We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunroute Plaza Nagoya

Save Saved
You added Sunroute Plaza Nagoya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-35-24 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0002, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #65 of 138 Hotels in Nagoya
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient to Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here fir 2 nights as part of a group, chosen for the proximity to the JR station as we were going on a day trip to Toyama and then on to Sakaminato to catch the ferry to Vladivostok. We did not find the city or hotel set up for tourists more of a business hotel. On the Thursday there was a reasonable restaurant in the hotel but this was closed on Friday night and there were not many places to eat nearby other than at the railway station. We had a small room with an outlook onto a small courtyard completely surrounded by high concrete walls, it would have been dark and dingy if we had been spending much time in the room. The bathroom was very small and so cramped, the sink plug was worn out so the universal plug we brought to use in Russia was pressed into service. Interesting walk around the hotel but too far to walk to the Pagoda. Best thing we did was go up to the top floor of the Station/hotel building and have tea seating at a table which looked directly out the window, Nagoya spread out before us, expensive but well worth the experience. As usual in Japanese hotels, slippers and robes and bathroom amenities were included.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are larger and some have small balconies but more traffic noise. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    39
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
3
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Use sakuradori exit but once exited go down staircase right in front and use underground pathway to reach exit nearest to hotel. I think it is exit A1. Once exited A1, you are at a main road, turn right walk pass a few convenient store hotel is on your right. Can use mainroad also once exit from jr cherry exit but dusty and heavy traffic may bother your walk especiallu if you are dragging your luggages with youngs or elderly.
Wifi in room only once you are out of your room you can't access it.
Twin Room is just enough size for luggage and one person walking pathway and toilet is too small in my personal view. But amenities, cleanliness and staff are great!
I send my luggage (in the morning 1day before check out day) using hotel's luggage delivery service costs only RM43 bucks to tokyo hotel sunroute shinjuku. All worth it as it save my strength for continuous travelling. Luggage arrived even before I reach the hotel for check in.
Check out branded shopping LV etc..opposite jr nagoya stn and takashimaya inside the stn since it is within your eyesight. Also when are walking using undergrd pathway as mentioned above when reaching exit A1, look for the yakitori cafe bar that advertise 80yen only per stick of yakitori. It surely fulfill your taste bud for dinner. Spend your lunch time there too as their smooth and chewvy udon and the tasteful teriyaki rice don is 2nd to none for its price. I think it is only yen500-600 per bowl.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in this typical Japanese business hotel for a night in March 2013. It is near Nagoya JR station with a 10 min walk with luggage, locates at the main road (which means you can find it very easily).

It is small but the size is okay in Japanese standard actually (bigger than another chain business hotel I stayed in Kanazawa). The lobby looks nice and the room is clean and functional. I booked the hotel at a very reasonable price too.

I recommend Sunroute Hotel to all if you are fine with Jap business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It is very close to Nagoya station, so access to any part of the city is very convenient, as you can get train, bus and cab.
The room have enough space, cannot say spacious but enough space. Has all the regular Japanese standard amenities of hot pot, green tea, dryer etc.
There was a single window with not much view which has also become standard in big cities in Japan.
Bathrooms are again compact, but this has become the standard size in Japan, so cannot complain. They have bathtub and a GREAT shower. Really enjoyed the shower. What was good was the amount of complimentary extra stuff they have supplied in the bathroom was very fulfilling.
Maybe because we were in a group we had a buffet style complimentary breakfast. It had a nice variety and very satisfying. They served the breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor.
As for the stay it was very pleasant and had no problem.
This is pretty standard place according to Japanese hotel standard and wouldn't mind staying here again.
Nothing that unique and extraordinary compared to other hotels that I have stayed in Nagoya.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Easy to find and close to Nagoya Station. The hotel itself follows the settings of the other hotels in the Sunroute chain: They are simple, clean, and straightforward no-frills business hotel. Simple check-in and check-out (at the right times).Helpfull staff, speaking good enough English to help you around. This particular Sunroute hotel is still very fresh and holds quite a good standard. Keep in mind that this is NOT a luxury hotel, but a business class hotel. That means no concierge and no room service. As usual in Japan there are lots of vending machines and convinient stores closeby. All rooms have both wired and WI-FI in all rooms and are FREE OF CHARGE. All-in-all a great value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed in a twin room for one night in April. Nice crisp design. Clean room. Foot light underneath the desk but won't affect your sleeping quality. You got everything you need. Cute little water-boiler kept on a pull-out tray. Breakfast cafe OK. Convenient stores near hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

covenient for JP and nagoya metro, not bad biz hotel, small room but cozy.
2 metro stations from night/entertainment area

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunroute Plaza Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunroute Plaza Nagoya

Address: 2-35-24 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0002, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 138 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunroute Plaza Nagoya 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Rakuten, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sunroute Plaza Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunroute Plaza Nagoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.