We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Black

Save Saved
You added Hamilton Black to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamilton Black
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-11-17 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hamilton Black for 3 nights in March and I thought that it was good value for the money. The room was a bit small and there was very little room to store my stuff but otherwise it was OK. For non-smokers I recommend that you insist on the non-smoking rooms, my smoking room was a bit musty and this is coming from a smoker... Location of the hotel is good and the breakfast is OK for a japanese offering. Wifi was a bit touch and go, worked good in the lobby but not so reliable in the room. Overall, knowing what I know from my fost visit, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
19
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed Hamilton black hotel 2 nights and it was reasonable. I booked family package as I have 4 people. Family package was in the smoking room. Which was not inform in the any website. I have a small kids and I was not impress as it should not be in the smoking room. Some rooms smelled terrible. Fortunately we had some Choices of the room and we could choose less smell room. But I strongly suggest that the family package should not be smoking room. Happy hour is nice. If you have a PC, you can have internet. There is a laundry and dryers although it does not say on the website. Breakfast is good enough. Good location to visit Nagoya science museum, art museum. Overall it's OK.

ファミリーパッケージは喫煙の部屋です。小さいこどものいる私達には理解できないです。ファミリーパッケージは、喫煙できる部屋にすべきではないとおもいます。pcをもっていればインターネットは無料ででき、ホテルの場所も科学博物館など近く場所的には便利。コインランドリーもサイトには載っていませんがあります。

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hotel looks nice from outside have s all rooms about 16-18 meter square which is commOn for jaPanese business hotels, location is ok, close from fushimi station , and. Ext to shooter the American sports bar. Convienet stores are also located just next to hotel , they also serve breakfast with room , but it's basic n mostly Japanese.rooms are clean and nice

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We didn't know what to expect of this hotel when we arrived in Nagoya because the rates were very reasonable and the facade looked small. But when we got to our rooms, I was very happy. It was small, but VERY clean! The beds were so comfortable that I was tempted to just stay in and sleep. Location-wise, there's not much around it, but it's only a 5-minute walk to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamilton Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Black

Address: 1-11-17 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 460-0008, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station , Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Black 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hamilton Black reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Hotel Nagoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Black, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.