We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice room, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Nagoya Cypress to your Saves list
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-43-6 Meieki, Nakamura-Ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0002, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 156 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Nagoya, Japan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice room, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed twice for business the past 4 weeks and have no complaint.
Location is good, convinience store close by, close to Nagoya station.
Breakfast was ok but not special. Bathroom spacious with no complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
20
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at The Cypress many times. The hotel has changed owners (the Hyatt, Sofitel, now Mercure) many times but the staff and decor remains unchanged, which is not a bad thing. Staff are helpful and courteous. The rooms are small but well presented.

Find the internet is quite pricey at 1050yen per day where most hotels in Japan are free especially when it comes to business hotels. The times I have had breakfast the western selection is limited but try the Japanese the food is good.

I would prefer if the hotel introduced a key drop box for those who stay longer than single day as waiting to hand key back in morning can take a while if behind those checking out.

Location is good as close to JR Station use the Shinkansen (bullet) train from Tokyo or use the Mu Train from Chubu Airport.

Room Tip: I always prefer away from the lifts (elevators) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

It was easy to find. Close to the train station and the JR Towers.
Very clean. Nice amenities. FRIENDLY staff.

Small room. But most places in japan are small. It was worth the price.
Breakfast was ok. It hit the spot. Wish that there was more of a variety or change in menu each day. Best orange juice ever and the coffee was nice.
They don't do room service.

Staying here enhanced our holiday experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice - once when it was still a Sofitel, and then again just last night. No changes, as far as I could tell! It's just about ten minutes from the station, and the staff was nice enough. Only problems: For some reason, they gave me a smoking room without asking whether that was okay... and I was on the 3rd floor this time... you definitely need to ask for a higher floor if you want anything like sun or a view!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - nice views of the station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I loved this hotel for having a very cozy nice room, not too large, not small. I felt so relaxed. It's located very close from the exit of Nagoya Station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful enough to bring wine glasses and extra towels as I asked them to (I always do this because I take a bath in the evening and the following morning, and would rather not use a half wet bath towel in the following morning).
Also I should mention that this hotel is not huge, and the lobby is quite small, with just a few staff (I saw 3 or 4 at the counter), and one of them greets and follows you to the elevator every time you come back to the hotel. It's a very nice thing, but if you are 'Don't pay any attention, leave me alone' type, you should choose some other hotel.
Wi-Fi is not provided, so you need to bring your own device.
Still, I did have a great time, and I was glad I picked up this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Wide Traveller
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel has a nice ambiance, quite and relaxing, with very friendly staff.
The decor, especially from the evening basement restaurant and bar is great and worth a visit.
The beds are very confortable, there is one international TV News channel is available, but watching it from your bed is a challenge.
Good japanese and western breakfast but missed some cheese and ham on the buffet.
High speed cable internet in the room but you have to pay about 12 USD for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel twice when it was a Sofitel two years ago and it was very nice. I booked a room two nights ago and was unpleasantly surprised. It is now a Mercure, not a Sofitel, and that seems to make more of a difference than I would have realized. First, the bed was impossibly hard, a very thin cushion on a board. I did not sleep most of the night. Second, the staff at past visits was friendly and helpful. This time, the young man who checked me in was efficient but unfriendly and seemed determined not to smile. He later showed us beds which were a little softer (but not much) and wanted an extra $45 per night for the upgrade (in an empty hotel). This leads to the third problem: the hotel used to be a good value, with decent prices and an excellent buffet breakfast. Now it is expensive, does not include breakfast (our room with hard bed and no breakfast was $235. They even charge $6 for a cup of in-room coffee (drip brewed with the hot water pot). When I am next in Nagoya I will find a different hotel. The location near the train station was quite convenient but there are a number of hotels in the area to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nagoya Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Address: 2-43-6 Meieki, Nakamura-Ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0002, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nagoya Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel The Cypress Nagoya is conveniently located in the city center, just a short walk from Nagoya railway station (bullet train). The hotel features 115 contemporary style rooms, 2 restaurants, a bar, business center and conference facilities for up to 160 delegates. The Nagoya Congress Centre, Citizens Auditorium and Nagoya Dome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, EasyToBook, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Nagoya Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Nagoya
Accor The Cypress Nagoya
Nagoya Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nagoya Cypress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.