We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Red

Save Saved
You added Hamilton Red to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton Red
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-7-5 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Last week stayed at Hamilton Hotel Red at Nagoya for two nights. The staff were extremely kind and helpful. We arrived three hours before check-in time, but instead of making us wait they made sure that the room would be cleaned as soon as possible. 15 minutes later we were in our room unpacking our things.

The twin room and its bathroom were spacious, well decorated and very clean. The price was also very reasonable. The location of the hotel is very good and the metro entrance to Higashiyama line, which gives you access to the places in Nagoya you want to see, is very close.

Within a few minutes walking distance there is also the Nagoya Science Museum which is well worth seeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
15
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The room was very clean and new. No view, but that was to be expected, and not a big deal.

All amenities were of a very a high standard, no faults at all.

We had breakfast included both mornings, which was also great, with generous portions and simple delicious food.

The hotel is located near convenience stores and a number of restaurants, and it is only a short walk to the nearest subway station. Location wise, no problems.

The only thing I could suggest that would be an improvement would be if there were computers available so guests could check email or use the internet.

Would certainly stay again, and look forward to visiting Nagoya in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights during our trip in Japan in order to commute to the grand prix. We were thrilled with the hotel. Friendly reception staff who were very helpful, clean and spacious rooms (with proper bathrooms - compared to the port-a-loo ones we've come accross). I haven't got a bad word to say about this hotel and would be back there if we visit nagoya again.

The only confusing thing that you might want to know is that there are two hamiton hotels in nagoya. they are sister hotels- and both have been rebranded recently.

Hamilton Red = the Hamilton hotel
Hamilton Black was the Hamilton Annex Hotel.

We ended up at the wrong one for check in and they were very helpful.

We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. But check in and out htey were more than helpful and they give you an LAN cable for internet if you have a laptop. Free!

All in all, fantastic hotel in a fantastic location. Right inbetween Fushimi station and Sakae so you can commute either way or just walk. Only a 5 min walk or so to Sakae to all the shops (but don't get lost i nthe underground bit - ) and there's a very nice bakery on the main road in sakae with red awning above the door (sorry forgot the name). We also went up the TV Tower which was brilliant. well worth it.

Directions: If you're getting into nagoya station, use the subway to Fushimi station and come out of exit 5. This brings you out onto the main road. Go to the end of the block and take the first left by the softbank shop. Keep straight and after a few blocks you're at hte Hamilton Red. Easy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Hamilton hotel is not one of those high-rise commercial hotels but it was a perfect accommodation for our 5 nights in Nagoya. We found this hotel in Tripadvisor and through the help of a Japanese friend who kindly went through hundreds of reviews on a Japanese travel website and finally recommended Hamilton Hotel to us.

PROs
-For the price we paid, rooms are spacious, modern, super clean, tasteful with big bathroom for a Japanese standard.
-Location is superb. Though a bit walking distance from Fushimi station (3-5 mins), we could easily walk to Sakae (10 mins) for shopping and dinning. We hardly used metro and spent most time walking to and from the hotel.
-Convenient stores were plenty. A big family mart can be spotted right across the hotel. Reputable restaurants are located within 800 meters radius. We literally walked to all our lunches and dinners.
-The front desk was very helpful. Most staff couldnt communicate with us but one male staff could and his English was fluent. He was on duty most of the time, so try to catch him for restaurant recommendations and directions - very informative.
-Free in-room highspeed internet throughout our stay.

CONs:
-Breakfast was not value for money. If you are not fussy, get yourself a quick breakfast from one of the convenient stores. Wide range of choices to choose from.
-Hamilton is a boutique hotel, so dont expect it to be fully facilitated like other five-star hotels.
-NagoyaTaxi was expensive. If you have big luggages, save your energy for those flights of stairs and long walkway at Fushimi station. Otherwise, you must be prepared to pay premium for taxi to and from the airport.

All in all, we were ever so satisfied with our stay. We had a tough time choosing the right hotel for our trip as many of the decent Nagoya hotels out there are either too expensive or too old for our liking. We must also thank the staff for letting us check in at 3pm although we actually paid for the late check-in promotion rate (7pm). If you can read Japanese, try booking with the hotel directly on their Japanese website, they give better rates there and it was worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at Hamilton Hotel 12-14 Aug 2008, and it was a satisfying stay tho a bit pricey.

(A) Plus
* The rooms are spacious & clean, & decor looks quite new.

* Only short walk to the nearest subway, with 24/7 convenience store just across the road.

(B) Negative
* the price is a bit costly, and we paid slightly higher than the advertised rate (22,000 Yen for 2 nites) due to the O-Bon holiday

* No free internet service at the lobby

hope this helps.

  • Liked — spacious, clean & modern rooms
  • Disliked — the costs compared to the limited facilities
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

I arrived very late in Nagoya and have pretty much no idea of where to stay. I headed straight in the direction of the lights to find some dodgy hotels (lets just say they rent rooms for hours and not days) and walked around the city worringly thinking I was gonna end up having to choose between the Hilton or the street. I end up walking down to the city's finantial district and found a very chic hotel called Hamilton in Sakae, Naka-Ku. I entered at around 01:30 and requested a room. The spoke no english whatsoever but kindly took my luggage to the very chic, clean and.. gosh, it just looked like heaven to me under tha cincumstances!. I paid 12.000 yens which is not specially cheap comparing to the hotels I had stayed at in Tokyo (in Ueno, a more traditional part of Tokyo with affordable family-run riokkans) and had a live-saving bath and slept in on of the most confortable beds my bones have met. Next day I left the room rested in a beautiful sunny summer day to find myself in the very vibrant finantial district area and things looked god as I enjoyed a coffee in a cafeteria's terrace.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamilton Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Red

Address: 2-7-5 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station , Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Red 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Rakuten, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hamilton Red reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Hotel Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Red, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.