We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice of stay for train travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meitetsu New Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Meitetsu New Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-9 Tsubaki-cho, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 453-0015, Aichi Prefecture (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 stars 70 Reviews
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good choice of stay for train travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Japan since we fly in and out from Nagoya. We were given 2 double rooms (as per booking request) on the same floor next to each other.

The rooms were not new but were well maintained and clean. It has all the basic toilet amenities and were comfortable for short stays. Breakfast is included in the room rate and the spread is quite good. There is also a bakery in the hotel.

The hotel is situated opposite the Nagoya train station and thus is convenient for all train travellers. There is a 24 hour convenient store behind it with a small grocery store nearby. There are also restaurants and eateries nearby for meals.

Overall, the stay is not bad and it will be a good choice for those who want to stay near train station and public transport.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    30
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
13
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Stayed one night at the Meitetsu New Grand on our first night in Nagoya. The hotel is not new, but is clean and well maintained. The location is good, being near the station and shopping. The room was large enough for a business hotel, and the beds were comfortable. The rate included a breakfast, which was more than a continental. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Only complaint was no free internet service for guests. There was a pay terminal in a sort-of phone booth, that I found hard to use. All in all a good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Stayed here in business - good location as it is super close to the main train station. So you have lots of shopping and restaurants close by.

The rooms were pretty small (single) but they were clean.

Negatives:
- no gym
- hotel restaurant wasn't great so do yourself a favor and dine elsewhere
- noise from the trains as you are close to the station

In summary, a functional hotel good for the business traveler. I would not recommend it for vacationers unless you want something that is convenient and no frills.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

This hotel is basically a few steps in front of the Nagoya Station, in which we arrived by Shinkansen at.

We arrived earlier than usual, thus had to leave our luggage at the concierge. However, the staff was unable to find our luggage when we return to check in. Probably was give a REALLY BIG room then. Maybe all the rooms are spacious one.

Service was alright, the usual Japanese way. Would recommend it as the location is very good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meitetsu New Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meitetsu New Grand Hotel

Address: 6-9 Tsubaki-cho, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 453-0015, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meitetsu New Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Meitetsu New Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meitetsu New Grand Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meitetsu New Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.