We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Takayama Ouan

Save Saved
You added Takayama Ouan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Takayama Ouan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4-126 Hanasatocho, Takayama, Gifu Prefecture 506-0026, Japan (Takayama Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 hotels in Takayama
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is very close to the railway station and a short walk from the old part of town but the immediate area is not very appetising as it’s in a bit of an industrial zone, next to the railway tracks and close to busy roads. I was also wasn’t expecting a fairly new 11 storey hotel. Having said that the style of the hotel is unique, with the Tatami flooring and residents wandering around in traditional gowns. The rooftop baths are great, but only if you don’t mind going unclad. The best thing about this hotel is the food. If possible have dinner here. It’s fantastic. Breakfast is brilliant also. Downsides are small rooms and no Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    104
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
72
103
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm not sure you could go past this place for accomodation in Takayama. It is a beautiful Japanese style hotel with the tatami mats on the floor (so shoes are left in lockers in reception) and futons (but they are more like a mattress than a traditional futon and soooo comfortable) walking distance from train station and to the 'old houses' area of town. I might be a little biased because I fell in love with Takayama immediately - loved everything about it but I'm a little surprised that a reviewer has described the hotel as 'aged' - for me, nothing about it felt old or tired. The private baths are fun, but would highly recommend heading to the public baths which have an outside area....fantastic. Breakfast was great, although busy when we went down for 7.30am. We had a twin room. Rooms are certainly on the smallish side but not uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has some of the most comfortable rooms I've ever experienced. The beds are just right and unlike some hotels, the climate control system allows you to set the temperature to your liking. It's in a good location and Takayama itself has many nearby attractions but you can also eat right in the hotel: their restaurant's buffet has very good food with a wide selection for everyone's taste. Also the service is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Overall this is a good hotel, but as my sister said "a little aged". The location is great if you are planning to just use Takayama as your based to go to other parts of the area. That is it closed to the JR station and the bus station. But if you have older people traveling with you, as I did, it is a "little" hike to the main "town centre" of Tayayama.
Of course, we enjoyed the onsen on the top floor, the public and private (if you managed to get it), and the foot bath at the front of the hotel.
But just before you get to the hotel, walking from the JR station, there is a really yummy Hida Beef korean bbq restaurant, worth going if you are looking for a place to eat, especially for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

First of all, the hotel is walkable distance from the station. You can actually see the building from the station. Check your train time to Takayama is important as there are limited service. We booked the room with a meal but missed it after we missed the train.. but we phone them in advance and they kindly offer us some vouchers as a gesture, so we can dine in some selected restaurants as a replacement.
The room is very traditional. Huge bed. I love the sakura bed spread that they use. Its worth to try out their private bath which over look the city, again from body shampoo to hair dryer to hair oil are provided in the room attached with the bath.
Staff speak good English but not all of them are passionate to greet like other Japanese hotels. Breakfast was 5 stars, a must try! and they are happy to explain to you about every single dish if you are patience enough to learn them all.. Its normal to wear your Japanese gown to the breakfast place.
You can leave your luggage with them but they will only store it opposite the counter on the floor. Otherwise, there are plenty of pay-lockers in different sizes near the station. We use both and its ok, nothing went missing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A great hotel. Reasonably sized rooms by Japanese standards- very comfortable rooms with windows you can open.
This hotel's main attractions is it's top-floor onsens. A women's indoor and outdoor onsens and onsens for men too. There are also 4 private onsens - small but delightful and the perfect relaxation after a long day trekking in Kamikochi in the Alps. There is a women only floor too. . Cotton Jackets and trousers are provided to wear to and from the onsens and can be worn throughout the hotel.
The only inconvenience here is that the entire hotel is floored with tatami matting. This means you need to take your shoes on/ off at reception. They provide a shoe locker which is a bit silly because obviously you'll have more than one pair of shoes in your luggage. Apart from this minor inconvenience it's a delightful place to stay.
You need to look around to find good places to eat and drink in Takayama but there's a couple of Isakawa's very close to the hotel. Otherwise it's a 15 min walk into the main part of town.
Would certainly stay here again - close to Takayama train and bus station - perfect for those day trips to explore the alpine area.

Room Tip: Try the women only floor if you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Thanks to TA community's advice, i booked this hotel n stayed for 3 nites at an ave of 24300 yen per nite. Frankly takayama itself isnt much. We weren't into shrines and the shops at san machi all close v early ( hey, coming from kyoto where we were a day before, Takayama is so boring in comparison!) n the morning market along the river was nothing much to see in May when we went. BUT takayama is a gd base for Shirakawago the unesco village ( a 4-5 hr trip) n a gd jumping point to visit Kamikochi ( a really stunning place to visit- 1 hr n 15 mins of Nohi bus to Hirayu onsen n another 25mins bus to Kamikochi) which is another day trip . I recommend staying here at least 2 nights. Why ? It's 5 mins' walk to the railway station n Nohi bus terminus (everywhere in the alps, u hv to take the nohi bus) and the onsen experience at this hotel was very gd personally because of their private onsen (only 3 here, at various sizes) which u dont need to reserve - but on a first-come-first-serve basis- plus the complimentary noodles ( at 10,30pm onwards so keep awake!) were quite delicious. But the private onsen was the main reason for us. I dont know what others think but to have the private onsen to yourself is v enjoyable. At my previous experience in Hokkaido when we had the private onsen in our bedroom, we paid more than USD $500 a nite! I see quite a lot of foreigners staying here but dont be fooled to think the staff speak or understand English. They don't , not even very basic English so it can b v v frustrating if u need help with trips, so come prepared to know where u are going or have names written down in Japanese. This is the downside to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Takayama Ouan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Ouan

Address: 4-126 Hanasatocho, Takayama, Gifu Prefecture 506-0026, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Ouan 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Takayama Ouan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Ouan Hotel Takayama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takayama Ouan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.