We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price at a reasonable convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b nagoya

Save Saved
You added the b nagoya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b nagoya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-15-23 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan (Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Reasonable price at a reasonable convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The location is 10 odd mins from Sakae station and Sakae is 2 stops from Nagoya centre so it is reasonably convenient.

Hotel is clean and check in is a breeze. No wifi in room though, you would surf internet in the lobby with your i-devices or use the 2 computers available. You would need to walk perhaps 15 mins to go to the food, shopping streets but the selection of meals are aplenty.

Room is secure and quiet and toilet is clean. Adult films available on tv though you must buy the tv cards from the vending machines by the common lift area. All in all simple and nothing much to complain really. =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the time to review the b nagoya.
I was delighted to hear that you were happy with our location and room.

Currently we are planning to upgrade the wifi service in spring and would appreciate your patience and understanding. As for TV service, you can see CNN for free of charge, and with the TV cards we offer programs such as movies and international TV dramas.

Thank you again for choosing us. We all look forward to see you again at the b nagoya.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    137
    33
    6
    0
See reviews for
37
41
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My choice for staying in Nagoya came down to the Chisun or the "b", and I believe I made the right choice with the latter. A friend stayed at the Chisun and said it was too noisy, but we had no such trouble at the "b".

The room at the "b" was clean, and we may have lucked out with a top floor corner, as it came with a view and may have been more spacious than others (judging by other reviews on this site). The location is great, quite close to Sakae Station's underground mall area, and only a few minutes from Nagoya Station on the subway.

The only negative for me was the shower pressure and inconsistent water heat. This may be partially due to being on an upper floor, but I missed the usual hotel-stay pleasure of relaxing under a hot shower--too busy adjusting the temperature.

The breakfast buffet was nothing special, but it filled me up and is worth it if you just want fuel for wandering.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your generous comment on the b nagoya.

I was disappointed to hear however about our shower. When Group guests happen to use showers at the same timing, the water pressure and temperature of showers might be affected and temporarily become unstable. I take this opportunity and check showers of all rooms.

Thank you again for your time for the precious review and we look forward to your next stay.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

the rooms and bathrooms are very small. Good location 5 min walk from EXIT 13 of Sakae station, 2 stations from Nagoya station. It costs around 1200 yen to the hotel from Nagoya ST. There are many Department stores on the other side of the street and many small, good restaurants behind the hotels. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the b nagoya.

Good location is one of our strength and I was delighted to hear that the quality of our staff's service exceeded your expectation.

As for room size, we offer various sizes of rooms from 14m2 to 22m2. Superior Double and Superior Twin rooms are larger rooms so may I recommend you to try these rooms next time.

We look forward to your next visit to Nagoya.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location is very convenient: several department stores are just on the opposite side of the park and 2 blocks from the subway. We arrived by train and took taxi (10 minutes ride) from the station but went back using the subway. Overall I quite enjoyed Nagoya after spending some time in the very touristic Kyoto (we were in Japan during the Sakura season).

The city feels authentic and lively, but it's still relatively compact compared to for example Tokyo.

The hotel itself is pretty standard and it aimed towards business travelers and people who don't aim to spend a lot of time in the hotel. The rooms are quite small and plain. Receptionists spoke pretty fluent English and were very helpful (for example recommended a very good and affordable sushi place nearby).

The lobby was actually quite nice and they offer complimentary drinks and Wi-Fi there. Breakfast was also a positive surprise with decent Japanese and European offering.
We paid around 82 EUR per night and think it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for you for your positive comment on our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Nagoya. Our hotel focuses on providing a comfortable space for our guest to come back and relax during their visit to this fascinating city Nagoya.

We all hope you will come back again and stay with us.
Again, thank you for the time to review the b nagoya.

Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here end of Sep/early Oct and like many of you I have been reading tripadvisor reviews before going to the hotel to understand what I would be expecting. Certain photos posted left me the impression that the rooms were relatively spacious. However upon arrival, we were given a very compact (Tokyo?) sized hotel room where there is only room to walk and the two beds put together against the wall.

If you're planning to bring a big suitcase for your trip perhaps you may need to request/book a bigger room.

Other than that, the staff were courteous. Although most of their appeared to speak acceptable fluency of English, they might have had trouble interpreting our request and changed our room with our belongings moved without us being informed (a different working cultures I suppose?). It wasn't a big deal for us nor were we upset, but it certainly surprised us a little.

The location is good. It's opposite to many department stores and near to some of the main shopping places and just 2 stops to Nagoya Station. There is a convenience store just downstairs so you will never be starved (we were there during a typhoon!)

Will I stay again? Hmm... gotta think that through.

Room Tip: Non-smokers, make sure you state that you want a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
齋木 国夫, 支配人 at the b nagoya, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the time to review the b nagoya.

Our hotel offers 3 types - single, double and twin rooms. One of our hotel's concept is to provide our customers a bed room for comfortable and relaxing sleep, so the size of the bed(s) in guest rooms are all semi-double (W1200mm) or larger ones. This arrangement may result in smaller free area in a room. The sizes of the rooms are on our HP. Please refer to this information for your reference. We would appreciate your understanding. Thank you.

As for the room change arrangement, I sincerely apologize for miscommunication by our staff. We do inform our house guests in advance if our staff is to move their luggage. I have advised all staff to ensure this would not happen again.

Thank you again for your precious comment.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Walking distance of Metro station this business hotel is in a good location. The staff were very helpful with good English. Room very small but clean. The laundry room is very useful if you are on a long trip. The washer/driers can be programmed for a 4 hour cycle allowing you to see the sights of Nagoya. We used the luggage forwarding service throughout Japan, £12 for one medium suitcase, very useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
齋木 国夫, 営業ディレクター at the b nagoya, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

All of our b hotels are in good locations offering great access to the most of attractions and restaurants in the area. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the b nagoya.

We provide a variety of services to make your stay comfortable including the laundry room you mentioned, coffee station and internet corner in the lobby etc. And as you highlighted, we also assist to arrange the delivery service (Takkyu-bin) which is now one of the well-received services in Japan among travelers with many/heavy luggage.

We hope you will be back and stay with us again.


Best regards
Y. Saito
on behalf of Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was a guest at The B Nagoya for two nights recently and I was very satisfied with it. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. They staff were very helpful (helped me ship my luggage to Narita and stored some other bags) and spoke English well. The internet service (wired) was fast and effective. The hotel also has a Lawson convenience store in the basement. The Nagoya subway is about 2 blocks away.

The hotel could stand to renovate their bathrooms. I stayed in two different rooms and both of them had pitted sinks in the bathroom...it wasn't a huge issue because the bathrooms were clean but seemed out of place in this otherwise nice hotel.

I would still recommend this hotel. I thought it was a good value in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b nagoya, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b nagoya".

We are pleased you found the hotel suitable for your stay in Nagoya. As you have highlighted, the hotel is only a short walk from the Nagoya subway line that connects directly with the Bullet Train station. The hotel also is ideally located for shopping, dining and entertainment.

We appreciate your feedback on the bathrooms and we are currently working through a plan to refurbish the bathrooms.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b nagoya

Address: 4-15-23 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#15 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b nagoya 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelsClick, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), JAPANiCAN, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your the b nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
b Hotel Nagoya
The b Hotel Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b nagoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.