We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-14-1 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0002, Japan (Nagoya Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Superior business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, close proximity to Nagoya Station is a big plus (ekimae means in front of station). The stairway down to the station is just around the corner. You don't even have to cross the street.

I call the hotel superior because the rooms are very very clean. Yes, rooms are small, but that is what you expect of a business hotel in Japan.

There are two computers in the lobby for free Internet access if you do not have your own device. For us, they were a lot more efficient to use than our iPhones.

We got a package that included breakfast, something that we do not normally do. We usually visit neighborhood shops for coffee and breakfast. BUT we must say that the extra cost was worth it. The hotel offers two breakfast styles -- Western style on the first floor and Japanese style on the second floor. The Western spread gives you lots of food, including toast, pastries, eggs, sausage, cereal, juice and coffee. The Japanese breakfast is in a room with a view out the picture windows. Give it a try. We liked it just as much as the Western style (fyi, my wife was born and raised in Japan).

All in all, our stay for three nights was very good. No problems.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms, like ours, are large than others. Perhaps because it was a double and not a singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    53
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
13
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

i chose montblanc because it was the only hotel we could find in a rush with a 3-bed room. we walked in, got the room and fully satisfying service. i didn't regret my choice: me and my friends had a short but very pleasant stay. the room was small but i assume that's expected in japan. i remember the bed was great and any traveler will appreciate a good night's sleep. central location, very close to the nagoya station and to a thousand restaurants, bars, stores. also, i remember it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

This hotel is only a 2 minute walk away from JR Nagoya station, the subway and a shopping area which makes it a perfect place to stay if you are arriving or leaving by Shinkansen and don't want to drag heavy suitcases too far. It is classed as a Business Hotel which probably relates to the size of the very small bedrooms and even tinier bathroom, but the affordable rates and convenient location make up for any shortcomings. We chose a twin bedded room as it had a larger floor area than a doublebed room. The room was tired but spotlessly clean. My only complaint was that the room windows could not be opened for fresh air and we had to rely on airconditoning.
The reception staff speak limited English but are happy to help wherever possible. The hotel also offers an Italian restaurant on the ground floor, a Japanese one on the second floor along with well equiped vending machines. I would definately stay here again if only because of the location.

  • Liked — proximity to JR railway station
  • Disliked — lumpy hard pillows
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

I stayed for two nights in August on a holiday trip. Although it was not as expensive as other hotels, it had the smallest room of the entire trip. Seated on the toilet, my knees topped the wall!!! Service was ok; they even greeted me using my name as I was entering the lobby!!! The hotel is very close to the train station and carries the expected amenities.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Small rooms and bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel

Address: 3-14-1 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture 450-0002, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 138 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.