We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel to your Saves list
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-14-1 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed from 5 - 16 October.

Breakfast - Choice of Japanese (L2) to Western (L1). Western breakfast could be better if they change the menu daily.

Location - Walk out of the hotel, left turn is Nagoya station. Dun go down underpass.. Can walk across to the station by the road crossing. Around the hotel, there are many eateries. Mainly japanese food. There was a british pub too.

Room - Just nice for a luggage and no space to walk.

There is a washing maching, vending maching on L2. Wifi was good.

Only few service staff speaks english.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    70
    62
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
20
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, close proximity to Nagoya Station is a big plus (ekimae means in front of station). The stairway down to the station is just around the corner. You don't even have to cross the street.

I call the hotel superior because the rooms are very very clean. Yes, rooms are small, but that is what you expect of a business hotel in Japan.

There are two computers in the lobby for free Internet access if you do not have your own device. For us, they were a lot more efficient to use than our iPhones.

We got a package that included breakfast, something that we do not normally do. We usually visit neighborhood shops for coffee and breakfast. BUT we must say that the extra cost was worth it. The hotel offers two breakfast styles -- Western style on the first floor and Japanese style on the second floor. The Western spread gives you lots of food, including toast, pastries, eggs, sausage, cereal, juice and coffee. The Japanese breakfast is in a room with a view out the picture windows. Give it a try. We liked it just as much as the Western style (fyi, my wife was born and raised in Japan).

All in all, our stay for three nights was very good. No problems.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms, like ours, are large than others. Perhaps because it was a double and not a singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

i chose montblanc because it was the only hotel we could find in a rush with a 3-bed room. we walked in, got the room and fully satisfying service. i didn't regret my choice: me and my friends had a short but very pleasant stay. the room was small but i assume that's expected in japan. i remember the bed was great and any traveler will appreciate a good night's sleep. central location, very close to the nagoya station and to a thousand restaurants, bars, stores. also, i remember it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

This hotel is only a 2 minute walk away from JR Nagoya station, the subway and a shopping area which makes it a perfect place to stay if you are arriving or leaving by Shinkansen and don't want to drag heavy suitcases too far. It is classed as a Business Hotel which probably relates to the size of the very small bedrooms and even tinier bathroom, but the affordable rates and convenient location make up for any shortcomings. We chose a twin bedded room as it had a larger floor area than a doublebed room. The room was tired but spotlessly clean. My only complaint was that the room windows could not be opened for fresh air and we had to rely on airconditoning.
The reception staff speak limited English but are happy to help wherever possible. The hotel also offers an Italian restaurant on the ground floor, a Japanese one on the second floor along with well equiped vending machines. I would definately stay here again if only because of the location.

  • Liked — proximity to JR railway station
  • Disliked — lumpy hard pillows
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

I stayed for two nights in August on a holiday trip. Although it was not as expensive as other hotels, it had the smallest room of the entire trip. Seated on the toilet, my knees topped the wall!!! Service was ok; they even greeted me using my name as I was entering the lobby!!! The hotel is very close to the train station and carries the expected amenities.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Small rooms and bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel

Address: 3-14-1 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.