We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December in Nagoya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-6-1 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan (Formerly Hotel Precede Nagoya)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“December in Nagoya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Friendly, helpful and efficient staff at this nice hotel, conveniently situated near Sakae underground station Exit 12. Close to Sunshine Sakae, Central Park, Oasis 21 and within easy walking distance of Fushimi and Nagoya Station. A standard double room with enough space although cupboard drawers would have been nice as we were there for nine days plus
the double bed was pushed against the wall so one person had to climb over or slide down to get out but minor problems which were outweighed by everything else especially the cotton dressing gowns and slippers The bathroom had a full range of toiletries. We were there for the run up to New Year so the French restaurant was closed for a couple of days. However, the hotel has a Starbucks on the ground floor with very friendly staff and there are countless bars and restaurants in Sakae not to mention the most amazing department stores. This hotel is excellent value for money and I would definitely like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room was quiet and warm. TV. Fridge for own use, kettle and tea/coffee also provided. Table with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    85
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
40
37
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is convenient and clean but do not expect any luxury. Room is very small and barely fits two adults. Free cable internet but no free wi-fi. Good (but no excelent) location. It is ok for a short stay but may not be the best option for a more prolongued trip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for nine nights in late October and early November, 2012. If you want to stay in the Sakae area of Nagoya, the Best Western Hotel Nagoya is a very good value. The rooms are larger than typical for a Japanese hotel, and the bathroom had a full-size tub with built-in shower. There was room to unpack and be able to store your suitcases. The closet was small, but functional. There were two comfortable chairs in the room to sit in. The desk area was quite useable. The service at the front desk was very good: these people really do care. There was almost always someone present who spoke sufficient English to be able to help you. Everything was quite clean. The price varied depending on the day of the week, but it was significantly less than for any other decent hotel in the area (indeed, in most of Nagoya).

There were two drawbacks to the hotel. First, the rooms have an in-room wired Internet connection, use of which was included in the room price. However, when anyone in the hotel was downloading a large amount of data (e.g., streaming a movie), it brought the whole system to a crawl. In some cases, it simply became so slow as to be unusable. In other cases, you were disconnected and could not reconnect. If you require a reliable Internet connection, you probably should not stay in this hotel. Management is aware of the situation -- it has apparently been a problem for quite some time -- and I believe they are going to try to address it. Until it is addressed, the Internet connection in the hotel has to be considered unreliable. This seems to be a problem more often in the evening, so if you can use the Internet in the morning or during the day it is likely that you will have fewer problems. If your computer only works with Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi is advertised as being available in the lobby, but it is not available in the rooms. You could carry a small wireless access point and plug it in in the room. However, I assume the Wi-Fi works on the same system, and would thus have the same reliability problems.

Second, although the rooms have individual air conditioning and heating, the air conditioning system was turned off the whole time we were there. While the outside temperature was not that warm most days (it was for some), the heat from all of the rooms below us made the room too hot be comfortable for sleeping at night. The windows in the rooms do not open. The front desk can provide a fan, but that is not really a solution. I also noted that the lowest temperature setting possible on the in-room unit was 68 degrees F.

One very nice feature of the rooms is that they have a small refrigerator. This isn't a mini-bar: it is a refrigerator you can use to keep your drinks or other food cold. As noted below, there are two stores within easy walking distance where you can buy food.

Some information about the location may be useful. The hotel is three blocks from the Sakae station. Note that this does not mean that you are three blocks from the subway: the Sakae station is very large. Sakae is a very convenient place to stay in terms of restaurants and shopping. There is a Denny's around the corner at the end of the block in the direction away from Sakae station (not a US menu, but good steaks and pasta at quite reasonable prices for Japan), and a Circle K food market on the way to the Denny's. McDonald's is two blocks from the hotel on the opposite side of the street, toward Sakae station. Breakfast at the hotel is about $25 per person. McDonald's opens for breakfast at 5:00 or 5:30 am, and is priced similarly to McDonald's in the US (breakfast for two at McDonald's was less than 1000 Yen, and still hot when we got it back to the room). Two blocks toward Sakae station from the hotel is a 7-11. Around the corner to the left from this is an excellent Italian restaurant with quite reasonable prices. Sakae station has a large number of Japanese restaurants, many with very reasonable prices. If stairs are a problem for you, you can use the elevators in the Counichi (sp?) building next to Exit 12 to access the subway level. There is a very large, multistory department store on one corner of the plaza where the entrances to Sakae station are located, and many other stores in the area. There is a Starbucks on the ground floor of the hotel.

If you are attending a conference at the Nagoya Congress Centre, the literature provided by the Congress Centre and many conference organizers may make it sound like Sakae is closer time-wise to the Congress Centre than it is. It takes about 15 minutes to walk from the Best Western to where you buy a ticket and get to where you actually board the subway. It takes about another 15 minutes to get to Hibino station, the closest station to the Congress Centre. (You take the Meijo line in the Nagoya Port direction. About half of the trains do go to Hibino station: these actually say Nagoya Port on their lighted destination panels. The other half do not go to Hibino: you have to change to the Track 2 train at Kanayama station. An announcement is made when you are approaching Kanayama if you need to make the change.) It then takes an additional 15 minutes to walk from Hibino station to the interior of the Nagoya Congress Centre (which is a very large, multi-building structure). Sakae is very convenient for food and shopping, but it really is 45 minutes away from a meeting at the Congress Centre. I would suggest staying at Kanayama station (the ANA Crowne Plaza is a good possibility based on what others attending my conference said, although I have never stayed there) if you are attending a multi-day conference at the Congress Centre. Kanayama station does have a number of Japanese restaurants, although I do not know what it has in terms of stores or Western restaurants. You can always get to Sakae from Kanayama station with a 15-minute subway ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The great location makes up for what some would consider a tired room. Wonderfully soft bed compared to the typical Japanese bed. Clean and consistent standard from international Best Western properties. No real breakfast options in-house other than Starbucks on the first floor. Free wired internet at a reasonable speed is nice; pay wifi.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street nosie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was not very nice. Only stayed one night for a Sumo Tournament and glad it wasnt any longer.

Location was okay in the Sakae area which I'm told is fairly central.

The room is dark, the furniture probably hadnt been changed since the 80s. The clock seriously looked like the 80s idea of futuristic.

It was reasonably clean enough but for Japan's standards, it was probably the worst out of everywhere we stayed.

When I booked, I was also told there would be free wifi. However when we got there the staff had very limited english and told us that internet was only available for Japanese users. They could not explain anymore than that.

Also when we asked for an English map, they dug up a French one, handed it to us and pretty much sent us on our way. In terms of service, particularly in Japan which is usually really good, it was not great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Best Western Nagoya while traveling with my family and working at Nagoya University for a few days. I chose this place based on good TripAdvisor reviews, a central location, and a good price for the 3 of us found through BW's own website. We were a bit disappointed in the room for a family of 3, though it would have been better for an individual. We were quite happy with the location. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Sakae, which is perhaps the central point in Nagoya (note: use subway exit #12 for easiest access). This makes it easy to get to most places in Nagoya. The hotel rooms are ok, but a little worn. The main double bed was comfortable enough. The sofabed couch filled most of the rest of the room when extended. The rules were that there was no extra charge for a child if using existing bedding. But there was no additional bedding (that we could find). So we gave our daughter one of our pillows, and a sheet that we took from our bed, and found that one of the adult-sized yukatas (robes) in the room made a more-or-less functional set of covers. But we did at least appreciate that the extra bed could pack away during the day. The fridge in the room was much appreciated, as was the kettle. Internet is free - a good thing - but it is wired only, so no possibility of multiple users on-line at the same time, at least not without additional paraphernalia. The wired internet necessitated the use of the desk chair, which was surprisingly uncomfortable, at least for American-sized bodies (I'm tall, but quite thin). The A/C works great. We did not use the hotel breakfast most days, instead relying on the vast number of convenience stores to be found within a 2-block radius (the Japanese ones are much better than their American counterparts, in my opinion). We did try the breakfast buffet one day. It was ok, but not great. A reasonable selection of items in a pleasant enough setting, but not on the level that I've encountered at other Japanese hotels, and the food was of medium quality. The Starbucks in the lobby was appreciated. For the price that we got for the 3 of us, I was happy enough with this hotel, but it wasn't anything to write home about. If staying in Nagoya, I'd certainly be happy to stay at Sakae again, though. For exercise I enjoyed being able to run up to Nagoya Castle each morning. One can follow the "Central Park" past Nagoya Tower, and then jog across about a quarter mile to the path around the castle perimeter and adjoining park. Very pleasant, and even peaceful early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is purely a utilitarian hotel. Not bad, just not a lot amenities. There was free wired Internet in the room, and a computer in the lobby. There was a frig in the room. Although, it was half stocked with items the hotel wanted you to pay for. However, there was enough room to store things purchased from the convenience store located close by.

It was centrally located. Close to plenty of restaurants and bars, as well as a subway stop.

The room sizes were "average" for Japanese hotel rooms (i.e. small compare to most US hotel rooms). The rooms were very clean, also something very common in Japan (unfortunately, not as common the US). The staff did speak English well enough to check in and get general directions.

The bed was a bit hard, and pillow lumpy, but we made due.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya

Address: 4-6-1 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan (Formerly Hotel Precede Nagoya)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.