We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya

Save Saved
You added ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Kanayamacho, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0023, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #8 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business. It's a nice hotel with very good views. The staff attempted to speak English and I attempted to speak Japanese. Everything went fine. The rooms were large and western style. The views are higher floors were very nice. The only negative, and it wasn't that bad, was that the rugs need a refresh. Otherwise this is a clean, nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    149
    41
    6
    5
See reviews for
55
56
48
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in Crowne Plaza hotel for one night about one week ago. A rather nicely located hotel. Only two minutes' walk from Kanayama rail station, which is one stop from Nagoya Main rail station. Other underground connection excellent. It is next to a museum and hence there is plenty of places to go to. You can also take the underground to other places in Nagoya. They gave me 20/F, which means that I enjoyed excellent views from the room. The only drawback is that being PC Platinum member, I was not given the upgrade of room service on the ground that my room reserved has been the best but it is only an executive room. Would have been better if I can be offered breakfast or some other things. But on the whole, a nice stay experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days on business. Easy to get here straight from international airport on express train. Very good location for getting around the city via the subway which was great, easy to use and always on time. Staff were excellent. Buffet breakfast v good. A few good restaurants nearby as well. Only complaint would be the firm beds but even that seemed to be ok once you got use to it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

As everyone comments, its a good location--in a train station between the airport and downtown. BUT, the service style is very Japanese, which means that Western concepts such as individualized service or recovery are not part of the deal. So when I had an emergency and asked to extend by a day, the desk staff said she "had to ask her boss," which means the hotel was not totally full (hotels keep some rooms available even if they say they are full). She came back and took 15 minutes of rambling to finally say "no." Im a Platinum Priority Club member, so this was not the service I expected. There is no gym or pool. Also, the room smelled like an ashtray even though it was "no smoking" and the sheets were so thin you could see the mattress pad, the bed was like a wooden board, and the towels in the bathroom were also thin and small. The TV has only CNN available in English, everything else in Japanese. The price of laundry was beyond outrageous--I think it was over $20 to dry clean a pair of jeans. Instead of this hotel, I would either try to find the cheapest Japanese hotel I could get or move up the Marriott if you want a Western-style hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Robert B,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that you found or location commendable. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the staff service received. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

While we understand your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you back to Nagoya.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Its right beside the Kanayama train station. Hotel is huge by Japan standards but i must say its really old. You can smell and see the age of this hotel. Don't get me wrong...rooms are well appointed and clean. Age of the hotel is definitely compensated by the price and the staff being very helpful. Restaurants are all over the place including those famous Tebasaki restaurants of Nagoya. Starbucks, Family Mart are all across the hotel. Please take note that hotel is connected to the Nagoya Boston Museum. I'll be back if and when they do that renovation. Location and price is what swayed me to stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Get non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We attended the Sumo Tournament being held in Nagoya so the ANA was a perfect choice. Only a very short walk off the Shinkansen to the hotel and easy access then to the subway for the tournament. Our room was a good size and beds reasonably comfortable plus extra pillows, which can be hard to find in Japan. We didn't eat at any of the many restuarants as we are both gluten free and there weren't many things on offer for the prices. There are plenty of other restaurants within 1 km of the hotel. The front desk staff were courteous as opposed to welcoming. No real complaints other than being able to hear the trains, and I would definitely stay at the ANA on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side to the train line because even on the 22nd floor, you could stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We choose this hotel because it cost 35% less than the Marriott on top of the nagoya station (Kanayama station is one stop before Nagoya on the Meitisu airport line). We stayed there on the first and last night of our trip. It is adjacent to the Boston Museum and you can walk through the museum to the train station to avoid weather elements. The staff is professional and we enjoyed the location very much. It is equal distant to the shopping centre (Mitsukoshi, Matsuyama, etc) as Nagoya station but I would not recommend walking as it is quite far. Save the energy for site seeing. Overall, it is a good hotel and should be considered as an option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya

Address: 1-1-1 Kanayamacho, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0023, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
#6 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grand Court Nagoya is a remarkable maclange of classic elegance, modern amenities and first class hospitality. Situated conveniently within all the access points of Greater Nagoya, the hotel is popular amongst business and leisure travelers alike. Each guest room at the hotel is designed especially to exude comfort and relaxation within its spacious and luxurious interiors whilst being equipped with an impressive array of facilities. Warm toned and stylishly furnished, it is the perfect place to unwind from a day of travel or business. Situated on the 16th to 27th floors, each room also affords guests an exceptional view of the city of Nagoya from a birds-eye perspective. Diners at the Hotel Grand Court Nagoya will simply be spoilt for choice with the spread of international cuisine. Beginning with the lobby lounge where one can enjoy a simple tea time snack and the casual cafe on the 2nd floor offering buffet-style meals to specialty Japanese and Chinese restaurants where chefs whip up authentic culinary delights with fresh seasonal ingredients, every gastronomical craving will be satisfied. The Hotel Grand Court Nagoya is a 35 minute drive from Nagoya airport and just a minute s walk from the JR Kanayama Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Grand Court Hotel Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Grand Court Nagoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.