool in the ladies' bath (my husband tells me the same was true for the men's section) and excellent changing and drying facilities well supplied with towels, hairdryers, lotions and potions. We didn't bother with the private onsen on the top floor, although the pictures looked nice and I'm sure it was equally clean and enjoyable. The booking sheet in the lift tells you which slots have been booked out for the private onsen and it was being used, so if you want it for a particular time it's probably worth reserving it early in the day.

It was a very expensive stay compared to the Western-style hotels we used on the trip, but we felt it was worth it for the experience and we would certainly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Ryokan with best English-speaking staff that I have encountered. A 5-storey Ryokan with common dining room unlike other Ryokans that usually have individual rooms for respective groups of guests. Each room given Japanese name that is also used to identify the assigned dining table. A State Flag also placed on the table so you know the nationalities of the guests. I had guests from Russia, UK, USA, Australia, Switzerland, Hong Kong, Japan as well as Singapore.
Room spacious, bathroom and toilet also reasonable sized.
The ground floor public Onsen is not very large, The outdoor one is even smaller (three's a crowd). Have to pay 1050 yen for the private onsen bath on 5th Floor.
Complimentary WiFi Internet access available only at the lobby area which has a Japanese-style fireplace. Various herbal tea also provided free at the lobby.
Hotel is a no-shoe area so very clean. Hotel provides slippers and keep your shoes when you enter the lobby. Yukata (for dinner and walk around) are changed daily. Japanese breakfast and dinners are excellent especially the HIDA beef. Western breakfast also available and the hotel staff will confirm your breakfast choices in the evening prior. Staff service very good.
Hotel not conspicuous but very close to the Takayama train station. Exit train station and head towards the Nohi bus. Cross the pedestrian crossing on the right of the bus station. Take the side street next to 'Family Mart' and the hotel is on left of 1st junction about 100m up the street (before Best Western hotel). Remember to collect English-language info for tourist from info centre in front of Takayama train station. Best to buy train tickets from ticket office instead of machine unless you are familiar Japanese train system. Made mistake once of buying HIDA Express ticket without basic fare but this was rectified onboard train by paying the train conductor.

Room Tip: 5-story hotel so not much outside view from the rooms. Hotel surrounding quiet so any room should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was definitely an unforgettable stay that we ever had.
Very authentic Japanese style roykan.
Staffs were extremely attentive and helpful.
The room was large with attached bathroom. The hotel provided a set of yukata for use in the room, and another colorful set for use outside of the room and hotel.
Both meal for dinner and breakfast were superb delicious.
It was raining on the day we checked out. The staff was very caring that given us umbrellas and asked us not to return those umbrellas and keep it just in case it rains on our destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at the Oyado Koto no yume for one night at the end of October during a 2 week trip through Japan. We drove to the hotel, and it was easy to find and get to with GPS. It was also located within easy reach of the town centre.

The hotel was tastefully appointed, and we noticed beautiful Japanese handmade washi paper art placed throughout the hotel.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. The room was large with attached bathroom, and the toiletries provided were of good quality. The hotel provided a set of yukata for use in the room, and another much more attractive set for use outside of the room and hotel.

The staff were extremely attentive and helpful throughout our stay. We had visited and helped clean an old house in Hida, and this was published in a local paper the next day.

After we had checked out of the hotel, the hotel staff recognized us from the picture published, and proceeded to mail a copy of the paper to us in Singapore! It was a very pleasant surprise indeed when we returned home.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyado Koto no yume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado Koto no yume

Address: 6-11 Hanasato-machi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Takayama
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyado Koto no yume 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koto no Yume is only 3minutes walk from Takayama Train Station. We are also within walking distance to old town district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Oyado Koto no yume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyado Koto No Yume Hotel Takayama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyado Koto no yume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.