We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel few mins from the station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Nagoya Cypress to your Saves list
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-43-6 Meieki, Nakamura-Ku | Aichi, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Decent hotel few mins from the station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is located about 5 mins walk from Nagoya station. Service was good with the manager taking me to the room. The room was a standard class of rooms in Japan. However internet was charged as opposed to being normally free. Breakfast which is included, was a good spread. Convenient store is right across the road. TV provided had one English channel, something not common in Japanese business hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nantes/France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the staion - 5 minutes walk.
The rooms are not very big but this is enough. The breakfast is very good (especially the croissant).
The only negative point is that there is no wifi in the room.
It's a good hotel for business 'not for family).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIERRE2NANTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed twice for business the past 4 weeks and have no complaint.
Location is good, convinience store close by, close to Nagoya station.
Breakfast was ok but not special. Bathroom spacious with no complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jans_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at The Cypress many times. The hotel has changed owners (the Hyatt, Sofitel, now Mercure) many times but the staff and decor remains unchanged, which is not a bad thing. Staff are helpful and courteous. The rooms are small but well presented.

Find the internet is quite pricey at 1050yen per day where most hotels in Japan are free especially when it comes to business hotels. The times I have had breakfast the western selection is limited but try the Japanese the food is good.

I would prefer if the hotel introduced a key drop box for those who stay longer than single day as waiting to hand key back in morning can take a while if behind those checking out.

Location is good as close to JR Station use the Shinkansen (bullet) train from Tokyo or use the Mu Train from Chubu Airport.

Room Tip: I always prefer away from the lifts (elevators) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

It was easy to find. Close to the train station and the JR Towers.
Very clean. Nice amenities. FRIENDLY staff.

Small room. But most places in japan are small. It was worth the price.
Breakfast was ok. It hit the spot. Wish that there was more of a variety or change in menu each day. Best orange juice ever and the coffee was nice.
They don't do room service.

Staying here enhanced our holiday experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice - once when it was still a Sofitel, and then again just last night. No changes, as far as I could tell! It's just about ten minutes from the station, and the staff was nice enough. Only problems: For some reason, they gave me a smoking room without asking whether that was okay... and I was on the 3rd floor this time... you definitely need to ask for a higher floor if you want anything like sun or a view!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - nice views of the station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ideheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I loved this hotel for having a very cozy nice room, not too large, not small. I felt so relaxed. It's located very close from the exit of Nagoya Station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful enough to bring wine glasses and extra towels as I asked them to (I always do this because I take a bath in the evening and the following morning, and would rather not use a half wet bath towel in the following morning).
Also I should mention that this hotel is not huge, and the lobby is quite small, with just a few staff (I saw 3 or 4 at the counter), and one of them greets and follows you to the elevator every time you come back to the hotel. It's a very nice thing, but if you are 'Don't pay any attention, leave me alone' type, you should choose some other hotel.
Wi-Fi is not provided, so you need to bring your own device.
Still, I did have a great time, and I was glad I picked up this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Sakuradori
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
#34 of 162 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nagoya Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Address: 2-43-6 Meieki, Nakamura-Ku | Aichi, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Nagoya Cypress 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Nagoya Cypress is conveniently located in the city center, just a short walk from Nagoya railway station (bullet train). The hotel features 115 confortable rooms, 2 restaurants, a bar and conference facilities for up to 100 delegates. The Nagoya Congress Centre, Citizens Auditorium and Nagoya Dome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Rakuten so you can book your Mercure Nagoya Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Nagoya
Accor The Cypress Nagoya
Nagoya Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing