We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are so helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Tokyu Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nagoya Tokyu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 10 more sites!
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-6-8 Sakae, Nakaku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 137 hotels in Nagoya
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Staff are so helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

On my previous trips to Nagoya I stayed at the hotel at Nagoya station. This time I stayed at this hotel which is located near Sakae subway station, which I found quite convenient and not so crowded. There are so many shops and restaurants near this hotel. The roomis so very clean. But what impressed me most was the friendliness and helpfullness of the hotel staff. They would try to answer all your questions about directions, openning times etc. Great for foreign visitors.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    160
    45
    15
    4
See reviews for
46
42
59
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed late December 2012 in two Superior Rooms. My mistake is I did not research long enough for a good hotel when I booked online.

Location is bad... surrounding areas are dirty and gave us a feeling of discomfort when we walked outside. Hotel is old and must be renovated. Rooms are small especially the bathrooms. Television had 2 English channels only which left us with no choice but to keep on paying to watch English movies.

First of 2 major turn offs. I wasn't aware that breakfast is served only up to 9:00am (there was a small sign at the entrance which I didn't notice). When I came down at 8:30 on December 30, I wanted to relax, enjoy a cup of coffee first and read the paper. An old man (he was the only male server that time) approached me at 8:40 and asked if I will have breakfast. I said yes. He said I should start eating because they are only open up to 9am (while tapping at his watch). I wanted to slap him with the newspaper. How rude can you be? And what decent hotel will serve breakfast until 9am only? Anyway, guests kept on coming up to almost 10am and they didn't have much of a choice but to accommodate them. But each time someone would walk in, this old waiter will look at his watch... and keep on looking at his watch every now and then. He was so ANNOYING!

Second major turn off, our family went to the Japanese restaurant at 7:20pm on the second floor on our last night. Another old man was at the reception and told me that they're full. I said we can wait. He repeated that they're full (almost gave me a feeling that we're not wanted there). I informed him that we're in-house guests of the hotel and we can wait in our room. That was the only time he checked and told us to return at 8:30. At 8:00 he phoned us in the room and said a table is ready for us. We immediately went down because we were starving. Guess what? The restaurant was half empty (you can not see inside when you're at the front door).

Another thing, almost all of the staff are incompetent in the English language. It's a struggle trying to communicate with them.

I suggest management should seriously change... change their old senior citizen looking staff to younger, more energetic and well versed in English employees. And renovate the hotel!

Overall? I will definitely NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I saw a ghost 3 times in my room paranormal activity and I hear I'm not the first one legen says a girl from that room went missing an never found she usually smiles at guest before trying to take them with her scary stuff

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice big hotel in a good location in Nagoya. However there are some basic things missing. Manly, there are no wireless in the rooms. Imagine now a hotel with around 300 rooms+ having all guest cramping into the lobby to use the internet....not to say the noise of everyone talking on skype at the same time. Bar is very overpriced ($10 for a cup of coffee). Lounge area not big enough for this size hotel.

On the other hand, hotel is clean, service is really good like most places in Japan (note that I come from Australia where service are of lower standards compared to Japan). Breakfast is good too, with good variety.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good point : good location. Fair rate for a Japanese hotel.
Otherwise, room really small. Bathroom clean but shabby. Only 10 or so TV channels, all of them Japanese but CNN.
Good service, but overpriced bar.
I don't recommend this place for leisure though (but who would like to go to Nagoya for fun in the first place?? :) )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed one night combined with 2 day training in this hotel. Service is close to perfect. Large lobby which well decorated. Stayed in single room and no complains. Be aware roomsize is smaller than western brand hotel. Bathroom though is well sized

Room Tip: Single room can be experienced as small for several foreign visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Japanese colleagues booked this hotel as the only available one due to a popular concert in town filling up the hotels.
It is a basic hotel (with western size rooms). My room was in need of a remodel, the beds were hard and uncomfortable, and one could hear the goings on in the adjacent room.
Can't say that I would look forward to returning there, but I don't know much about the other choices available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nagoya Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Tokyu Hotel

Address: 4-6-8 Sakae, Nakaku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 137 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Tokyu Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Nagoya Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Tokyu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.