We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Nagoya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Nagoya Castle

Save Saved
You added The Westin Nagoya Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Nagoya Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 451-8551, Japan (Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Nagoya
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in Nagoya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was in Nagoya on business for 3 nights and we were booked into the Westin Nagoya Castle. In the past, I've usually stayed more in the center of town, but this was an interesting change. The hotel is excellent, with good sized rooms, a very good Japanese and Western breakfast, and very quiet. The service was excellent- as you would expect from the Westin chain, and being able to walk to the castle was fun. The only downside was getting to a subway stop- it was a bit of a walk- and we got caught in a downpour. If you know Nagoya and the main business and entertainment district, this is a bit off the beaten path. If you're going to Nagoya to relax and leisurely see the city and its amenities, this is a great place to stay. And, the soap in the rooms is great!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors way from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    117
    59
    13
    4
See reviews for
47
47
54
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed 3 nights and was given 2 castle view rooms. Beautiful view especially at night whereby the castle is lighted up against the night sky (photo taking moment). Room is of reasonable size but bathroom/WC is crammed and there is no complimentary bottled water which we were not awared of so we took the ones in the fridge and was charged for them. The beds are comfortable and there are 3 sizes of pillows on each bed (spoilt for choice )

Hotel is 20 mins away from Nagoya Station, they do provide shuttle bus to/from hotel but at hourly intervals which is a little too long and also it does not start early (about 10am I reckon). Usually we walked to the subway in the morning which is about 20 mins away and got on the last 8pm shuttle bus to return to hotel.

All in all is an average hotel and if you want to get away from the city then this is the right hotel but if you want to move around Nagoya it is rather inconvenient.

Room Tip: Make sure is castle view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Overall this is a very nice hotel to stay, there is also shuttle bus provided hourly from Nagoya JR Station to the hotel, the castle view Room was great, you may wake up early in the morning, and see the very first sun rise coming out in your own guest room.

only one thing which we are not pretty satisfied, as there arent any complimentary Drinking Water/Mineral Water, and Coffee/Tea provided in Room.

We had informed the front desk, and surprising had been told that, you need to pay... or unless i do not understand what are they trying to tell me, but.. overall, this is a great hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It is not easy to book this hotel because I basically select hotel based on location. Westin brand is one of the reason I decided to book. Fortunately, I picked the right choice. They have free shuttle service to citycenter both pick up and drop off. On top of that, I felt resort lifestyle here in Nagoya. I walked around the Nagoya castle both early morning and late evening to feel the fresh air, relax from busy working date. It is perfect memory in Nagoya that make me feel differece from Tokyo and Osaka during this business trip. The room size is great comparing to Japan hotel. If you expect huge room size like other hotel in Asia, you will never find it in Japan anyway, but westin heavenly bed and Nagoya castle view kept me warm and slept well all night with Mizo Nagoya beer. I would suggest if you care about difference experience duirng business trip.

Room Tip: Request Nagoya Castle view, make sure that you manage your time to walk around in the early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Thành, null, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The best hotel i've stayed during my vacation in Japan. Reserved a standard room with no view but was upgraded to a better room with direct castle view with absolutely no surcharge. Spacious room with modern feeling and fully-equipped. They even provided a map for morning run in the surrounding area, impressive. Efficient staff but not really friendly though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Its the surprising factor of all. Room is so small. Breakfast is nice but majority Non Halal.

Do not miss Gujo Museum and Gujo Castle. These are the must visit places

Hotel has a very nice interior indeed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel.



I am sorry to hear of your experience regarding our guest room.

As offering a little more large and spacious rooms

where we are sure you feel more comfortable and relaxed,

we would recommend you to book them for your return.



Just for your information, Nagoya Castle and Tokugawa Museum are also

must-see sightseeing spots, we truly recommend you to visit there next time.



Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights recently for a business trip and it was very comfortable - the room was small but the bed was comfortable, staff spoke good English and the general service level was very good. The hotel was originally a local 'Japanese level' hotel but now with a Westin franchise, rather than a hotel that started as a Westin hotel so the furniture, finishings and amenities in the room and common areas may not seem to be the same standard as other Westin hotels around. The view and location of course was second to none for visiting Nagoya castle and the walk around the moat of the castle can be very pleasant.

The only slight downside meant that it was far from town (relatively) and the convenience stores, dining, shopping, etc, although the taxi is a short 15 min ride into the city. I would recommend for tourists a short 1 night stay here to visit the castle, but if staying longer, you may find it a bit isolated from the conveniences of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle this time.

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments.

All of our associates strive every day for ensuring we are able to offer clean comfortable guest room,

accommodate guest’s personal needs, and they feel like being at home.


It is a shame that you felt our location inconvenient, but instead we would like

to practice our best possible service for our valued guests to be satisfied with their experience at our hotel.


Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Nagoya Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nagoya Castle

Address: 3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 451-8551, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nagoya Castle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, JAPANiCAN and Venere so you can book your The Westin Nagoya Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Nagoya Castle Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Nagoya Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.