We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, corner rooms are tiny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Marriott Associa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Nagoya Marriott Associa to your Saves list
Nagoya Marriott Associa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-4 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-6002, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location, corner rooms are tiny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location of this hotel - just above the train station - is superb, and overall the facility is excellent. We were in town for meetings with Toyota (offices directly across the street) via bullet train from Tokyo and thus it was very convenient for us. Excellent, efficient Japanese service as expected. One thing to note is that the hotel floor plan offers 1 or 2 rooms which are absolute slivers - very tight, perhaps 1/3 smaller than the other standard rooms - and the circular shape of the building cuts off window end of the room even further. Hotel rooms in Japan tend to be smaller anyway. Just a warning that not all the rooms are the same size and one is quite a bit smaller than the others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    349
    61
    15
    10
See reviews for
209
221
118
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Absolutely my favorite Hotel in Nagoya! Perfectly located above the Nagoya Train Station, just a stroll away from the Shinkansen Tracks, in the upper floors of a large building and therefore totally sound proof. Hotel features a nice and elegant design, every time I go, rooms are always in perfect condition. Hotel features all features and services both for business as wel as leasure travelers. In the same building, 1-2 floors down is a large variety of all kinds of restaurants (both japanese and international) for those who do not want to dine 'in house'. For me one of the very best Marriott Hotels I have ever visited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

At first glance, this hotel appears to be nothing special, just another hotel in Japan conveniently located on a major transportation line (in this case, the Nagoya train station is directly below the hotel). But then you enter, and see a lobby with extremely helpful staff, rooms with great features, and a sense of quiet and serenity unusual in a city hotel. Very comfortable beds, a wonderful bathroom with modern fixtures, and plenty of room to work and relax. There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel, but I recommend leaving the hotel level and going to the Danish bakery on the 1st floor (station level) as a great place to get a cheap, quick breakfast. There are a couple of floors of restaurants and shopping on 12 and 13, and the hotel is above.

Every thing I could have asked for was immediately delivered by the staff. Check-in and out was easy. Good quality for the price. And most of all, it is a quiet stay in the middle of a big city, even with the trains directly below.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect : just inside the Nagoya train station, where you can connect to the whole city by subway or to the rest of country, by the bullet train. There are plenty of hotel signs around the station, so there is no problem to find it.

Rooms are big, considering Japanese standards and very well equiped. Bathroom is something special, with lots of amenities and Japanese toilet seat. Wifi is available and works fine. TV channels are most Japanese and some international channels like CNN and BBC, but nothing that really will make you watch TV.

We stayed at 40th floor and you have a nice view to the city, including the Nagoya castle, one of the top spots in Nagoya. There is a bar in the top (56th floor I guess), which gives you stunning views of the city, specially at night. The only problem is there is no restrictions for smoking inside the bar, so it is not the best thing if you are not a smoker.

Restaurants are in general expensive, but you have some good options in the station and also around the hotel. The hotel staff will be happy to help you find a good one. By the way, as in all Japanese hotels we've been in this trip, staff is in general far over your expectations. They are always looking to help you and they will, most of times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I booked a non-smoking room at Marriott Nagoya Associa, thinking that I could have a comfortable stay in Nagoya prior to flight to the US. When I arrived at hotel, I was put in a smoking room. The front desk didn't tell me this when I checked in. I only figured this out when I walked into the room and the overpowering smell of smoke almost knocked me over. I spoke with the front desk, and they told me that the hotel was fully booked and that my rate does not guarantee a room type. I checked my confirmation letter and the letter clearly states that I requested non-smoking. There is no mention anywhere that this was not guaranteed. I wish that the hotel informed me, the customer prior to my arrival so I could have changed my plans. I felt trapped since I only found out once I already checked in and by then was already committed to staying at the hotel. After reading other reviews this seems to be common at this hotel. Customer Service at the front desk didn't seem to take my issue seriously and waived me off. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We came with bullet train from Tokyo. Hotel is above Nagoya railway station starting from 15th floor and above. Everybody is so friendly and they will always go extra mile to make your stay memorable. All personel speaks English in compariosn with Intercontinental Tokyo where you might have hard time with conversation.Room was extremly clean and linen was changed every day. WI-FI access is included, view is magnificent, bathroom is more than great with separate shower and bath tub. Breakfast is good with lots of food to choose from
There is a smoking bar with good choce of cigars, etc from all over the world.
Request a room on higher floor on oposite side of railway station to avoid train noise. If you plan to make your reservation thru Marriott web site be careful-since breakfast is not included and for extra person you need to pay extra. They will not disclose that during on line reservation.. So if you are travelling with your better half please have in mind that you will be charged extra for room and full price breakfast for two.

Room Tip: oposite of railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed for 60 day's. The personel was very friendly and did everything to make your stay comfortable.
Hotel room is very clean and furniture is in perfect state.
Breakfast is very complete and quality is good.

The greatest advantage of this hotel is the exellent location, directly above the Nagoya station.
You can move to any place you want very fast.

One remark: WIFI is a bit slow.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the top floors it can take a long time getting there or to the groundfloor at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nagoya Marriott Associa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Marriott Associa

Address: 1-1-4 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-6002, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Business Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Family Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Marriott Associa 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Nagoya Marriott Associa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel Nagoya
Marriott Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Marriott Associa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.