We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Hotel

Save Saved
You added Captains Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captains Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   P.O.Box 823, Aqaba, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Aqaba
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I recently stayed here as part of our tour we had organised to travel around Jordan. When we arrived there appeared to be a mix up with our reservation and we were upgraded to a suite and it was such a treat!

We decided to dine in the seafood restaurant as well as we had heard great things about the food and we weren't disappointed. The fish was beautiful although the portion sizes were huge from the set menu. Make sure you are hungry before you eat. The picture I've included doesn't do it justice really.



The only real downside was the breakfast which was ok - it wasn't the best buffet I've seen whilst in Jordan but was adequate. Pity there wasn't any fresh fruit but only a minor thing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
61
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Sadly we only had 1 night at this wonderful hotel, located only a couple of blocks from the sea. The room are very lovely, modern and clean with good amenities. There are several pillows on the comfy beds. There is good air conditioning and elevators.

There is a lovely clean pool, but it does close quite early at 6PM. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Wifi is free for the 1st 1.5 hours only , then it's 2JD per hour after that.

There is a couple of restaurants, all very pleasant. We ordered a traditional Jordanian supper beforehand for 65JD. What we got was very tasty and a ridiculous amount of food!! There was enough there for 10 people!! If we were lucky we ate half of it with our part of 5 and felt terrible wasting the rest. I hope it wasn't simply just thrown out. :( It came with pickles veggies, salad, potatoes, and chicken.

Breakfast was included and was very good with plenty of choices , yogurts, bread, juices, omelettes to order, boiled eggs, sausages, veggies, etc.

We would have loved a couple of extra nights here, it truly was a lovely place to stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

my first time in captains hotel.i was before in Jordan but never in this hotel.I travel along and it was super.i was like home.every day they take care of my like i was family.the food in the restaurant very nice.thanks for the hospitality.i come back sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel staff are extremely welcoming and will be always on their way to meet your requirements. You really cannot complain! The Hotel is well situated for getting around market and public beach in Aquaba, restaurants and shops within walking distance, office of all diving centers are located next to this hotel ( south beach is approximately 10 kilometer away from Aquaba city center)
The rooms are clean and comfortable for the price. The bathrooms appears new.Plenty of choice for breakfast, again the staff are extremely attentive. I have ever only seen this level of attention in a five star hotel
I came to know that captains have camping facility at Al Diseh,Wadi rum, too, though we stayed in a different camp inside wadi rum protected area.
The amount of comfort, level of customer service and quality we got for the price. But that alone won't make a hotel stay a pleasant. They offer mouth watering dishes. And to add their values, the hotel is accredited with environmental certifications
I highly recommend this place for a pleasant stay at Aquaba.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel in aqaba, great value for the price and breakfast was amazing. I will always stay here when I visit aqaba . It's worth staying here for the breakfast only! Free WiFi in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent hotel , clean place , and a great central location for a hotel in Aqaba, you need a few minutes walking to get to the market and to the public beach. The restaurant is clean and the food menu has different kindly of choices ( Sea food, meet, chicken, Salads, and other choices ) which you may choose and enjoy the lovely taste and excellent presentation. I love to eat food at Captain Restaurant its tasty and inexpensively.
The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful, for sure I will come back to Captains Hotel and Restaurant to spend lovely time and to eat delicious food with my family.
Also I visited Wadi Rum Desert Camp, it’s a very quiet, calm and comfortable place, I highly recommend this place to visit and get relaxing and peace with yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for week and want to come back again
Rooms are clean warm welcome and friendly staff
The breakfast more than excellent
Went to wadi rum with same hotel branch captains camp
The location is perfect and enjoyable as its minutes from all high lights of aqaba
The captains restaurant also was amazing

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 823, Aqaba, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Captains Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Captains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.