We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, electronic reception desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae

Save Saved
You added Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-23-20 Meieki-minami, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0003, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 137 hotels in Nagoya
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location, electronic reception desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

- within 5 minutes walk to main railway stations
- comfortable room (more than what I expect from a basic business hotel)
- minimal staff at reception -- the staff seems to be friendly but are there mainly/only to show you how to check-in and check-out using the machine
- no wifi at lobby and guest room

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    84
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
28
45
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

First off, there are TWO of these Daiwa Roynet Hotels in Nagoya near the train station. Make sure you pick the right one. The one I stayed at is the Nagoya Ekimae which is on the Southeast side of the main train station (the more "popular" side). The other one is on the Northwest side of the train station just about the same distance away (both are about a 5-8 minute walk from the station). If you get turned around at the station (like I did), you can easily end up at the wrong hotel and if you don't speak Japanese (like me), it can be "frustrating" trying to figure out why they don't have your reservation (and why they seem to be telling you that you are at the wrong hotel).
The hotel itself is very nice, clean, and efficient. The beds are hard, but every bed I had in Japan was hard, so that is evidently the norm. The room was small, but very efficient and clean. Everything worked well, including the wired internet (no wireless). There is a coffee shop that serves breakfast for a reasonable price (500 yen) on the ground floor. There is a convenience store right at the corner, the underground shopping complex (with almost limitless food and shopping choices) is just a block away, and if you must have American junk food, McD's is just across the street. You are near the main train station, so transportation options are almost limitless. The hotel lobby is on the second floor, but there is an elevator if you are too tired (like I was) to take the stairs. Overall, it was a good value for a hotel that close to the center of Nagoya. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Excellent hotel and good value, located very close to Nagoya station and lots of shops/restaurants. The room was well equipped with toiletries and practical extras to make the stay very easy. Comfortable bed, etc. All features of the room were labelled and clearly explained in both Japanese and English. Great wifi, telephone and TV facilities. Much better value than a more expensive American hotel that would have a bigger room. Breakfast facilities are limited to a small cafe next door, so it's a good idea to take a walk to find a nice breakfast place somewhere local. I stayed here just before Christmas and there was a great buzz around Nagoya. Staff were so friendly and obliging; just like most Japanese people.

Room Tip: Room with double bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I booked this hotel because it says it is Nagoya Eki Mae, i.e. right in front of Nagoya station. Wrong! I had two suitcases and a bag to carry and started walking. By the time I got to the hotel, I was really tired and became really angry for such advertisement was allowed to go ahead. Rooms and service are OK, no prob. They do not have their own breakfast but you have to go to outside to have breakfast. Nothing special about this hotel, I wish I had chosen other hotel that is closer to the station. I could not use their internet service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. It is a five minute walk from Nagoya station and I would advise you to get directions before you go for Nagoya station (like all Japanese stations) has several exits. I took the Meitetsu Line from the airport and got off at the exit (I forget the name) that put me on the main road on which the Hotel is. It is one block away from a unique black spiral tower that everyone seems to know. Small room, but very functional and clean with everything you want in it (pot to boil water, hair dryer, even a pant press!) and free internet. My room was overlooking the main road but not noisy. There is a convenience store at the corner of the block, a nice coffee shop downstairs, and of course, you can walk across to the station and find a whole world of shopping and restaurants there! Recommend the place strongly. It is well connected to get to anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed Meitetsu Grand last time to get disappointed in the old & shabbiness when they charge the similar price to this Daiwa Roynet, which requires you to walk further a bit but provides a nice & clean room. The room is not very spacey as they put a big bed in the room but it gave me a comfort night for a good sleep. Go for Marriott if you can afford but if you want to save a bit, this is a better choice than others within the similar budget, JPY9,000 to 10,000/night. It's worth to walk down a bit. They will open one near the station this autumn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I frequently use the Trip Advisor ratings to help me in my choice of hotels and found this hotel near the Nagoya station to be rated highly. It did not disappoint as it felt new, was clean and I was given a corner room which had a good view. There was a coffee house on the ground floor which served good coffee and light breakfast. Although the hotel was near the station, it was a good 15-minute walk and might not be very convenient in bad weather as there is no shelter during the last portion where you have to cross a major road.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae

Also Known As:
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya
Address: 1-23-20 Meieki-minami, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0003, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.