We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western for Convenience Only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-6-1 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan (Formerly Hotel Precede Nagoya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Iwakuni, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Western for Convenience Only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked this hotel because Starbucks was in the lobby, and thought that would make our stay more convenient, because a decent cup of coffee would be right downstairs.

We arrived by car and as fate would have it, there was no courtesy parking area for the hotel, not even a drop off area. My husband literally, pulled over on the main road so that I could jump out and run in to find out where to park, then run back out to find him and go park the car. We were told that there was only one parking garage big enough for our rented Voxy, which was a five minute walk away, and the discounted price (because we were guests of the hotel) was 2,100 yen per day.

The man who assisted us checking in spoke little to no English and was very frustrating because he kept repeating the only English words that he knew and took 30 seconds to think about the words or process his next set.

Smoking is allowed in the hotel, so naturally, we had just got into an elevator that smelled like someone had just got off with a cigarette in hand.

The room was tinier than any other Japanese room we've stayed in here in Japan, so was the restroom, and the toilet. The shower curtain smelled like it was washed and not dried properly, so it had an odor to it, on top of needing replacing all together. Other than the shower curtain, the bathroom had good amenities and it was clean. On the plus side, the pillows and the bed were not traditional Japanese style, so it was a comfortable night of rest.

We had an unenjoyable breakfast here as well. We figured that we would at least try it. I lost my interest when I saw the french fries as part of the buffet. We ate a round, no refills, and off to Starbucks we went. We didn't have breakfast there the next day.

The walls are thin, so you can hear conversations in the other rooms.

In all honesty, Starbucks was the best part of this hotel. If you can deal with that, then stay here because the location is convenient. We learned that it was a good idea to rent a car as opposed to taking the bullet train. The train station is a short distance away, but certainly a long enough distance in this cold weather. It might've ended up being at least a 1,000 yen taxi ride to the station, maybe at least 1,500 is closer to the truth.

Room Tip: Hit or miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    100
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
45
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

5 mins walk from Sakae Subway Station (use Exit 12). There are plenty of foods and many different types of store in the subway and along the street.

Hotel is small but reasonably clean. The room size is about average but a little oldish. Air conditioning is my primary complain. The ventilation is quite poor and warm (Probably switched to heater during December) and unable to open the window. That really makes my sleep uncomfortable. Hotel does provide portable air humidifier and it does help a little. . Another issue was the room power amp seems to be lower than usual, it takes much longer to charge small electronics devices like phone, camera battery and tablet.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed one night. The room was clean and about same size an American 1 bed hotel room. Which I think is big for Japan. The wifi works great. I believe my cost was $68 for the night which is a good deal.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is near the nagoya downtown sakae, very nice place and a lot of fun. The hotel is clean and the service is excellent. The breakfast is also great. There is a starbucks on the first floor of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for five nights during a sightseeing and visiting friends trip in Japan. If you are used to Tokyo accommodation prices and room sizes you will be very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are a good size with all mod cons provided and replenished daily. They are spotless and the décor is adequate if slightly dated. The hotel is very private and I certainly got a good night’s sleep in peace and quiet, despite being located on a main road. The reception staff speak excellent English and could answer any questions I had. The location is perfect for sightseeing in Nagoya and Sakae station is only a few metres away. There is a Starbucks on the ground floor and various convenience stores very close by. Also, the hotel is close to the late night party area, including a number of bars, so coming back late at night was easy. I was never up early enough for the breakfast, so I cannot comment on that! I would highly recommend this as an affordable yet comfortable option in central Nagoya.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level to ensure a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Eay to find and not far from the train station which is important in Japan.
Two restaurant availbale on site.
The room have been designed a while ago, but overall very clean
Good internet connection, and friendly staff
Great choice, i recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's amusing to read on Trip Advisor what other people write about this hotel (as 'connoisseurs' of Best Western hotels). It's Best Western, not the Westin! As such, it is honest, affordable, clean accommodation in a convenient location for a reasonable price. Front desk staff are friendly and efficient. It is located close to Sakae Station, so if you're using Nagoya as a base for sight-seeing elsewhere in Aichi, it is perfect. Also, be sensible and book in advance no matter what the season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya

Address: 4-6-1 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan (Formerly Hotel Precede Nagoya)
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.