We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location near Aqaba city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Aqaba Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Aqaba
Kortenberg, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good location near Aqaba city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We came back last Sunday after a very leisurely week in the Intercontinental. The hotel may not be top-design compared to the Kempinski next door, but is is very nice and cozy, with a beautiful swimming pool and a very nice beach. The staff is very helpful.
We took the option for the club-lounge, and a sea-view. I think it was worth the extra expense.
What I regret is the stupid and sometimes too loud music on the beach. I would rather listen to the waves than have to listen to disco music while relaxing.
Please make at least part of the beach silent.
I was surprised to see so many burkinis in the pool. These are forbidden in Belgium for hygienical reasons.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    145
    44
    22
    13
See reviews for
166
223
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed at the Intercontinental for just a short time, en route between Nuweiba, Egypt and Petra, Jordan. We had a miserable boat ride between Nuweiba and Aqaba and the Intercontinental looked so good when we finally arrived. We arrived late and the hotel gave us a 2 hour late check out which we appreciated.
We ate in the deli restaurant and the lunch was delicious and our waitress was very friendly.
It was quiet at the hotel when we were there and that was a little eerie.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

L' hotel is well located the perfect, very clean beach and the very good service. The kitchen is of good quality. Only problem, of the very strong music everywhere, with the bar as with the beach… Currently in November 2010 of work on l' north-western wing of l' hotel. seven hours more grace morning has…

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawmat Al Jandal - KSA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I have just returned back from a two night stay in this hotel and really enjoyed my time there. Ill start with the good

Good Service at all times, from the check in, cleaners, waiters etc everyone I came across was excellent. Previous commets suggest a poor standard of English... well they must have changed the staff as everyone I came across spoke a high standard of English.

Nice club lounge
Nice room,
Nice beach
Wonderful pool.

Now to the bad... they had some mosquito repellent machines at the outside restaurant which drove me to distraction.Err thats it....

Excellent hotel would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

It was not our intention to stay here, since we had a couple of extra days, we decided to relax. We have stayed at the Bali Hyatt, and many other 4 or 5 star hotels, but this hotel equals or betters them.
Believe it our not we were travelling on a budget and MY error in calculating the JD$ was on my part, but what an error. When people travel I have read reviews, I can only ask what do you expect, if in New York you can easily pay $200US for a 1 star hotel ( converted House) or $175 up in London. Why do they think paying $75US elsewhere will by them luxury. Paying a base of $200 a night plus taxes for this Hotel is money in you holiday bank memories.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I recently had the misfortune of staying in this hotel for 4 nights. There are so many things wrong with this hotel that this could easily be a 2 page review so I will only go through the highlights.

Positives:

* We managed to check in at around 10:30 AM which was a BIG bonus. But the hotel was running at about 20-30% occupancy.
* The room is a good size and all feature balconies. The bathroom was rather spacious and maid did a good job keeping the whole room clean.
* As occupancy was very low, it was rather quiet.
* The beach was very nice and the water was very clean. No house reef however.
* The pool is giant and very pleasant but extremely cold.
* The food quality overall was above average.

Negatives:
* We were assured that there would be a shuttle to take us to the hotel but there was no driver or shuttle to be seen. We had to take an 8 JD taxi ride which was still acceptable.
* Taxis are not allowed in the hotel so the driver dropped us outside and we were forced to walk uphill with our bags as there were no bellboys around.
* Most of the staff we encountered were lovely but very unprofessional. Most could only speak a few words of English. Shockingly same applies to front desk. We had to explain ourselves at least 3 times so they could understand what we were talking about. At one occasion, I asked if we could earn miles with our BA Executive Club card he first gave us matches. I explained again and this time he offered to give us batteries for our remote control.
* The hotel is crying for a renovation. The public areas are generally kept clean but extremely old fashioned.
* The SPA is fresh our of the 70s. It is definitely not inviting.
* The pillows were extremely soft. It gave me such a bad neck ache that it still hurts after a week. We did ask for harder pillows which were never delivered.
* The TV remote control was nıot working properly. We had to struggle to use it. The A/C was working very loudly and the light in the cupboard would not turn off. We reported all these problems but none were solved.
* I had a few questions to the concierge but gave up after waiting for 5 minutes and not being taken care of. We went to the Kempinski and the concierge there printed us maps, menus and gave us many recommendations even though he knew we weren't staying there. Excellent service.

Overall, I was extremely dissatisfied with my stay here. I will definitely go back to Aqaba but will probably stay at the Kempinski next door. I recommend this hotel to anyone unless you are on a tight budget. It is slightly cheaper than its competitors.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at the Intercon on a colleague's recommendation and we're glad we did. We got an early check-in with no problems. The room is was very clean and well-decorated with light wood and contemporary design. We had a sea view which helped with the vacation atmosphere. We used the gym, the pool, and the ocean-front bar, all of which we relaxing, and staffed with attentive waitpersons. The French restaurant was closed, but the Lebanese restaurant had a great selection of good-tasting dishes, well presented. The Martini bar is well-appointed, but the bartender that night failed miserably at the namesake cocktail. Smoking is allowed in every public place in the hospital, and by the time we left we were both coughing with allergic reactions. Prices are high, especially for food and drinks, but on a par with other Jordan hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Address: King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, where a variety of historical ruins, the aquarium and a taste of Middle Eastern culture can always be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Aqaba Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.