We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad. Good for one night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae

Save Saved
You added Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-23-20 Meieki-minami, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0003, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Nagoya
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“not bad. Good for one night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel looks new and close to JR Nagoya and Nagoya Meitetsu Bus Centre. We took a bus from Takayama(2.5hrs), so it was very convenient.(only 3 mins walk).
There is convenience store and coffee shop/restaurants on the 1st floor (the reception is on the 2nd floor).
They have another hotel closer to JR station, so we might try there next time as it is more convenient for people taking Shinkansen to go to Tokyo or Osaka.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    103
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
32
49
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Yes, there are two Daiwa Roynet hotels near the Nagoya station! One is near the Fast train exit with the name Shingansan and the other is near the Highway Bus center and the subway line with the name Ekimae meaning in front of station - which is this one.

I have stayed on both sides before and knew of their locations well. The former is of a large and bright lobby and is much more expensive than this one, around HK$1,300 where Ekimae is only HK$810.

If you look at the map, there are numerous hotels within 1-2 minutes walk around the Shingansan exit. This one is comparatively a bit far away with at least 6-7 minutes walk to the station.

Room is a little bit spacious when compared to other bugde hotels. For ladies, they provide additional amenities when check-in, including bath powder, hair clips, shower caps and hair bands. The two coffee drips are also interesting particularly when you have nothing to do in the room!

Automatic check-out process is implemented where you only need to insert your room key to the machine and when it shows 0 dollars to pay, you can leave. It is not miserable to leave as the staff in the counter will also say goodbye and thank you to you when they saw you. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights.
Booked a deluxe double room for myself and my daughter.
I studied the map on the hotel's website the night before.
Once you get your bearings, the location is fairly easy.
You want to look for the spiral towers and head towards that. The hotel is an easy walk from that.
If you are coming from Nagoya Station, do not exit on the Shinkansen side, the hotel is on the Sakura Dori exit direction.

My double room is an fairly good size at 18sq metres.
The bed is a proper double bed, not the semi doubles that a lot of chain Japanese hotels provides and my daughter and I could fit quite comfortably in it.
Bed is firm but comfortable. I understand that the hotel was recently refurbished in 2011 so everything is new and clean.
There is a clothes rack right by the entrance where you can also stow your luggage there.
The bathroom is large by Japanese hotels standards. The usual amenities like shampoo, foam bath, conditioner, toothbrushes, combs, shavers etc are provided.

You can set the temperature in your room to either heater mode or aircon mode. I find this feature impressive because Japanese hotels tend to turn up their heating in winter which can get fairly oppressive sometime. This feature allows you to select a temperature you are comfortable with.

Hotel has three washer/dryer machines in the laundry room on the 6th floor.
Cost 200yen to wash only and up to 400yen if you choose the wash and dry function.
Detergent is automatically dispensed into the machine. No need to purchase or add your own.

There is a Moringa coffee shop right next to the hotel and a Japanese food joint next to Moringa.
The Lawson minimart is located right next to the Japanese food joint, good for late night snacks and drinks although the hotel also provides a kettle and tea, coffee packages if you'll rather make
your own.

I would stay in this hotel again, it's location is really good and the hotel staff very polite and friendly, especially the lady working the late afternoon, evening shift.

Room Tip: The standard doubles and the deluxe doubles are actually the same size, just that the standard doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed in the Daiwa Roynet Ekimae for business for 3 nights. Overall, I was really happy with the choice. The hotel is relatively new and rooms are in good condition. The A/C works great (once you figure out which mode is Air Conditioning!) It isn't self explanatory and only is in Japanese, so I had to ask the front desk clerk who happily explained which mode was A/C and not just fan.
The bed was comfortable, they have actual Wireless internet (a rare treat in Japan), the breakfast is basic, but good with a choice of western or japanese in adjacent coffee shops and the room was clean (expected in Japan). Overall, it was a great choice and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, even though the rooms face a busy street. I always like upper floors to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Having travelled around Japan for three weeks and having some notion of what business hotels are like, I found this just average. Perhaps I hit a busy couple of days for Nagoya since I paid about double what I had been paying for similar places in other large cities (Y13,000 versus 6-8,000 otherwise). Room was slightly larger than average but faced an internal wall. Typical for Japanese business hotels, the instructions for using it were mor copious than the offering of ten Japanese-language channels. Internet was wired...I have learned to hate these short blue LAN cords. They did offer some free coffee and there is a fridge and pants press in the room. The bathroom cubical is basic and there was a long black hair stuck to the shower wall. In Japan this must be a criminal offense considering how spotless even low-priced hotels usually are. Good location just five minutes walk from the sprawling train station complex if you exit the correct (main) entrance.

Room Tip: The internal wall is rather ugly...try for something outside facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

- within 5 minutes walk to main railway stations
- comfortable room (more than what I expect from a basic business hotel)
- minimal staff at reception -- the staff seems to be friendly but are there mainly/only to show you how to check-in and check-out using the machine
- no wifi at lobby and guest room

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

First off, there are TWO of these Daiwa Roynet Hotels in Nagoya near the train station. Make sure you pick the right one. The one I stayed at is the Nagoya Ekimae which is on the Southeast side of the main train station (the more "popular" side). The other one is on the Northwest side of the train station just about the same distance away (both are about a 5-8 minute walk from the station). If you get turned around at the station (like I did), you can easily end up at the wrong hotel and if you don't speak Japanese (like me), it can be "frustrating" trying to figure out why they don't have your reservation (and why they seem to be telling you that you are at the wrong hotel).
The hotel itself is very nice, clean, and efficient. The beds are hard, but every bed I had in Japan was hard, so that is evidently the norm. The room was small, but very efficient and clean. Everything worked well, including the wired internet (no wireless). There is a coffee shop that serves breakfast for a reasonable price (500 yen) on the ground floor. There is a convenience store right at the corner, the underground shopping complex (with almost limitless food and shopping choices) is just a block away, and if you must have American junk food, McD's is just across the street. You are near the main train station, so transportation options are almost limitless. The hotel lobby is on the second floor, but there is an elevator if you are too tired (like I was) to take the stairs. Overall, it was a good value for a hotel that close to the center of Nagoya. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae

Address: 1-23-20 Meieki-minami, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0003, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#5 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;