We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Nagoya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Marriott Associa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Nagoya Marriott Associa to your Saves list
Nagoya Marriott Associa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-4 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-6002, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Marriott Nagoya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I recently stayed at the Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel on a business trip. Being a frequent visitor in Japan, this was my first time in Nagoya. The hotel is situated at the Nagoya train station which makes it ideal to travel around the city and area of Nagoya. The station is served by both local and Shinkansen (bullet) trains.

The area is filled with shops, malls and restaurants which is great when your on foot.

The hotel is in great shape and typical of a 4-5 star class hotel of a major modern city. The one odd thiong is the front desk which is lcoated on the15th floor! As with most Japanese hotels, staff is ultra-friendly and servic eis top notch. You still have to deal with language barriers/limitations so a bit of patience is required.

It has a great buffet breakfast to get your day started and for lunch or supper, one can jusr go on the 14th floor where there is a nice selection of restaurants and cafes. This is great when it is pouring rain outside or needing get a quick bite for evening calls witrh North America.

The room I stayed in had a beautiful king size bed which made it tough waing up in the morning. There are limited English TV stations so bring a laptop to connect with the rest of world and get access to your favorite radio of TV stations.

All in all, great place to stay for business or vacation.

P.S. Avoid the top floor lounge unless you want to pay a hefty price for a drink with a view.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    348
    61
    15
    10
See reviews for
209
221
118
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

this hotel was much nicer than i expected. i thought it would be a typical not-so-updated/kinda moldy feeling place. i was also surprised by how huge it was. the lobby seems to go on forever. we were escorted to the room after check-in (i wasn't expecting this for a marriott but it is japan after all) and we had a pleasant corner room with city views. the room was normal size and the bathroom was very clean and everything felt new. our main purpose for stopping in nagoya was to eat taiwan ramen at misen. if you like spicy food, this is a good spot for the ramen and cold spicy chicken dish. nagoya seems huge but it was also very quiet even tho there are bright neon lights flashing everywhere. very conveniently located above JR to catch an early train.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is not only super convenient, it's a very very nice hotel. Just above the train station... shopping, food etc.. all within walking distance. All inclusive hotel! Loved it. As expected, service was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Reputedly one of the best hotels in Japan, its rooms are very large by Japan standards and well furnished. It is a good hotel, and it is exceptionally located, but it is a money hole as well.

We booked it partly because we were arriving late at the Airport, and we knew it was above the train station and we could walk from the station to the hotel. The surprise we got was that although we had booked a double room, they said the rate I was quoted was for one person and we had to pay the two person rate which was 50% higher! As it was midnight, we agreed.

I tried to use the business center to get access to email and to check in for our next flight, and it proved challenging all around. Their keyboards are oriented to Japanese language use and by experience were very slow, a factor when you are paying. I had so many problems that in the end they were generous enough to waive the fee. But I found the experience very poor by international standards.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wissembourg, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Simply perfect.
Directly located at the Nagoya Shinkansen railway station, this hotel offers all services you will need on a business trip.
It is obviously perfectly clean and quiet. The service is more than perfect. Difficult to do more

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Situated atop Nagoya Station, this property is convenient for every travel purpose. All the big malls are nearby, and travel to Sakae (the main dining/entertainment area) takes about 10 min on the subway. There is a fitness centre for use by the hotel guests, but it closes at 10pm. Buffet breakfast is ok but nothing amazing. Rooms are large and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott Nagoya Associa for five nights in July, 2010. We used Marriott Rewards points for a free stay and we had access to the Concierge Lounge as Marriott Gold members.

Rooms: We were given a room on the 39th floor with a queen-size bed and a view to the east-northeast (Nagoya Castle side). Our room was one of the smaller size rooms in this hotel, but it was ample by Japanese standards. The air conditioning system was quiet and efficient (temperature setting goes all the way down to 15C and it can keep the room quite chilly - very useful when it's over 30C outside with over 90% humidity). The room was meticulously cleaned every day - quite possibly the best housekeeping practice I've seen in any Marriott. Our room was exceptionally quiet and made for a comfortable stay. Despite what one reviewer said, it is NOT possible to hear any train noise or vibrations from the train station underneath - the hotel seems to be perfectly isolated from the train tracks.

Bathroom: The bathroom was adequate for one person; it is cramped for two. Japanese-style commode with a heated seat (wan't necessary when it's so hot outside, but you can turn the heater off). The only oddity in the bathroom was the bathtub with a V-shaped cross section; it was difficult to keep both feet planted side by side when taking a shower. Other than that, water pressure and temperature range was perfect.

Beds: Don't expect the Marriott beds that are standard in the US. The bed was very firm and had no pillowtop, possibly catering to Asian clientele who prefer extra firm beds. Nevertheless, we had a very comfortable sleep night after night.

Other room details: Small safe - not large enough for a laptop (an iPad would fit fine along with your important travel documents and a camera). About 30 channels on TV, with CNN World and BBC World available as English channels. Internet access is expensive (1575 Yen/day), but has good data rates and is complementary for Marriott elite guests.

Concierge Lounge: ample, diverse breakfast buffet and evening snacks. Unlike Marriott lounges in the US, the buffet is continuously replenished during breakfast hours (until 10 am) and evening reception hours (until 10 pm). Also unlike Marriott lounges in the US, alcoholic beverages are complementary. The lounge is staffed with no less than six people at any given time, and the service meets or exceeds already-high Japanese standards for service. Our only complaint about the lounge is the existence of a smoking section. While the smoking section is in a separate enclosed room, the smoke does waft in from time to time.

Food: The hotel has no less than nine restaurants, bars, and coffee shops. However, they are rather pricey. Fortunately, there is a wide variety of restaurants on the 12th-13th floors and at the train station, as well as a mind-boggling assortment of food kiosks on the first basement floor (B1F) of the JR Takashimaya department store.

Getting There: Our guidebook (Frommer's Japan) said it is hard to find the hotel entrance at the JR station underneath. I disagree. There are ample signs to the hotel entrance in the JR station marked in a distinct purple color. An even easier way to get to the hotel from the main floor of the JR station is to go up the escalators near the north (Sakura-dori) end of the terminal, turn right, and take one of the many Sky Express elevators directly to the 15th floor.

Overall: We were extremely pleased with the Marriott Nagoya Associa and we will definitely choose it the next time we are in central Japan. Staff are very courteous and helpful, and the hotel is very elegant and impeccably clean. Our only complaint is that upon checkout, you are left alone with your bags on the 15th floor (similarly, for checking in, you need to find your own way to the 15th floor with your bags). It would have been nice if the bell service had extended all the way to the train station entrance on the 1st floor. In any case, we recommend this hotel without reservations to anyone staying in Nagoya.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nagoya Marriott Associa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Marriott Associa

Address: 1-1-4 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-6002, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Marriott Associa 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Nagoya Marriott Associa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel Nagoya
Marriott Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Marriott Associa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.